We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious and expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Castelo

Pousada de Castelo
Paco Real | Pousada do Castelo Hotel, Obidos 2510-999, Portugal
+351 210 407 630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 40 Restaurants in Obidos
Price range: $37 - $73
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Pousadas have over 40 Restaurants where you can make an absolutely journey through the best of Portuguese Cuisine. Our Restaurant in the Obidos Castle is known for their superior quality and refined ambiance, offering guests moments of true pleasure and special every time. Exploring the best of the rich traditional cuisine, huge diversity of tastes and flavours, our chef interprets skillfully the features and the products specific the west region of Portugal. Restaurante da Pousada foi destacado pela Revista Fodor's Travel, como um dos 10 melhores Restaurantes Medievais. The Restaurant of the Pousada was appointed by Fodor's Travel as one of 10 Best Castle Restaurants where you can eat like Royalty.
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Pretentious and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Wait staff crashing around throwing silverware into drawers, banging piles of dishes, the waiter pushing the most expensive wines on the menu, the staff running around like crazy when there are only ten people in the room... And this is supposed to be one of the finest restaurants in the country? Ordinary food, ordinary service, ordinary everything except the lovely setting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    24
    12
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Treated so well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had chosen not to stay at the pousada but wanted to at least have dinner there. Glad we did.

We were welcomed and seated in a lovely room; no one indicated that our two and three year olds were not welcome. In fact the servers were polite, professional and quite friendly, commenting on one of the girl's bilingualism. Fortunately, the girls didn't even seem to bother the couple also seated in our room over by the window :-) but I hope they hadn't hoped for a romantic dinner.

The food was excellent if service a bit slow -- not unusual in Portugal. There were adequate choices for our two vegetarians. We had a great evening and all the women made sure to visit the bathroom just for a look out the windows: wonderful view!!
Indeed, the meal was pricey but we expected that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not worth the climb”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

As a general rule restaurants which can take advantage of a good view do not bother too much with the quality of their food. This restaurant is a classic example of that rule. It is located above the picturesque town of Obidos. We had booked the so called "romantic package". This is a fixed menu which commences with a brown fluid described as a bisque, but appeared to have no fishy ingredients or flavour. The main course was said to be chicken cooked the local way, which meant that it was burnt in taste and smothered with more of the flavourless bisque. We went for the dessert buffet, hoping for something edible. We were wrong. The wine was laughable. It gave vinegar a bad name.
We had booked some months in advance for the romantic package. Although the restaurant was largely empty, we were seated against a wall without a view. On remonstrating with the staff we were told that you have to book at least 7 months in advance to get a window view. This turned out to be untrue as a number of the empty tables adjacent to windows remained empty all night. This may well be because the bad reputation of this restaurant is becoming widely known.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Brazil
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Expensive? Yes. But very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Exquisite food, excellent service, short (but well chosen) wine list. Best ambiance in Obidos, of course. Both duck and roast kid entrees were delicious. Expensive? Sure. But I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming Medieval castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

How charming is it to enjoy a wonderful lunch in this beautiful restaurant!! The food is terrific as is the service. The views are spectacular all you need is the ability to climb the stairs and you are in an unreal place in Portugal

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pousada de Castelo also viewed

Obidos, Leiria District
Obidos, Leiria District
 

Been to Pousada de Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Castelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.