We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anything but traditional, warm and comfortable!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Engenheiro Vieira da Silva, 2, Lisbon 1050-105, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #125 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Orange County California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Anything but traditional, warm and comfortable!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I believe that the comments prior to mine says it all! When I first saw the corridor - and then walked into my room - all I could think of of was "weird". Then I started looking around the room and the weirdness became weirder. I will try to describe some specific thoughts:

* Most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. I take that back, I slept in a wood bed in China once and that was more uncomfortable. The pillows were hard, the bed frame low and at a perfect height to make you limp away with black and blue knees.

* The shower is a death trap for even the youngest of us and standing in freezing water while trying to figure out how the contraption works was not fun. You need to be very very limber to get in and out and, in my opinion, is very dangerous.

* The walls are ridiculously thin.

* If traveling with another person and privacy is important, stay away.

*. I do not want to watch myself using the toilet, so unless that is your thing, you also may want to avoid this hotel.

* Outlet in the bathroom is waayyyyy under the sink so be prepared to be on your knees while drying your hair.

* Concrete and Glass and very poor ventalation so the whole room gets steamy when one is showering.

* Our room with a city view overlooked a wall with graffiti.

Etc. Etc. Etc.

However, Ana at the front desk was fabulous! She was polite, professional and more than helpful. Kudos to the hotel for having Ana on staff.

Also, the wifi is super FAST which is a huge plus in my book! This almost excused the weirdness!

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms have a "city view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G C S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your thoughts and words regarding your recent stay with us. I regret to know that you did not identify yourself with our design or color scheme.

Please accept my sincere apologies for anything that might not have been during your stay with us.

On the other hand, I am really happy to hear that Ana "was fabulous" in providing a superior level of service and assitance. I will share your kind words with her.

We would be glad to have the opportunity to welcome you back to this beautiful city and our property!

Sincerely,

Gonçalo Coelho de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    202
    70
    33
    13
See reviews for
45
202
23
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. the reception and dining areas are very nice. Although the hotel looks very chic and minimalist in the photos this does not feel or look that way in reality. the rooms are very stark and characterless. The hallways are a little disorientating to the eyes the walls and doorways are black. the beds were really comfortable and the shower was excellent very powerful. The hotel is situated about a 20 minute walk from the restaurants which we didn't mind, and there is an excellent metro system around the corner from the hotel.The breakfast has a great selection of cereals and continental breakfast there was a very small hot breakfast selection which was very disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G C S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind comments with the other travelers. I am happy to hear that our Team Members were able to provide you a superior service during your stay! I will share your kind thoughts with the team!

It is great to know, as well, that your found our rooms to be comfortable!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful city and property.

Best regards,

Gonçalo Coelho de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I enjoyed a stay in this hotel in April. We found the staff to be very welcoming (Concalo on reception and the bar staff were particularly warm) though the decor of the hotel will not be to everyone's taste. In particular the wall of flowing water in the bar meant the room was consistently cool during our stay, and the black corridors - while appealing to some, I'm sure - were somewhat erie! The bath and shower sitting in the middle of the bedroom was worthy of photographs to show at home!

But great staff and excellent food made up for any reservations about the decor!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G C S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

What a great feedback! We are thrilled to read your comments regarding your recent experience at our property!

It is great to know that our Team Members are "very welcoming" specially Gonçalo and our Bartender! I will, for sure, share your words with them!

We would be glad to have the opportunity to welcome you back to this beautiful city and our property!

Sincerely,

Gonçalo Coelho de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed there for 3 nights on a week end.

On a topline level I would say that the entrance and bar look premium and the service was good and helpful. We have been recommended a good restaurant even on a Sunday when most of them are closed. Thanks again for this.

I would question the 4 stars when we look in details at the room. It was clean, and organised, but the soundproofing is really to be improved. Neighbour's could be heard sideways and from
Below too easily. People speaking in the hall and closing their doors were also a cut off to long lazy morning sleep.

I still have to highlight that the bed was very comfortable.

Overall good, but could really improve the soundproofing of the rooms.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G C S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your thoughts and words regarding your recent stay with us. We are very glad to know that you found a "good and helpful" service.

It is good to know that your room was clean and organized and that your bed was comfortable. On the other hand, I apologize for the sound proofing issue and for any inconvenience caused.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful city and property.

Warm regards,

Gonçalo Coelho de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rating this hotel is difficult. (3 nights, first time tourists to Lisbon)

First I want to say the hotel staff is outstanding. Those working the front desk, restaurant & bar are friendly, helpful, professional.

However, the dramatic decor of the lobby does not translate well to the rooms.

We found nothing comfortable about our room. It is a Spartan box in black/white. Wall surfaces are black laminate or mirrored, making for visual confusion. The dark interior makes available lighting awful. Small desk surface; the single office-type chair is not on wheels. The usable closet/drawer space is adjacent to the fixed bed side table that you have to keep clear to open the closet door. Meanwhile, the most usable closet space is occupied by a larger than normal mini-bar.

Everything has hard, sharp edges. The bed is a mattress on a platform that will make your shins black & blue bumping into it. The bath/shower is awkward to step into and dangerous for older people. The toilet has mirrors on either sides making for an 'infinity toilet' reflection. Do we really need to see that?

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can get past the strange dark decor, but the bed is another story. It's as if there is no mattress on the bed, only a box spring with hard pillows. Very uncomfortable, and not up to Hilton brand standards I expect as a long time silver Hilton Honors member. Also there are no electrical outlets in the bathroom. Some of the front desk staff are attentive, and others indifferent. The location is good, the place is very clean, and the price is right, but if your budget allows or you have no brand loyalty, perhaps you should consider staying elsewhere. Lisbon is a wonderful city with many choices.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G C S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, your feedback was extremely important and it allowed us to understand what went wrong in order to make the necessary actions to correct our faults.

Please accept our apologies and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in order to give us the chance to show you that the experience that you had with us is not according to our standards and to our daily mission which is exceeding every single day our guest’s expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Gonçalo Coelho de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite the outstanding location of the hotel, everything else was horrible.... decoration is not nothing but depressing, everything is black, rooms corridor is horrible, food is the worst i have ever had, rooms has nothing that qualify as furniture, pillows are rigid and very high, bed is not comfortable at all.... you hear noises all the time from other rooms, walls are too thin... shower was a dilemma!!!! you either find a problem either with the hot water or with the water pressure...
that was a very bad experience for me...

Room Tip: No, all rooms are just the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G C S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, your feedback was extremely important and it allowed us to understand what went wrong in order to make the necessary actions to correct our faults. I am at loss that you did not identified yourself with our design and color scheme.

Please accept our apologies and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in order to give us the chance to show you that the experience that you had with us is not according to our standards and to our daily mission which is exceeding every single day our guest’s expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Gonçalo Coelho de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park

Address: Rua Engenheiro Vieira da Silva, 2, Lisbon 1050-105, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the contemporary DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park hotel and enjoy a superb location in the heart of Lisbon, unique decor, modern business and leisure amenities and warm hospitality. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. Set in the Saldanha area of Lisbon, this modern hotel is close to the historical city center, tourist attractions and commercial and shopping areas and offers easy access to stretches of sandy beaches, beautiful golf courses and Lisbon Airport. Every light and airy guest room at this distinctive Lisbon hotel features sleek decor and modern amenities, including a 26-inch LCD TV, work area and WiFi. Some of our guest rooms and suites also offer a balcony and sliding floor-to-ceiling windows. Hold an event for up to 400 people with 7 flexible meeting spaces, with the latest A/V equipment and direct access to the large interior car park. Listen to the soothing sound of waterfalls in the hotel's attractive interior courtyard, which features a winter garden. In the evening, this relaxed area comes alive with DJs playing laid-back, contemporary music in the chic Fontana Bar Lounge - the ideal place to rendezvous with friends over cocktails. Featuring striking black and fuchsia decor, Bonsai offers an intimate ambiance and Oriental fusion cuisine. Dine in Saldanha Mar, where Chef Paula Carcao has created a tempting Portuguese and Mediterranean-style menu, showcasing the finest fish and seafood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Park Lisbon
Hotel Fontana Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.