We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend of Paddleboarding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of supXscape

supXscape
Rua das Arigueiras 2L, Obidos, Portugal
+351 937 842 410
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SUPxscape is Portugal's leading Stand Up Paddleboarding company specialising in all aspects of the sport including lessons - tours - SUP Surf - downwinding and race training. Based on Portugal's amazing Silver Coast region we have access to all types of waterways including rivers, lakes, ocean and some of Europe's finest surf. Being situated only an hour from Portugal's beautiful capital Lisbon and it's international airport make this an amazing destination not only for Stand Up Paddleboarder's but their family too.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great weekend of Paddleboarding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Sally and Jason are wonderful people. From the moment we met them at the airport they were friendly and relaxed and I knew from the start we were in for a great weekend. The hotels they had booked for us were fantastic and the location, just beautiful! Our first day was spent on the lagoon. Sally provided excellent tuition and was very encouraging. After a lot of giggles and a brief dip in the lagoon(!) we ended the paddle with a delicious lunch in a cafe overlooking the water. Days two and three were spent paddleboarding down the river Tejo. Beautiful scenery, peaceful, lots of birds and wildlife to spot and enjoy. The lunches provided were great and the whole experience was extremely positive. I would highly recommend supXscape and plan to have a go at surfSUPing next year!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Far more than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Sometimes when you think for so long about a trip your expectations are disappointingly never met. However with supXscape the hospitality and overall welcoming atmosphere surrounding our time there blew these expectations away. Jason and Sally are wonderful people who can make anybody feel right at home in a stunning part of Portugal.
Our trip was focused on taking clients out to supXscape to complete their ASI Level 3 Sup Surf Beginners course. Jason and Sally are fantastic SUP instructors giving confidence to people fairly new to SUP in the ocean environment, with myself and business partner Chris being shown some brilliant locations to enjoy SUP.
Our whole trip however went beyond paddle boarding. We had a fantastic time talking over great food in café's and restaurants about SUP and growing connections for the future. What we gained from our time with supXscape is not only a great business connection and a great time out on the water for all included, but also a great friendship. A huge thanks to Sally and Jason, we would recommend them to anybody, a truly epic time.
Scott @ Central SUP

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SUPing in the rain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

supXscape was great! My sister and I were picked up from the Obidos bus station despite the fact that the weather was turning sour. Despite the rain and some wind, Sally took us out on an exciting paddleboarding trip around the lagoon, which was a lot of fun! We were taught about proper SUP techniques and water safety in case of falling. Sally and Jason were very knowledgable about the sport, plus super friendly and fun. We would definitely go back there again for another adventure - rain or shine!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best experience in Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I threatened Jason that I might give them a 4 star review just to make this look real, but I can't do it. The perfect score is highly deserved. My wife and I met them at the supermarket in Obidos, jumped in their vehicle and became instant friends. They were very thorough in the lesson, especially for my wife who was a first timer. The lagoon is fantastic and rich with bird and sea life. Sally escorted us for the couple hours we had on the boards while Jason took our stuff in the chase vehicle and met us at the back of the lagoon. We were able to chat along the way, took a brief rest on a beach and when finished, we all sat down at the local restaurant and enjoyed a beer. Unbeknownst to us, Jason took pictures from the shore along the way and sent us a file that night of 30-40 pictures that we cherish from our adventure. We can't wait to go back and try a new spot. Anyone can do this. It takes no special athletic skills.
This is clearly a labor of love for Jason and Sally and you feel as though you are fortunate to share it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience - definitely recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I had a fabulous time learning to paddleboard on the Obidos Lagoon. Sally and Jason picked us up from our hotel and drove us to the lagoon. They gave clear, professional instruction and ensured we had a brilliant time.

We would definitely recommend this for all age groups - it was great fun. Even falling in did not spoil the enjoyment!

Thank you Sally and Jason for a most enjoyable experience!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed supXscape also viewed

Obidos, Leiria District
Obidos, Leiria District
 
Obidos, Leiria District
Obidos, Leiria District
 

Been to supXscape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage supXscape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.