We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find in former convent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Travessa

A Travessa
12 Travessa do Convento das Bernardas, Lisbon 1200-687, Portugal
21-390-2034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #362 of 2,363 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $37 - $61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
washington dc
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful find in former convent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This restaurant was a little difficult to find, tucked away on a side street in a residential area of Lisbon [Lapa area] but once you walk through the door, you know you are in a sophisticated eating establishment. The main dining area is spacious so you're not right on top of your neighbor and it was blessedly not noisy even as it began to fill up, some large groups.

The lovely wait staff brings 8-9small tasting items once you are settled and before you've even been handed a menu. Be aware, these are not "freebies" but your appetizer which you will be paying for [including bread]. The owner will then bring you your menus and describe the evening's offerings. The portions are fairly large - I had the partridge en croute and could not finish it, but it was delicious. Desserts are sublime.

The wait staff does an exceptional job keeping track of who is on what appetizer "tapas" and all goes smoothly and efficiently.

This is an expensive restaurant and patrons should be certain they understand the appetizer/tapas are going to appear on your bill even though if you didn't eat everything .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    92
    46
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not to be missed if looking for nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

In 2 words: nice atmosphere and good food.
Not to miss if you are looking for a nice restaurant in the city.
Waiters and waitress are very nice, food is good and the atmosphere is great.
Its in the middle of a monastery and you guess the rest... Enjoy!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A joy and a delight.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This fine dining restaurant really delivers what it promises; it is well worth the trouble to find it in a rather obscure street behind the Museu do Marioneta in the Convento das Bernadas. Excellent service from the moment one arrives and is shown to a table in a room full of interesting antiques and great ambience. The menu was varied and the food perfectly prepared. To start there is a stunning selection of tiny tapas like starters to tease the taste buds. Michael ordered sole meuniere so beautifully done that he swears he will never order another because it will fall short of that one. I adventurously went for the rare beef which came with delicious mushrooms and was also excellent. The whole evening was a huge pleasure and definitely one of the best dining experiences we have ever had. The outdoor dining area on the terrace is being renovated and should be great in summer. Inside, although there were several groups of 8 or so the noise level was low and we were perfectly comfortable because the tables were not crowded together.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Thanks to a friend's recommendation, I got to eat there. Would never have found it, would never have heard about it. Not even the cab driver knew where it was!

You get 7 appitizers right away, which were all wonderfully delicious. I couldn't decide on the entre as everything sounded and looked amazing. I ended up with the fois-gras, which was one of the best I've ever had. The wine was perfectly fitted to it, which my waitress recommended.

The atmosphere was relaxing and comfortable as was the lighting. The staff insanely attentive, helpful, fast and spoke either English or German (after I told them I was originally from Germany).

Cannot recommend it more!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Take the time when your in Lisbon to visit this restaurant.
Food, staff, ambience and quality all truly wonderful
If and when I visit Lisbon again this will be top of my list of restaurants to revist.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Travessa also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to A Travessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Travessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.