We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Avenida Liberdade to your Saves list
Heritage Avenida Liberdade
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1150-145, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tram Bairro Alto 2 min
Ranked #5 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
hanna8577
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Couldn't be happier we chose this hotel for our long weekend stay in Lisbon.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly (also, which sadly seems to be quite rare for a hotel, they acually seemed to enjoy their work!), the rooms cosy and well appointed. The jet pool was an appreciated feature after long walks in the city – and it's open 24/7! The breakfast was super fresh, generous and tasty, the lounge area (where you were treated to a free glass of port in the evenings) was elegant and atmospheric.

The Heritage Avenida Liberdade is perfectly situated in the center of town, close to restaurants, shopping areas and museums. A cab from the airport to the hotel costs around €15, it's also a five minute walk away from various metro stops.

The one thing that could be improved would be the WiFi-connection, which was a bit unreliable. However, this was a very minor flaw in our eyes.

Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Avenida Liberdade, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your very kind words about our staff and our hotel.
We try to offer all our guests a fully satisfactory stay and if there is something that must be corrected we try to solve it as soon as we can or give alternative solutions. We are terribly sorry that the WiFi-connection in your room was inconsistent. We carry regular audits for signal strength and connectivity throughout the hotel and we will recheck the system to take the necessary adjustments immediately.
Once more, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to Lisbon.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    171
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
88
547
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Though when I booked via Booking dot com they said I would be in Hertiage Ave Liberdade, I was actually booked at the sister hotel a couple of blocks away. I liked it and from what I could tell this one was as good, but had more of a modern vibe. The staff were friendly and helpful in greeting me and helping me find their sister hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We arrived early in the morning after an overnight flight. And while our room was not yet ready, we were invited to relax and enjoy the very generous breakfast in the very comfortable lobby. Our lovely room was ready shortly thereafter. It was quiet, clean, and quite elegant.
The hotel's location is perfect for walks to restaurants, shopping and many of the historic sites in the city.
One word of warning...if you choose the Golden Age plan, you will need to save the actual tickets issued by museums you visit in order to be reimbursed by the hotel. The receipt issued when you pay the entrance fee is not acceptable to the hotel. This was not clearly explained to us.
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plakias, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is a place you ever wished to be when visiting a city. A quiet and clean place. A lobby where you can relax after a busy sight seeing or business day. A very friendly staff will assist you in every way. The rooms are lovely and have a lot of quality. The bathroom we had was a real jewel.
When returning from your day there is a tea corner shaped like a old farmacy with free tea in several tastes.You start your day here with a outstanding breakfast. Not the quantity counts but the quality will surprise you again! And finally a (free again) glas of port or sweet muscado wine awaits you when arriving back late at night after a lovely day in this city!! So in a nutshell.... A GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for only one night in October but loved the hotel. It is located in a historic building with lots of history and charm. That is part of what makes the stay here worthwhile. The location is also very good. Very easy to walk downtown (five minutes) and to all parts of the city, but a little quieter than being right downtown. The room we had was also very spacious and comfortable, as was the bathroom. Especially enjoyed the Molton Brown bath products! Would definitely stay here again and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I am thrilled with my stay here. We arrived late and were given a room on a high floor that was large and had windows facing the scenic hills. But I had seen photos of rooms on TA showing floor to ceiling windows and had hoped for a similar room. I asked the receptionist if it would be possible to stay in such a room if one became available during our five day stay. The hotel was full but he immediately said he would try to find out through the morning manager.
We came to breakfast the next day and the morning staff was already aware of my request. They showed me a room that had just been vacated and moved us in while we went out for the morning. The room, #41, is spectacular! A corner unit facing the avenue. No noise. Side view up the hill. Bathroom also has a balconied floor to ceiling window. Could not be more perfect, a combination of charm and modern amenities. I'm sure this must be an upgrade from my original room but everyone could not have been more gracious or discreet.

The attitude of the entire staff was one of service and gratitude for staying with them. They turned what would have been a nice stay in an okay room to a fabulous stay in a memorable room.

I, however, agree with other TA reviewers that the large artwork in the main entrance lobby is out of sync with the elegance of the hotel. And that the shower curtains, although consistent with the character, make the room look more shabby and not as spotless as it truly is.

Room Tip: Room 41 is a corner room with a windowed bathroom as well. Rooms are soundproofed so facing the aven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed it.
It's been revently renovated and looks great - historic but with a modern twist
Lovely big room and bathroom (number 2)
Nice touch to have complimentary sherry and an unbelievable tea bar area with a huge selection of loose tea.
Centrally located.
Very friendly and helpful staff
Tiny gym - consisting of a bike and running machine! Also a small plunge pool (or jet pool as they refer to it as)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Avenida Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1150-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Avenida Liberdade 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Avenida Liberdade is a small boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. Located at Lisbon's main avenue - Avenida da Liberdade - this 18th-century townhouse is decorated by the Portuguese architect Miguel Cancio Martins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Avenida Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Avenida Liberdade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.