We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A couple in Obidos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo to your Saves list
Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo de Sao Tiago 1, Obidos 2510-106, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Obidos
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A couple in Obidos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Yes, it was a bit pricey. However, the service was great, the building beautiful, rooms lovely, the shower was full size and the bed was comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. And there was a festival going on. That said, if you are there when there is not a festival going on, unless you are a romantic, the town might seem a bit boring. Also worth sharing, we had two of our best meals, hotel staff recommendations, while in Obidos.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Upon doing research and driving in to Obidos, truth be told, we really had no idea what we were getting into. You can read all you want, but once you arrive, all bets are off. We found it a little difficult getting to the hotel, we had to ask another one outside the walls (twice) where exactly to go. Finally, we found the entrance closest to this hotel and we felt a lot better(!). It's a small, charming little spot and we felt more like guests in a home than a hotel. It was nearly empty so it was very quiet. The rooms were quite comfortable; though nothing fancy. The bathroom was large and spacious and had a well-working shower. Breakfast on the patio in the morning was delightful; one of my traveling buddies had a food restriction and had mentioned it, so the hotel separated her food from ours - a wonderful gesture in which we were all impressed. Something about this hotel made us laugh (hysterically) and will forever be a sound we can never forget: every time you enter through the small entrance gate, this horrendous mechanical sound goes off to alert whoever is on-staff of a guest's arrival. I think the night person thought we were lunatics at our laughter; she must hear it so much that she tunes it out. We found it impossible to!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a great choice if you want to stay inside the walls because it is just below the castle where it's easy to park without trying to negotiate the narrow, cobblestone streets. You can walk with luggage a few hundred feet to the hotel.
Casa de Sao Thiago is filled with old, traditional furniture and decoration. The rooms are traditional but quite comfortable. The bathroom is cramped but adequate. Everything is spotless. The breakfast was good and served in a beautiful dining room. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed for one night at the Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo and were very glad to leave next day. Although it looks very charming, it is not a particularly comfortable place to stay - the decor is fussy and our room was very cluttered, the bathroom was tiny, the bedroom doors creaked, and we had to leave our key at reception when going out and ring the doorbell to get in at night. Worst of all was the terrible smell of drains emanating from the ensuite bathroom on our return from dinner. Even with the window open, it was difficult to sleep in the bedroom that night. Then we found one of the bath towels was very stained when we showered in the moring. And to crown it all, breakfast was dreadful. The bread basket was on the table with the bread left uncovered and there were several flies about the breakfast room. The coffee was truly horrible. When we complained about the smell in our room during the night, the receptionist told us this was a general problem in Obidos town when it rains but there was no rain that day or the previous one. Also, friends who were staying in different accommodation in the town did not have the same experience with smelly drains as we had. This B&B charges the same rate as some 4* hotels we stayed in but does not have the level of comfort, hygiene, or service you would expect for this price. It is difficult to find anything positive to say about the Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo. My advice is to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed at Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo in March and like other reviewers found our room to be freezing. The radiator was working and we had an electric radiator, but it was still uncomfortably cold. My husband and I got under the covers, wore multiple layers and even wore our winter hats. I went to the front desk to see if we something could be done, but the staff didn’t understand what I was asking. They thought I wanted another room and then just said that’s the way it is. I know it seems like not a big deal, but it truly is unpleasant when you can’t get warm.

Overall, the hotel is really cute and quaint, especially the public spaces. Besides being freezing cold and having the hardest bed I’ve ever slept on, our room was ok. I was disappointed there was not free internet. It’s such a basic amenity. I do think the hotel is a little overpriced. It was the most expensive hotel of our 8 day trip and probably one of my least favorites. I had such high hopes for this place but unfortunately was disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We arrived for one night in Obidos (already a mistake, the town can be viewed in a few hours) and discovered we were the only guests at the Inn. It was frigid in our rooms and, I'm assuming to save money on heating the house, they had provided only two space heaters. Making it worse - the fuse kept blowing. We kept thinking: What if there were other people here? We're only using two space heaters and the fuse is blowing!" There was no heat at all in the bathrooms so we didn't even attempt to shower.
I also found the smell of mildew to be overwhelming. We've stayed at other small-type Inns in Europe but the smell of this one was beyond the pale.
When we asked about dinner the manager gave us 3 recommendations of which two were actually closed. We found this irritating - isn't it her job to know? There aren't that many restaurants in Obidos! The food was wretched, the absolute worst we had in 9 days in Portugal (not her fault directly, but her recommendation).
Breakfast was fine, nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Visited this casa during the off peak. As mentioned by another reviewer, it was a bit chilly but I am guessing as it is an old house, it is difficult to heat effectively.
Breakfast (continental) is laid out in the morning in the breakfast room.
Location of the casa is within the castle walls which is quite picturesque. Staff were very helpful.
Internet is available but you will have to pay - the fees seemed reasonable though.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo

Address: Largo de Sao Tiago 1, Obidos 2510-106, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sao Tiago Do Castelo Hotel Obidos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.