We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best "bife" in the world!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe De Sao Bento

Cafe De Sao Bento
Rua De Sao Bento, 212, Lisbon, Portugal
+351 21 395 2911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 2,228 restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $27 - $74
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Portuguese restaurant specialized in steaks ( steakhouse) . Known as the Best Steak in Town ( by Time Out , " vox populi" and other magazines . You can have lunch in working days and dinner everyday until 02 AM
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best "bife" in the world!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It was the best steak that I ate in my all life! Great atmosphere, perfect for couples!
If you want some really good food in a quite place, this is it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with Best Tables

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    289
    93
    31
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lisbon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“best steaks in town for a late dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

These are for sure the best steaks in town for a late dinner in Lisbon.
Good food, fast service, and not very expensive.
Strongly recommendable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASCAIS
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL STEAKS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are one of those people who try steaks at every restaurant, then you have to go to Café de S. Bento! They are tender, tasty, have a delicious creamy sauce and come with the most adorable french fries! And don't forget their buttered toasts before the meal!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Delicious steak and incredible dessert: Tarte Tatin (Hot Apple and caramel pie served with vanilla ice cream). Fantastic Service. Recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A very fine meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Having read so many reviews about this restaurant, the vast majority being first class, my wife and I booked online for a Saturday night just in case it was busy (it was)

Our taxi driver knew the street but not the restaurant, never mind we had the address to hand (isn't Trip Advisor a wonderful thing).

The restaurant is open from 7.30pm to 3am!! and is easy to recognise by the square flourescent purple light in the window. Remember to ring the bell to the right of the door!

We were greeted by smiling staff, in nice uniform and ushered to a small table near the bar. Not a problem as we felt comfortable from the moment we walked in and it was a friendly , personal atmosphere. The restaurant reminded us both of a gentleman's club, very plush and all male, middle aged waiters.

The menu is tiny, but for good reason, they really specialise in what they do.

Starters are mild, soft goats cheese from the northern mountains or smoked salmon. Warm, delicious, fresh toasted bread and butter is also served. The cheese comes with crackers and tomato jam, the salmon with salad. Both delicious.

They do have a steak sandwich option and another dish that slips the mind.
Mains are steak, 3 choices only. Steak with a cream sauce served with a fried egg, creamed spinach, salad and hand cut fries. The second choice is with a brown onion sauce (excellent). Lastly is simple steak and chips.

Don't be put off by the limited choice. We were very impressed and despite having eaten fillet mignon all over the world this was up there. Ignore the photos on Tripadvisor, the meals look far nicer in real time. The salad with Sun dried tomatoes was lovely.

We enjoyed a top vinyo verde, coffees and a 20 year old lbv port for £125 and it was worth it.

In fact we were so impressed we returned the following night. They had moved us tables and had our places set, they even put a spare table next to us so nobody else would be sat next to us, a really nice touch seeing as the Sunday was as busy as the Saturday. David, our waiter on both evenings was exceptional. Not only did he remember how we liked our steak cooked he also recalled what we had eaten also. He took the time to chat, despite the fact they were busy, the place really benefits from experienced staff, so rare these days.

There is an upstairs too (we did not venture up there) but smoking is permitted downstairs (the extractors are excellent and we could not smell stale smoke when entering).

I highly recommend this restaurant and we will be returning as soon as I can book a flight back to Lisbon.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De Sao Bento also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Lisbon, Estremadura

Been to Cafe De Sao Bento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe De Sao Bento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.