We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finding the hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Engenheiro Vieira da Silva, 2, Lisbon 1050-105, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #125 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Lexington Park MD, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Finding the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Coming up the main street, there is no sign to indicate the hotel location. But take the road with the ESSI sign, go 2 blocks and the hotel is on the left. Parking is underneath and you have to go completely around the hotel block to get access.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    202
    70
    32
    13
See reviews for
45
201
23
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sturbridge
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This Hilton is like no other Hilton, Period. Thankfully we read the reviews and were prepared for a black and white experience. The hallways were a trip and unforgetable, they looked like out of a science fiction movie. The room was all black and white with a lovely view of the real city. The bathroom was the wildest I have ever seen, black glass, black granite, black marble. We loved it. It was an experience well worth living. Oh, and the breakfast in the morning was delightful with champagne...

Room Tip: They must all be good rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G C S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear guest,

What a wonderful feedback! I am so happy to read all your comments and to know that you loved your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Lisbon – Fontana Park!

We can’t wait to welcome you back!


Kind regards,
Gonçalo Coelho de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

hotel staff was fantastic. very polite. no temperature control in the room. had to call the front desk for every temperature adjustment. on/off/temp setting. the shower was a 1/2 panel of glass, water went all over the floor. bad design. outside bar open until 1 am. you could hear the people talking clicking glasses.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G C S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am really sorry to hear about the inconveniences you had during your last stay with us. I am writing to inform you that the issues regarding the temperature control and the shower and they have already been reported to our maintenance team for immediate action.

However, I am happy to read that you found our team members "fantastic" and "very polite". It was a pleasure to provide you the best service and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!


Best regards,
Gonçalo Coelho de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We spent ten days in this hotel while in Lisbon. The location worked for us as we wanted to see old Lisbon and area without being in the city center. The service was outstanding. Breakfast was excellent. However, we found the hallways and room dark. When you get off the elevator all you see is 'black' - almost eerie. The walls, doors and carpet are all black. The room is black. The bathroom is black or lined with mirrors! With limited lighting it is impossible to read in bed (there was no chair outside of one for the desk). The closets just have to make you laugh. It is impossible for anyone less than six feet tall to reach the hangers. There is no place to set anything in the bathroom or around the bed. The reception area and restaurant are totally white. The chairs and stools provided in the reception area and bar are interesting but not too comfortable.

Room Tip: We always look for a quiet room and found that facing the garden not the street. Windows on street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G C S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for feedback. Regarding the hotel design, I am writing to inform you that your comments were reported to our design team for investigation. Nevertheless, I am glad to read that you found our service “outstanding” and our breakfast “excellent”!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future!


Kind regards,
Gonçalo Coelho de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Agree with other reviewers.

Convenient location. A short walk from Saldanha metro station. Very comfortable bed. Pleasant staff.

The major issue is room functionality. If you are short, you will have to stretch to reach the closet hangers. Closet door opens right on top of bed side counter so most of counter space is useless.

In room WiFi signal is very weak. Black is the theme. The hallway is not at all pleasant looking. It's ALL black and bland.

Nice looking room. But overall issues with functionality and way too much black.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
G C S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. I apologize for the issues you faced during your recent stay. We completely understand that the room functionality and the hotel color selection were not what you were expecting and we embrace the fact that every guest has its preferences.

However, I am glad to know that you enjoyed our “very comfortable bed” as well as out “pleasant staff”!

We would love to welcome you back to our hotel and to the beautiful city of Lisbon!


Best regards,
Gonçalo Coelho de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Athens
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Like many other reviewers, I found the decor in the hotel terrible - the worst I have ever seen. What was the designer thinking about? - it is black, black and more black. Even coming out of the elevator, you are hit by the blackness - I couldn't believe my eyes and took my first ever trip advisor photograph so you can see what I mean.
Checking in was good, although instead of being offered a melting warm cookie (apparently it's a tradition!), a nice drink of cold water would have been more appreciated!
As mentioned above, on seeing the corridor to my room, I was totally shocked, not even a picture on the wall to break the blackness up!
The rooms are nice, but too much black again, especially in the bathroom, where everything is black, except the sink, bath and toilet!
I went to the bar for a drink and decided to also eat there. The service at the bar was excellent, even though the barman was rushed of his feet, he did a great job!
After eating a nice meal, I went back to the room and had a great sleep. As I had an early start, I arranged an early morning call - it was on time, but the only thing was I don’t like a knock on the door to wake me up! - I find it intrusive - should I answer the door or not? Please use the phone for wake up calls!
Check out was smooth and I was offered another cookie to complete the stay!
Would I be back - unfortunately no because of the decor - but I can recommend the staff and the quality of the service.

Room Tip: I was facing inward facing other buildings where the noise echoed - ask for a different outlook if p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G C S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to share your thoughts with other travelers. Your feedback and comments are very important to us and allowed us to make the necessary changes and take actions in order to improve ourselves.

We apologize to read that we failed to provide you an unforgettable experience that you should have deserved during your stay. Also, we regret to hear that you didn’t like the hotel design as well as its features. Nevertheless, we would like to inform you that the issues you mentioned have already been reported to our management team for immediate action!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!


Yours sincerely,
Gonçalo Coelho de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Staying here at the moment, for 3 nights, and have some first impressions. Fisrt of all, yes it's all dark, but I can get over that.

More irritating is the room layout and the furniture in there. I have a desk, with THE most uncomfortable black (of course) plastic chair, and it really really does not lend itself to sitting in at all, never mind for an extended period. Thats not much of a problem if your laptop battery is flat however, as the only sockets in the room are on the far side of the double bed, way to far away for me to sit at the desk AND charge my laptop. A quick search UNDER the desk revealed a single socket on the bottom side of the table top (i.e. pointing to the floor ) but the desk light is (was) plugged into that.

A true example of form before function I'm afraid, and I won;t be back.

Room Tip: Really ? Get on in the nearby Sheraton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G C S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, your feedback was extremely important and it allowed us to make the necessary actions to improve our service. I have noted your comments regarding the different issues you had to face and I would like to inform you that the issues you mentioned have already been reported to our management team for immediate action.

Thank you in advance and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back again in order to give you the treat you deserve.


Yours faithfully,
Gonçalo Coelho de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park

Address: Rua Engenheiro Vieira da Silva, 2, Lisbon 1050-105, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the contemporary DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park hotel and enjoy a superb location in the heart of Lisbon, unique decor, modern business and leisure amenities and warm hospitality. We will even greet you with our delicious fresh-baked cookie upon arrival. Set in the Saldanha area of Lisbon, this modern hotel is close to the historical city center, tourist attractions and commercial and shopping areas and offers easy access to stretches of sandy beaches, beautiful golf courses and Lisbon Airport. Every light and airy guest room at this distinctive Lisbon hotel features sleek decor and modern amenities, including a 26-inch LCD TV, work area and WiFi. Some of our guest rooms and suites also offer a balcony and sliding floor-to-ceiling windows. Hold an event for up to 400 people with 7 flexible meeting spaces, with the latest A/V equipment and direct access to the large interior car park. Listen to the soothing sound of waterfalls in the hotel's attractive interior courtyard, which features a winter garden. In the evening, this relaxed area comes alive with DJs playing laid-back, contemporary music in the chic Fontana Bar Lounge - the ideal place to rendezvous with friends over cocktails. Featuring striking black and fuchsia decor, Bonsai offers an intimate ambiance and Oriental fusion cuisine. Dine in Saldanha Mar, where Chef Paula Carcao has created a tempting Portuguese and Mediterranean-style menu, showcasing the finest fish and seafood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Park Lisbon
Hotel Fontana Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Lisbon - Fontana Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.