We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, worst noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borges Chiado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Borges Chiado to your Saves list
Hotel Borges Chiado
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Garret 108 | Chiado - Lisboa, Lisbon 1200-205, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Best location, worst noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Chiado is the place to be in Lisbon, close to everything. You may never take the metro because you can actually walk everywhere, and at night just choose from plenty of good restaurants in Bairro Alto, also 5 minutes walking from Hotel Borges.

But the thing is: you have to put up with the noise. There are musicians playing in the street from 10 am to midnight and its like they're inside your room. And I was in a "quiet" room facing a side street, Serpa Pinto, not overlooking the musicians place.

Dont even think about an afternoon nap here or sleeping before midnight, its too noisy.

That said, room is ok (i actually got one of the bigger rooms), bed is ok too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    156
    136
    56
    23
See reviews for
91
156
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Konstanz, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Despite being in a great location, I was rather disappointed in this hotel. My room smelled incredibly musty when I first arrived, and everything was just kind of dingy. I had to do some maintenance on the TV to get any channels at all, and WiFi costs 5 EUR per device per day. (So you'd have to pay 10 EUR to get WiFi on both your phone and laptop, say.)

The breakfast was incredibly poorly organized, and for someone with a milk and egg intolerance, there was very little I could actually eat. There was also a "mystery meat" in a case marked "halal", but I'm pretty sure that whatever it was, there was pork/ham in it!

I also saw several people complain that the hotel had lost their reservation. I know they had misplaced my reservation, since I emailed them before I left, and they had no record of me. Luckily, we were able to remedy the situation.

Nevertheless, the location is so good that it's easy to overlook the general crappiness of the hotel itself. You're right by the metro and really close to several tourist sites. (Make sure to check out the Sao Roque church and museum!) However, I wouldn't pay over 65 EUR for a room, unless you REALLY want to be in the center of Chiado. Not sure it's worth what you're paying for.

Room Tip: I was in 205, and it was not pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We come for two nights and I didn't at first when I got in my room. The rooms are basic and need to renovated, by saying that, if you ask for the staff they'd do their best to make sure that your needs are fulfilled.
The rooms were very clean, apart from my mother's room that smelled of insect killer, but they changed it for another one.
The wifi is perfect. Works wherever you go at the hotel and also outside. I had coffee at A Brasileira and the signal was very strong and perfect.
The high light is the breakfast room. It is an amazing and beautifully decorated room. They offer a great variety of cereals, breads and coffees. They could improve by changing the juices and yogurt, they're cheap, but there are other things to choose.
The STAFF are the highlight of the hotel. All of them are incredibly friendly and helpful. They are very genuine and the people at the reception seem to enjoy their job.
The location is everyone's dream of a city break. You can't get more in the heart of Lisbon than staying here. Shops are at your doorstep, tubes, good restaurants.

My only disappointment was with the bedrooms' televisions. They need to be replaced. For the elderly, like my mother who'd rather staying in at night and rest in front of the telly was difficult as they didn't offer a working remote control and the tv itself is cheap.

I'd recommend this hotel and I'd be happy to come back again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Located in the best place of Lisbon. The best coffee in Europe is downstairs. Short walk from party area filled with pubs and restaurants. Shops, famous 28 tram stop and main square are just a few steps away. Metro station is 20 meters from hotel's door. The hotel itself is a bit old and rooms are just average but for that location it's worth it. Good price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We just spend 3 nights in Hotel Borges Chiado in Lisbon with some friends. The hotel is partly renovated, so you just have to ask for a nice room. Our friends got at VERY small room to start with, but asked for at better room the following day. The were transferred to at nice renovated room. So just ask!
The best thing to say about this hotel is LOCATION! You can not put at finger on the location. It is in the middle of everything. Nice.

There are some bad things:
Lousy breakfast...(go to a café instead)
Not so clean...it is dirty and they seem not to notice.

But we found the people at the reception very helpful and smiling. Nothing there!

All in all a good hotel for the value. Again, location, location, location.....

Room Tip: Room 304 is renovated and has a nice location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomar, Portugal
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel many times over a two year period while we were planning our move to Portugal. We enjoyed the location and realized that it was basic and had planned on staying with while friends were planning to visit from the States. That changed last year when we had a bad experience that resulted in them offering us a free night and an apology. We let go and decided we'd shop around in the meantime for another hotel in Lisbon for our many planned visits. One day we noticed that the Borges' lobby had been renovated and thought perhaps the rest of the hotel and issues has finally been improved and decided to give them yet another chance. Huge mistake! Here is a partial list of what went wrong: freezing room, portable heater with badly worn cord, air conditioner (also heater) did not work, terrible wi-fi, dirty rugs, dirty bedspreads on two of the three beds, peeling paint, rusty trash can in bathroom and finally some sort of power outage while we were trying to dress for dinner, which was apparently caused by the maid overloading the circuit (twice) on our floor. No apology this time- one of the staff members actually wanted to know "what is the problem now" when appeared at the front desk. It is sad because this could be a lovely hotel but we have given up!

Room Tip: Perhaps they have hidden rooms that have be renovated but we never had on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were a mite apprehensive about this 3-star hotel after seeing a pic here at TripAdvisor from a traveller showing a dead cockroach in one of their bathrooms. Nothing to worry about ... I hope TripAdvisor removes that picture. The hotel is completely renovated and is excellent value for the below $100 p/night we paid for it which included breakfast. The only drawback is that the hotel does not have fridges or coolers in the room and neither does it have an ice making machine anywhere in the hotel. If only the European hotels could invest in this appliance !!
Initially, we were given a nice attic room on the fifth floor with a view of rooftops but although the room was great and would have been sans street noises, we preferred to be facing the street and enjoying the street noises, music and people watching. We were then given a room on the fourth floor which we found to be excellent.
We loved the music from the street players, one guy in particular, an accordion player was terrific. We were disappointed that he was not around when on the last day (we stayed here for 3 days before moving to the Holiday Inn) we wanted to tip him. Besides this talented soul, there were musicians from Cape Verde doing their thing in the square below.
I would definitely recommend Hotel Borges Chiado to any of my friends visiting Portugal. It's situated in THE corner of Lisbon ... you won't find a better area to explore, walk or shop anywhere else. It is also minutes away from the Amazens mall (not sure of the spelling) which has a food court taking up an entire floor. For us North Americans, it's a joy to find McDonalds is also in that same court.
Baixa-Chiado subway (Metro) is steps away from the hotel doorway.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and need your 7 or 8 hours beauty sleep then make sure you ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Borges Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borges Chiado

Address: Rua Garret 108 | Chiado - Lisboa, Lisbon 1200-205, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Borges Chiado 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Lisbon's Chiado Square, the Hotel Borges has rooms with satellite TV and some feature a private balcony. Facilities include a tour desk. The Fado clubs of Bairro Alto are just a short walk away. The air-conditioned rooms of the Borges are decorated with floor-to-ceiling windows, carpeted floors and wood furniture. All rooms have a private bathroom. Guests can enjoy drinks and refreshments at the Borges Hotel's terrace. Room service is available as well. The Hotel Borges's front desk is open 24/7. The hotel also provides car rental, laundry facilities, and a ticket service. The Mario Viegas Theatre and the Museum of Chiado are situated within walking distance. Lisbon Airport is a 16-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Borges Chiado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borges Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borges Chiado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.