We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Obidos Village

Obidos Village
Obidos, Portugal
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$134*
and up
Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais...
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Obidos
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Charming old village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Spent a couple of hours here as part of a day trip from Lisbon. I quite enjoyed the atmosphere of this village - It is a walled, medieval village with the ruins of a castle within. Very picturesque but nothing much to see and do. Cafes and craft stores are everywhere. Its a nice stroll and lots of photo ops.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    235
    38
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Castle town. Nothing much to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It takes 1hr 5min to travel by bus from Campo Grande bus terminal at Lisbon to Obidos. Cost each way is 7.6 euro. I was rather disappointed as despite being a tourist attraction, there was no clear signage and map of the place. The town was amazingly quiet on a weekday when I visited, and what is abundance in the area are lots of expensive restaurants. I was not intending to eat at one of these these places, but there doesn't seem much of a choice. I only walk around the castle wall, and explore different alleys in the town.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A nice stroll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

A very compact village with one main stolling street with all you might need for a lunch break or stay over night.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An unforgettable visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I went with a group of Portuguese teachers from the USA to visit this medieval town that was the Queens' gift from their king husbands. We had a tour arranged for us that include the local ginginha in a chocolate cup. We saw the Pousada and wished we could have stayed there for one night. We learned about the architecture, including the colors used to distinguish between the different occupants of each house.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Obidos - great side trip from Lisbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Obidos is a walled medieval city much like Rothenburg in Germany, Segovia in Spain. It is a quaint city with great photographic views. When you enter obidos, you should take time to enjoy the white town and there are a couple of locations for good photographic shot. The lanes are narrow, pedestrian friendly and quaint shops lining the street

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obidos Village also viewed

Obidos, Leiria District
 
Obidos, Leiria District
Obidos, Leiria District
 

Been to Obidos Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Obidos Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.