We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Estalagem Do Convento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Estalagem Do Convento to your Saves list
Estalagem Do Convento
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Rua Dom Joao de Ornelas, Obidos 2510, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Obidos B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not your typical hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

After staying in many modern hotels, we decided to spend a night at this convent to mix things up. The reviews were good, and it just seemed like it would be a different experience. It was. Walking out of your room, you see frosted glass windows that immediately make you think you are at church (which was kind of cool) but then there is a full bar/lounge by the lobby (which was also kind of cool.) It was a real mix of old and new. The room was comfortable but basic – lots of space but no air conditioning, a small TV, and limited supplies/services. For example, we had to ask for toilet paper about an hour into our stay because we only had a quarter of a roll and were three people. The breakfast, however, was really plentiful.

The town of Obidos is expensive. This cannot be overstated. It’s a great place, but you pay dearly when you stay overnight. The convent was the most expensive place we stayed during our two weeks in Portugal, and yet it was also the most basic/barebones. Parking is sometimes available on the street; we chose to park in a lot on the top of the hill because we were too scared to drive within the walls.

For dinner, we went to Pretencioso, and it was fantastic. Great quality, lovely owner, and nice ambiance. Highly recommended!

Once you survive the drive into town (the convent is not the easiest place to find…) and get over the sticker shock of Obidos, get settled and have a ginjinha in the lounge downstairs!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    54
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
16
82
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night.. I was a little skeptical of staying in an old convent, but it intrigued me. We were not disappointed! The rooms were clean, the staff was very helpful, and the location was perfect! (check out the Pretentious restaurant nearby).
Bed was not the most comfortable and the room key chain was way too big, but it was worth it for the unique experience in this picturesque town!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We booked a suite for 150€ Including breakfast and were expecting something a little more luxurious than a standard room. Suite 1's sitting room is dark and gloomy with a small high window and the sofa is a sofa bed to be used by those with extended families. In Australia we would call Suite 1 a family room and would have avoided it like the plague. The bed was nothing short of an insomniac's dream - thin, hard mattress, which given its age, was probably left by the nuns. The pillows were made out of lumps of foam, and the head rests in economy on a long haul flight would have seemed like goose down in comparison. Bathrooms were basic but at least there were two of them. The hotel itself has some genuine character and the reception staff are outstanding but not so the breakfast which is basic, boring and just not good enough at these prices. Wifi is free and so is parking outside the property. We would probably have faired better if we had chosen a room rather than a suite but charging a150€ for such sub-standard accommodation, even in the tourist Mecca of Obidos, is totally unforgiveable and I'm sure wouldn't be tolerated by the original occupants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A very charming hotel in the center of Obidos.
Very good and helpfull service during the whole stay.
Rooms are very charming and have a soul. Had at the beginning a smaller room which was changed later to a superior room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

For our one day visit (enough time for the town), this was a great place to stay. It has a charming atmosphere and wonderful staff. Our room, which was in the newer part, was large, very clean and comfortable and had a small deck overlooking a garden. The buttet breakfast was more than adequate. It is just outside the old city wall, making it a perfect location, though on a steep street.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and perhaps only should have only stayed for one as the town is quaint and does not offer a lot for two days. Hotel in great location outside wall, rooms are very cold but comfortable beds. Steps are a problem with heavy luggage ..Bathroom had a unpleasant odour and facilities were dated...parking out in street near hotel.



Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We had a great stay here. It was a little difficult to locate the inn, but once there...

The staff was extremely courteous, the room lovely, and the breakfasts (who can not like warm custard tarts) very good.

The nice touch was the young man serving breakfast who carried one suitcase out to our car nearby, then cleaned the windshields.

We had a couple of minor issues with hot water, which were remedied by the staff, but they were insignificant compared to the quality of the service.

The staff recommended O Pretentious Restaurant for dinner. It is nearby, the food was excellent, and the service from the owner very good.

Lovely stay!

Room Tip: We had one of the suites on the upper floor at the back and it was very nice.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estalagem Do Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Do Convento

Address: Rua Dom Joao de Ornelas, Obidos 2510, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem Do Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in an old convent building from 1830, in the medieval town of Obidos. The hotel is decorated with ancient charming furniture. Some rooms have the original black ceiling and all are decorated with beautiful tiles in the bathrooms. Our restaurant with capacity for 100 persons is in the old Cloister of the monastery. It is a wonderful opportunity to get to know one of Portugal's most historic towns, its traditions and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Estalagem Do Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Do Convento Hotel Obidos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estalagem Do Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.