We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, business oriented and a bit old fashion to me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 3k Barcelona Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 3k Barcelona Hotel to your Saves list
3k Barcelona Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Laura Alves, 10, Lisbon 1050-138 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Limassol, Cyprus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, business oriented and a bit old fashion to me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is quite nice but it needed a bit of a refurnished for my taste. The furniture is quite old fashion and the feeling is very business oriented not cosy at all. But overall I had a nice stay, clean room, the breakfast has a lot of variety of choices and the rooms are comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far as possible from the train railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    110
    68
    14
    8
See reviews for
23
107
27
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is overestimated with the number of the stars. Clearly it will be visible for you when you enter it. The fist impression will be confirmed with the look of the room (in my case, standard double room). It had at least clean bathroom and acceptable sleeping zone, but I couldn't stop thinking that maybe service room forgot to clean everything. Maybe it was old-fashioned design of the room that needs at least painting? I cannot explain it. I learnt also for many years of my travels around the world that good test to confirm the cleanliness is "windows' check". The result of the test was very poor. The hotel has nothing outstanding worth to mention (including location, access and service). The price was only good (special offer with the flight) thing about it I may say. You want to sleep only? take it. For longer stay - not recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I booked last minute and when we arrived was pleased with the room. It was spacious, clean, close to restaurants and exactly what I was looking for. However, there was a lot of noise on the second night with banging until 23:15 and then drills being used on walls the following day before 09:00. It wasn`t quite the relaxing night I was looking for. The staff looked genuinly concerned when I told them in the morning but the truth is, i don`t expect to pay for a restless nights sleep in a hotel. These things happen and it wasn`t anyone`s fault, but I stay in a lot of hotels for work and I`m am used to being compensated when something like this happens... nothing was offered. Overall, without the noise it would have been a nice budget place to stay but I would think twice about staying there again after not receiving the level of customer satisfaction I`m used to from other companies.

Room Tip: Do not take a room next to the other building as they are doing construction and you may be disturbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is not close to the tourist attractions, but there are metro stations around. The room is nice and clean and has air conditioning, fridge, table and chairs for work. The bed is a bit hard, but it probably won't disturb your sleep time. The bathroom is big and comfortable. The room was not ready at the time of check-inn, however, the staff offered to store our bags and we could use the hotel bathroom. It is not a fantastic hotel,but if you're looking for a good and cheap hotel, I would recommend this.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

5 minutes walk to Campo Pequeno metro station.

No in room coffee/tea maker.
Towels are frayed on the edges.
Wifi works OK.
Shower head is really old and does not spray properly.

Just OK for one night or two passing by.

A Pizza Hut next door and a cafeteria across the street. For food, there are better choices near by.


Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Hotel 3K Barcelon (Lisbon, Portugal) - I had booked into the hotel on-line after reading other people’s positive reviews about it; I had reserved to sty for 18 days, after five days I decided to move to a better hotel.
Why did I not love this hotel? Let me count the ways!
I left the hotel because it did not, does not live up to the quality specifications that it publishes in its reference material that is available through booking.com..

Hotel 3K Barceloa claims to be a four star hotel, in my opinion it is (at best) only worth two stars. The hotel was listed as being ‘downtown’ but in fact it should more correctly be described as being in central or mid-town Lisbon.
The room I was given was clean but clearly outdated; the bed had a very hard, uncomfortable mattress; the desk lacked an electricity outlet into which one could plug one’s computer; one of the bedside lights lacked a bulb; TV reception was fuzzy on many if not most channels; rooms are reportedly soundproofed but I could clearly hear planes flying to and from Lisbon airport, (their flight path is almost directly overhead) also, each time the patrons in the room above mine used their bathroom I would hear their toilet flushing, their shower running etc.
The publicity for the hotel advised that there would be a safe in the room, when I asked about the safe at reception while checking into the hotel, the receptionist told me that their would be a charge of ‘two euros per night’ for its use, I protested that charge saying that it was not advertised in the hotel’s information, after an uncomfortable couple of minutes of silence the reservations manger graciously instructed his colleague that I would be allowed that I could use the safe ‘free of charge’ during my stay as ‘a gift’ from him; there a safe was in the room, but it was inconveniently located on the floor, I had to get down on my knees in front of it to access its interior, not good placement in my considered opinion.s.
The bathroom was very outdated; the drain plug in the bath did not work properly and one day had to be removed by staff in order to drain the tub; the floor of the bathtub was dangerously slippery, the staff eventually supplied an old, discoloured bathmat that I could use to stand on whilst showering. There are no safety hand-bars located in the bathtub’s surround, there should be, a necessity for getting into and out of the tub. The tap in the washroom dripped constantly until I finally insisted that it be repaired. A hair dryer was supplied but did not work; I was informed by a receptionist that it did work but that I did not know how to use it… when I insisted that a staff person come to the room and instruct me how to use it he quickly agreed that the fault lay in the hair dryer, it simply did not work. The towels provided for guest’s use were of poor quality.
The free Wi-Fi was not reliable, often crashed shortly after 8 p.m. in the evenings at a time when many guests were trying to use it, that happened (crashed) 3 nights in a row whilst I was at the hotel and on each occasion service was not restored until early next day. In order to use the Wi-Fi I was requires to input a new access code each day. The reception staff acknowledge that the Wi-Fi crashing has been an ongoing problem that they have repeatedly reported to the hotel’s management but no action has been taken by them to update the system
The lobby/lounge decor is outdated, (was possibly considered trendy 20 years) ago; and is not in any way welcoming or comfortable; it contains a couple of dozen high-backed leather armchairs and a few small tables located between them, the furniture sits on a cold granite floor; it is sterile and unwelcoming, it is not a guest friendly place in which to relax.. The so called ‘Lobby Bar’ is small and only open for a few hours each evening; it was rarely frequented by more than one or two guest whilst I was resident in the hotel.
On the 5th day of my stay at the hotel at mid-morning I asked reception to have my room made-up ready for my return; when I returned to the hotel shortly after twelve-noon the room had not been serviced; I again request the front receptionist on duty at the desk to have my room made up ASAP, left the hotel for an hour and when I returned the room was still untouched; I spoke with the receptionist then on duty and asking that housekeeping make up my room immediately, in reply I was told by the receptionist that the housekeeping staff had all gone to lunch and would make up my room when they returned at 2.00 p.m.; for me this was the last straw! I went online to booking.com, located an available room at another hotel that I could move into next morning and cancelled the remaining 12 days of my reservation at Hotel 3K Barcelona.
To close this review. I give credit to the staff at the reception desk who work under trying conditions, they were friendly and helped me wherever they could; to the best of my knowledge there were no bellman available to help guests with luggage etc. upon their arrival or departure from the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for quality, it is cheaper in the long run
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

I've been staying for a week for sightseeing. The hotel is really close to the subway station, you do not even need to catch a cab to get here from the airport. The main sights are pretty far away, but you can always use the metro. The rooms are nice and the staff is really friendly and helpful.
The only problem is that at night hear everything that's going on in the neighboring rooms. But I'm a light sleeper, the normal person should be ok with it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 3k Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3k Barcelona Hotel

Address: Rua Laura Alves, 10, Lisbon 1050-138 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 3k Barcelona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3kBarcelona is a cosy hotel located next to Campo Pequeno Bullfight Arena and near the Museum Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation. Stays only at 10 minutes from the Lisbon International Airport and from Lisbon Historic Centre, is served by a vast network of public transports such as metro, bus and trains, taxi. For business or leisure stays, the Hotel has 125 rooms (120 Twins + Doubles and Single and 5 suites), all equipped with hair dryer, Cable TV, Minibar, double-glazed windows, air conditioning; 2 handicapped rooms; non-smoking and smoking floors; meeting rooms, Wi-Fi Internet, Room Service and laundry and other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your 3k Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3k Barcelona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.