We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming place, the food was OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clube de Jornalistas

Clube de Jornalistas
Rua das Trinas 129, Lisbon 1200-857, Portugal
+351 21 397 7138
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 2,275 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $32 - $44
Cuisines: Brazilian, Contemporary, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very charming place, the food was OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Beautiful cozy restaurant, just great for a romantic dinner! I was not impressed by the food though.. A lot of people recommended parrot fish here, so I ordered it. It came not-so-warm and was kind of chewy. The starters were nice though, and the staff were so friendly, so all in all we had a nice evening. But I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    191
    54
    17
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

this deserves the highest rating--what an experience-every dish delightful --funky is the best way to describe the decor--the menu is limited but every morsel is amazing--we followed trip advisor to this charming plae--eucalyptus ice cream--the chef is a genius-and it is reasonable--a bit different and original --highest rating for experience and food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent three weeks in Europe in October and had many opportunities to eat at great places and this was THE BEST! The combination of flavours offered by the team of chefs was, simply, amazing. The weather was a bit cool so we did not get to enjoy the garden but the inside was an interesting combination of styles using the old and the new and it really worked for us. The service was terrific and the whole team worked to make the meal and evening so great that we went back the a second night...and it was even better! I urge you to try the octopus...and the scallop starter is a must! oh yes and the desert sampler....YES. We asked the chef to decide for us the second night and pick 5 courses. We could not have been happier with the offering. I cannot tell you how delighted this team is to have you go home happy. I wish them all the best. Enjoy :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great setting & very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

loved the setting, actually nice to have some space between tables after some of the restaurant where i could easily eat of my neighbour"s plate. nice decor and warm welcome. Food was a mix between excellent - the majority - (scallops with quinoa porridge, parrot fish with a banana chorizo stew, an amazing chocolate soup with guava mousse) and average in one case (far too dry black pig). Not too sure of wine recommendations - did not land us in a great spot despite explaining in some detail what we were after. Service funny, medium attentive and not really interested in the feedback given as they were busy with a big party next door in the private dining area... Overall still a really nice night out and great culinary experience despite some hiccups.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good choice in good price in Lisbon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Restaurant is located a good 30 minutes walk from the city center always up and down though the hills of Lisbon. The staff is very friendly and helpful, food very delicious so the time pass very quickly. The choice of food is rather small - just several positions but everything is cooked and served perfect. Perfect place for romantic dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clube de Jornalistas also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Clube de Jornalistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clube de Jornalistas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.