We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location and Friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Av Liberdade

Save Saved
You added Heritage Av Liberdade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage Av Liberdade
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1150-145, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tram Bairro Alto 2 min
Ranked #4 of 218 hotels in Lisbon
dublin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location and Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay with my elderly Mum at this hotel. From the minute we arrived the staff went out of their way to help us. A simple thing like carrying our bags from the taxi, and changing our allocated room to a room that was ready because we had arrived early at 12am.
We stayed on the first floor, facing the main road, however our room was very quite and we heard no road noise at all.
The little touches like fresh biscuits and cakes in the lobby beside a range of fresh tea leaves so guests could help themselves to some fresh tea or coffee during the day was a lovely touch. As to was the wine and port that was available from 4pm on the lobby, again for guests to help themselves. Although I have to admit when we came back from sightseeing during the day I would make a pot of tea for mum and bring it up to our room instead of having it on the comfy couches in the lobby. Yet again the staff always lent a helping hand by offering to bring the tea up to our room or since my hands were full they would call the lift for me and enter my floor number for me.
The staff were always on hand with maps and directions and money saving tips on tram tickets and to make reservations.
On the day we were leaving I had problems with my airlines website and was unable to print our boarding passes, the reception staff asked for my booking reference and when we finished breakfast they had managed to print our boarding passes. Now that's service!
Highly recommend this hotel both for its location and staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    596
    154
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
485
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in great location. Very clean hotel and friendly helpful staff. Very spacious rooms for a city hotel. Loved the facility if the jet pool in the basement. Enjoyed the complimentary port and tea in the lobby area. When visiting Lisbon in the future I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a nice hotel in a great location ! Close to old town and right on the Avenida da Liberdade. I had room # 35 which was perfect. I had a great view of the funicular and even saw the flags on the top of St. George castle. The room was quiet as it was in the back of the hotel. Nice bathroom too. Breakfast downstairs was nice with enough variety of foods. I really liked the concierge services. Special thank you to Andre who helped me arrange private excursion for me and my parents. Really great experience overall and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take # 35. It is in the back of the hotel on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riberac
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel was perfect for us during a very hot four days in Lisbon. The air con worked perfectly, plus there were large calm bedrooms with internal shutters that also kept out the heat and light. We stayed In a superior room with twin/ double bed, this was comfortable and the room had sensible lighting. It was a double aspect room, always a bonus.The bathroom was spacious and airy and had internal shutters too. The 18 th century town house conversion into hotel was well done with decent decor and well maintained. It was not over fussy.The staff were helpful and efficient. Breakfast buffet was excellent. The location was good, next to a taxi rank, near the tourist office and bus stop for the Red Bus tours. We also found the post office nearby and good places to eat, excellent sea food
and people watching. When we came back after dinner it was relaxing to sit in the lounge with a
glass of port, provided free of charge on a serve yourself basis.
Two things; the bus from the airport is recommended but the stop is NOT the Avenida stop as you would think, but the next one, so get off after the Avenida stop. And the hotel has two entrances, one with steps and one at the side with a ramp. The step entrance needs a hand rail.we looked at the hymn and pool,but did not use them, all seemed clean and inviting.
As OAPs we were able to obtain a better inclusive rate on our stay which means you must stay three nights or more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Av Liberdade, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would like to precise the name of the bus stop you refer to, which is Restauradores. As we are located in the lower part of the fashionable Avenida da Liberdade, it is more convenient to use the Restauradores bus stop. Restauradores is one of Lisbon’s main squares in the historic center at the end of Avenida da Liberdade and adjacent to Rossio and Baixa. The Restauradores is also the square where is located the Gloria funicular which will take you to Bairro Alto in literally 2 minutes.
Thank you again for your help. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to Lisbon.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here end of July after a few days in Cascais. The hotel is in a great location. It is near two metro stations and elavators to bario alto. 5-10min walk to shopping streets.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. Hotel is decorated to a high standard and very clean. Rooms are lovely and comfortable. It is literally a boutique hotel as only a few rooms on each floor and breakfast, bar, reception, lobby etc are all the one area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Second time here. Staff delightful room vg .great location. Its a true boutique hotel charming .
Breakfast is superb small choice but Portugese custard tarts to die for !!!!!!
Great area for exploring the city trams and finiculaire.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had two rooms here early in August at the start of our Silver Coast holiday travelling with two teens, the staff and rooms were fantastic. Contemporary decor, spotlessly clean and with the most glorious bathroom in one of the rooms with french windows allowing the light and fresh air to flood in.

A very convenient location for some heavy duty sightseeing and the hop-on/hop-off buses were easy to access as was the Metro station. We managed an early morning trip to El Corte Ingles on our last morning and that took 12 mins door to door via the underground.

We had a hiccup with not being able to lock the safe one day and instantly the duty manager and a maintenance colleague arrived to sort the situation. It was handled beautifully and we were free to go off knowing that the manager was in charge and she re-set the machine in our absence and we were handed a sealed envelope on our return with the new code.

Breakfast quirky and accessible on ground floor, plenty of tables to sit at casually too.

The pavements in Lisbon took a bit of getting used to and I hardly dared look up at the sights for fear of falling into a crater or over a broken cobble but I adapted after half a day.

Wonderful welcomes, easy smiles and genuinely decent service from this hotel. We do recommend it and enjoyed our short visit.

Room Tip: Great little pool down in basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Av Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Av Liberdade

Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1150-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Av Liberdade 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Av Liberdade is a small luxury boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. Located at Lisbon's main avenue - Avenida da Liberdade - this 18th-century townhouse is decorated by the Portuguese architect Miguel Cancio Martins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Heritage Av Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Av Liberdade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.