We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, lovely rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Avenida Liberdade to your Saves list
Heritage Avenida Liberdade
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1150-145, Portugal   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tram Bairro Alto 2 min
Ranked #3 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Perfect location, lovely rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We arrived early in the morning after an overnight flight. And while our room was not yet ready, we were invited to relax and enjoy the very generous breakfast in the very comfortable lobby. Our lovely room was ready shortly thereafter. It was quiet, clean, and quite elegant.
The hotel's location is perfect for walks to restaurants, shopping and many of the historic sites in the city.
One word of warning...if you choose the Golden Age plan, you will need to save the actual tickets issued by museums you visit in order to be reimbursed by the hotel. The receipt issued when you pay the entrance fee is not acceptable to the hotel. This was not clearly explained to us.
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    182
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
98
608
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plakias, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is a place you ever wished to be when visiting a city. A quiet and clean place. A lobby where you can relax after a busy sight seeing or business day. A very friendly staff will assist you in every way. The rooms are lovely and have a lot of quality. The bathroom we had was a real jewel.
When returning from your day there is a tea corner shaped like a old farmacy with free tea in several tastes.You start your day here with a outstanding breakfast. Not the quantity counts but the quality will surprise you again! And finally a (free again) glas of port or sweet muscado wine awaits you when arriving back late at night after a lovely day in this city!! So in a nutshell.... A GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for only one night in October but loved the hotel. It is located in a historic building with lots of history and charm. That is part of what makes the stay here worthwhile. The location is also very good. Very easy to walk downtown (five minutes) and to all parts of the city, but a little quieter than being right downtown. The room we had was also very spacious and comfortable, as was the bathroom. Especially enjoyed the Molton Brown bath products! Would definitely stay here again and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I am thrilled with my stay here. We arrived late and were given a room on a high floor that was large and had windows facing the scenic hills. But I had seen photos of rooms on TA showing floor to ceiling windows and had hoped for a similar room. I asked the receptionist if it would be possible to stay in such a room if one became available during our five day stay. The hotel was full but he immediately said he would try to find out through the morning manager.
We came to breakfast the next day and the morning staff was already aware of my request. They showed me a room that had just been vacated and moved us in while we went out for the morning. The room, #41, is spectacular! A corner unit facing the avenue. No noise. Side view up the hill. Bathroom also has a balconied floor to ceiling window. Could not be more perfect, a combination of charm and modern amenities. I'm sure this must be an upgrade from my original room but everyone could not have been more gracious or discreet.

The attitude of the entire staff was one of service and gratitude for staying with them. They turned what would have been a nice stay in an okay room to a fabulous stay in a memorable room.

I, however, agree with other TA reviewers that the large artwork in the main entrance lobby is out of sync with the elegance of the hotel. And that the shower curtains, although consistent with the character, make the room look more shabby and not as spotless as it truly is.

Room Tip: Room 41 is a corner room with a windowed bathroom as well. Rooms are soundproofed so facing the aven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed it.
It's been revently renovated and looks great - historic but with a modern twist
Lovely big room and bathroom (number 2)
Nice touch to have complimentary sherry and an unbelievable tea bar area with a huge selection of loose tea.
Centrally located.
Very friendly and helpful staff
Tiny gym - consisting of a bike and running machine! Also a small plunge pool (or jet pool as they refer to it as)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is quite a nice place to stay. I must say, I don't understand the amazing reviews, it's good but not deserving of top 5 status in the whole of Lisbon, in my opinion. But, it's not at all bad. The room is very nice, with lots of character, and the hotel overall is good enough, in a convenient location within walking distance of everything. I would stay here again, but it doesn't necessarily excite me as some other hotels do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A group of 6 of us stayed here at this small hotel, very centrally placed. It had a wonderful 'tea bar' with delicious lemon shortbread biscuits and other pastries available all day. The breakfast (which was included in our room rate) was available until 12 noon with a good selection of fresh fruit, cereal, cheese, eggs, bacon, breads and pastries. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly and made every effort to make our stay a good one. The lounge area was a comfortable and relaxing space and there was a well stocked bar but sherry and port were provided free of charge throughout the day. There were a couple of outside bars nearby with live music which we also really enjoyed. The reasonably priced aerobus stops very near the hotel so it has good regular connections to the airport. We had a super time in Lisbon and this hotel really played an important part in making it a great city break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Avenida Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1150-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Avenida Liberdade 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Avenida Liberdade is a small boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. Located at Lisbon's main avenue - Avenida da Liberdade - this 18th-century townhouse is decorated by the Portuguese architect Miguel Cancio Martins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Heritage Avenida Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Avenida Liberdade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.