We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alfaia

Alfaia
Travessa da Queimada 24, Lisbon, Portugal (Encarnação)
+315213461232
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,048 of 2,193 restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Encarnação
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good honest food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived in Lisbon for a conference and went to the famous Bairro alto district for a few drinks and food. They seated us without a reservation at 9pm and we had a selection of 4 seafood between the four of us. The tables were close together - but then the size of the rooms are very small! My sardines were fresh and grilled with salt, there were potatoes and greens on the side (not many though). A salad could have been better for the warm weather than vegetables. Another in our group had squid and said it was amazing.

We had beer with our meal so cannot comment on the wine.

The service was good and the food arrived quickly.

All in all a good first meal, not brilliant but a good start to the holiday when we didn't look advance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    48
    69
    61
    33
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“overpriced, tons of other options in bairro alto”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

we went here our first night in Lisbon, and they started out with the usual scam "here's your bread/cheese/olives!" routine, but we instinctively declined everything except the 1 euro olive dish. they were average, but i'm sure they had been peddled around to other customers for the past half hour. the server was visibly annoyed and/or discouraged when we declined the rest of the ~10 euro tray that he was carrying.

the wine that was recommended was an overly sweet dessert wine, to start. i have no idea what the server was thinking on that.

the rest of the food was average or poor. the homemade sausage was interesting - tasty, even, but the salt cod was presented in a pool of oil, and it was overcooked by about two minutes. i only ate half of it and left the rest on the plate. the potatoes were okay. the garlic shrimp was mixed in with some bread and sauce and stirred together as it was served, and it was a very unpleasant, tasteless experience. it was like a bowl of gruel with six little shrimp dropped into it, and as it cooled, it became just a gross paste. barely 1/4 of it was eaten, but this was not acknowledged by the server either.

lastly, some residents on the 2nd or 3rd floor decided to start ashing on our table, into our food towards the tail end of the meal. it was completely disgusting and off-putting, but the servers did not seem to care. really?

dessert? no thanks. we went to three or four other places in bairro alto and they were all fantastic...this place was pretty bad. avoid unless everything else is closed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wine experience that will entice you back to Portugal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were recommended to visit a local restaurant, but when the prices left us a little shaken we wandered into this place for a glass of wine...
Having visited Bordeaux recently to experience their wines we were pleasantly surprised by our glasses. The Guarda Rios '08 from Tejo and the green wine (unique to northern Portugal) were just the start of a taste adventure. Some wines on the menu came from very small vineyards who produce up to 3,000 bottles per year!
Our host was hesitant and absent as we tucked ourselves into a corner of the tiny back room. He took his queues from our questions, however, and was soon telling us all about the wines on our menu. Helpful, informative and friendly, he ended the night by giving us a taste of port after much discussion about all manner of topics.
The food to accompany this wine experience was succulent octopus and a liver dish that we wiped clean with the fresh bread provided. (food total approx 13 Euros)
Yum, definitely worth a visit and a taste.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ok meal but expensive way beyond value.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Dinner starts with usual scamlike serving of bread, olives, dry ham ( should not have BEEN dry ! ), couple of cheeses etc with "pay as you eat" condition - this runs up to over 25 euros alone for 4 adults. Main courses was ok - black rice pork quite nice - chicken with rice was dry - steak was nothing special. But total over 100 euros for 4 people simple lunch is way over the value of the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is one of the worst that i have ever had the unfortunate experience of having had a meal at. Do not eat here under any circunstances, i am portuguese and had the worst suckling pig ever here, just bits of fat, badly prepared for 12?. We went in there for a late lunch because everything else was closed and we were starving and all the food we ordered was horrible. For less money and much better quality there are dozens of better places withon 50 meters of it. Avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Alfaia also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Alfaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.