We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility at it's best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa D'Obidos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa D'Obidos to your Saves list
Casa D'Obidos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta de San Jose 2510-135, Obidos 2510-135, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Obidos
Longford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Tranquility at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stumbled on this lovely Casa while heading north. Marianne and her staff could not have been more helpful. at the end of our two night stay in the wonderful coach house apartment, ( we only intended to stay for one night but we fell in love with the whole surroundings and the wonderful Vila Infanta restaurant 10 minute walk away) she recommended and made our reservation for the following night. For breakfast we shared a large table with the rest of the guests which was most interesting to meet fellow travellers and share our experiences. The breakfast was very good with such an array of sweet and savoury, plenty to set you up for the day.

We are already planning our next visit. Casa d'Obidos is a great stop off spot if you are heading north from Lisbon, but I warn you that you better include two extra days in your itinerary as you will not want to leave this wonderful place. Thank you Marianne for sharing your wonderful Manor house with us.

Room Tip: We stayed in the coach house apartment which was a little drafty, but we were reluctant to put on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    49
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
22
79
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A beautiful manor house with very helpful caretaker. Marianne welcomed us warmly, showed us the beautiful house and grounds and gave wonderful recommendations for lunch and dinner. Our room was interesting and had a beautiful view of the castle. Breakfast was excellent and very plentiful. It is very close to Obidos but a much quieter place to stay. An excellent value for the money. We had a very nice stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Delightful, lovely guest house just outside the old town, yet an easy walk to the walled area. Clean rooms, good and fair prices, charming Marianne to point the way to all the interesting sights, and huge and well cooked breakfasts. Really a wonderful find in every way.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My partner and I had a wonderful stay at this vintage guest house. Located minutes from the main town, it is a convenient place to stay outside of the touristy location. The guest house is elegantly decorated with furniture specific to the era of the house. The grounds are picturesque with beautiful views of the castle. There is a nice pool to relax in the warm summer months. They serve a delicious breakfast in their dining room where you can converse with the other guests at the hotel. They even provide free wifi in the living room area. A very good place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent five nights at Casa d'Obidos, a delightful, lovely furnished and quiet guest house, located near charming Obidos and within an hour drive of many other fabulous sights. So we toured during the day after a splendid breakfast, coming back around 4 pm for a game of tennis followed by a swim in the pool and dinner later in one of the many wonderful restaurants of Obidos. Except for an excess of calories, all in all a very restful holiday filled with beauty and grace. Incredible value for the price!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We (2 people) were 4 nights at Casa d'Obidos, which is e dream-location. Very quiet and rural and also very near Obidos. There are restaurants in walking-distance. You can also walk to Obidos along a special path. The main-building looks very nice with antique furniture etc. There are some rooms in the building and also 3 little houses to rent. We had choosen the little cosy house:Teresinha. There's a living room with kitchen and a sleeping room and very near the main-building. The Casa is famous because of the amazing breakfast. The lady of the house, Mariana, is always present and can give you many information about the region. From the Casa you have a beautifull sight of the town with its castle. This location was for us the best during our 3 weeks travel in Portugal. We kindly recommend the Casa d'Obidos to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms and houses are quiet. On the Casa-website you can see the pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We had a separate apartment out of the Main House.Very comfortable and well furnished.Considering that we were the only guests,breakfast was amazing!.Just happened to be there when the annual chocolate festival was on- All things coated in chocolate-even sardines.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa D'Obidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa D'Obidos

Address: Quinta de San Jose 2510-135, Obidos 2510-135, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa D'Obidos 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 19th century, Casa d’ Óbidos was built by the Mr. Garrelon, an engineer from the Eiffel team, who established himself there to lead the railway construction. It’s located in an environmentally protected area, which allows the guest to enjoy a quiet environment and magnificent views of the castle of Óbidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa D'Obidos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa d Obidos
Casa d Hotel Obidos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa D'Obidos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.