We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Modern Art Museum (and free!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museu Colecao Berardo

Museu Colecao Berardo
Praca Do Imperio, Lisbon 1449-003, Portugal
+351 213 612 878
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 217 attractions in Lisbon
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Berardo Collection Museum is a museum that houses modern and contemporary art, togheter with modern, temporary exhibits. The permanent collection of the museum consist of the Berardo Collection, which is made up of modern en contemporary art, with major art movements like abstract expressionism, Abstraction-Création, action painting, body Art, constructivism, cubism, De Stijl, digital art, experimental art, geometric abstraction, kinetic art, minimal art, neo-expressionism, neo-plasticism, neo-Realism, op art, photography, photorealism, pop art, realism, suprematism, surrealism. The collection also consist of many important artists like Piet Mondrian, Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein, Pablo Picasso and Jackson Polock. Being located in the Culture Centre of Belém, it is right in the center of moderne culture of Lisbon. And to make it even more great, it's free for everybody.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Terrific Modern Art Museum (and free!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I are not huge museum-goers, but this museum really stood out as a world-class museum worth seeing in Belem, and especially exciting since it is free. It is clean, modern-- sparkling, even-- with lots of interesting art (and some that is not that interesting, but all museums suffer from this problem). Definitely a highlight of our trip.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    87
    39
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lisbon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“one of the best collections in Portugal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you love art, you can't miss it!
just nearby jeronimos, this is one of my favorite places for art, always with new exhibitions and collections.
Don't miss it!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A joy for modern art enthusiasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have really enjoyed visiting this museum which has a huge variety of modern art works. The collection is not as big as, say the Tate Modern's in London, but definitely big enough to spend a couple of hours there. The instructions/narratives are in both English and Portuguese and works are grouped by decade/chronologically. It's in the CCB, a building from the nineties that is interesting to check out anyway. At the entrance and on the outside there are a few interactive installations which you will find fun if you're into that kind of thing. To make things better, entrance is free.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Famous modern art - for free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Berado collection offers a huge variety of modern art through the decades. As somewhat of a novice, I found the written narratives very informative as they offered information about how and why art evolved at that time in history and a little detail into the lives and works of some of the artists. Of course the Picasso painting is wonderful and the Warhol fabulous but there are numerous paintings and photographs to enjoy. Oursler's multimedia and installation exhibition was particularly fascinating although disturbing and kept me shocked and intrigued for quite a while. An afternoon well spent, our money not!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Worth seeing if you like modern art...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm not particularly into modern art but this being my 8th trip to Lisbon I thought I should go and see what the Berardo collection had to offer. Actually was an interesting few hours as there is a huge variety of works to view. The cafeteria / restaurant offers some great food too at reasonable prices. Good day out. Remember you can get a train from Cais De Sodre along to Belem instead of a tram. Trains are so much quieter too!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museu Colecao Berardo also viewed

 

Been to Museu Colecao Berardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museu Colecao Berardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museu Colecao Berardo to your Saves list