We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bota Alta

Bota Alta
Travessa da Queimada 37 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200, Portugal (Encarnação)
+351 213427959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #590 of 2,625 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $28 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Encarnação
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The restaurant has quite small rooms but the food is really good. Maybe the best restaurant where I eat in Lisbon, I spent 2 weeks in town and eat in Bota Alta 3-4 times. The bacalhau is amazing. Definitely worth a visit..despite the waiting list.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    169
    70
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Great atmosphere!””
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We where tretaed very well, good atmospher, food is good. nice wines. Overall a good experience. at good price.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Hearty Portugese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The traditional dish of pork and clams was excellent. The meat was tender. The sea bream with orange sauce was light and not too sweet. I recommend that you order a bottle of wine rather than a carafe of the house wine which was barely drinkable. There is a no smoking room. One of the waiters speaks fluent English and he was assigned to us once it was clear that we didn't speak Portugese.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We decided to eat here on the recommendation of our guide book but were disappointed. I ordered the pork with clams - it was so salty and drenched in oil, I could barely eat it. The clams just tasted of salt. My partner ordered the fish with orange, expecting something interesting. All it was, was a some fried fish with a slice of orange rather than lemon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Simply great small restaurant. Priced very resonable. Dinner for two, with wine under 40 euro. Watch out for a many small dishes they serve right away, and than they charge for it. ( cheese, olives, bread, ham etc). Cheese is well worth to try thou. Pork or seafood is a way to go. Ask for daily specials, i had an awesome fresh grilled sea bass.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Bota Alta also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Bota Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bota Alta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.