We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe not so good.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cervejaria Trindade

Cervejaria Trindade
Rua Nova Da Trindade 20 C, Lisbon 2715-311, Portugal (Baixa)
+351 21 342 3506
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #986 of 2,538 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Baixa
Description: The Trindade Beer Hall, the oldest and most beautiful beer hall in Portugal, was created in 1836, in the space which had, since the 13th century been occupied the Santissima Trindade Convent. In what used to be the monk's refectory, amongst the 19th century painted tile panels, the exceptionally good beer, and the best dishes of traditional Portuguese Cuisine and the freshest of seafood, you will discover why our costumers feel so well looked after at Trindade.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Maybe not so good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

After reading really good reviews and seeing it mentioned in about every guidebook we had high expectations. Maybe it was not there day. Grumpy waiters, chard food and overpriced.
There are many more restaurants in Lisbon beter then this place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    507
    268
    166
    111
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Not what I thought it would be like”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Was recommended to come here but we could only get here during the afternoon and it was definitely quiet. We had a friendly welcome and a good service but I can’t help but feel disappointed about the whole experience. Yes, the hall is very nice, lovely tiled murals on the wall but the beer was ok and the food was also average. I had the Portuguese steak sandwich and although the flavours were nice the steak was poor quality and not warm. The soup was ok according to hubby. Prices were more reasonable than I expected but if you fancy the seafood platter then you’ll need about 100 euros (we saw another couple have this). I was told this place was a ‘must do’ but I’m not totally convinced that it is.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Bacalhau a Braz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I grew up eating Bacalhau so I have a taste for it. I ordered this dish and some grilled prawns. I spent about 30 Euro without wine. The Bacalhau was very tasty. I finished the whole dish. My prawns were over cooked however. This resto is located inside a former monastery where the monks dined. Vaulted ceilings and decorative tiles. It is worth a visit.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good seafood, historical place, very nice tiles all over the place. Sometimes a little crowed, but the atmosphere usually is great and the beer is excellent. They serve brunches also. One of the "must go" places in Lisbon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“fun, and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Cervejaria Trinadade exceeded expectations for a moderately priced restaurant. The large, religious-themed rooms are somehow friendly and warm. The staff is friendly and accommodating, and every dish we had was good. The seafood was fresh, and the beef was not overcooked -- the Bife Portugal was particularly good. It's a lot more restaurant inside than outside, and apparently quite popular as there was a line waiting to get in as we left (we ate at 8:00) This was the best meal we had in Lisbon

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cervejaria Trindade also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Cervejaria Trindade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cervejaria Trindade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.