We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely walled town, but tourist-y” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Obidos Village

Obidos Village
Obidos, Portugal
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$134*
and up
Lisbon Super Saver: 2-Day Sintra, Cascais...
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Obidos
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Reston, VA
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“lovely walled town, but tourist-y”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Obidos used to be a quaint, out of the way walled town that was a pleasure to explore. I visited again after two dozen years absence and it didn't match my memory The nice walled town is still there, but the quaintness and history of the town is obliterated by wall-to-wall tourist shops. There are some nice photographic opportunities, and it's worth a stop if you're in the area, but no longer worth going out of one's way.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    235
    38
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
134 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Medieval walled city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped here on our drive from Porto to Sintra. It was definitely worth the time. We drove right to the city. Visitors park in a big lot just outside the city walls. We walked in and decided to walk up the walls as soon as we entered. It was sunny and hot (even in September) and although we baked, we loved every minute of it. Walls do not have rails or anything to grab on the inside of the walls. Be careful. There are quiet a few steps along the way as well. The view into the town is amazing. After hitting the keep of Obidos, we walked down and toured the village. Lots of touristy shops but not a lot of tourists. We of course had Ginja da Obidos and ate lunch here as well. Great village. Well worth the time.

FYI-Public bathrooms had to toilet seats in the ladies room. (A common theme in portugal)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Strolling in Obidos gives a lot of pleasure. A lot to see: wonderful houses and a great pousada.
Unlike many other Portuguese towns (eg Peniche, Sao Martinho do Porto) Obidos hardly changed over the past forty years.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

I went with my wife in a rainy day. The walls were a bit slippery (wear adequate shoes!) but it was perfect! Just us and two or three more couples walking on the walls, and no tour buses disgorging hundreds of yelling, shoving people!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Go for it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Beautifull touristic city, must be part of tour tour in Portugal. The old wall is still there and you can walk over it. Good restaurants, Nice shops.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obidos Village also viewed

Obidos, Leiria District
 
Obidos, Leiria District
Obidos, Leiria District
 

Been to Obidos Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Obidos Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.