We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Av Liberdade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Heritage Av Liberdade to your Saves list
Heritage Av Liberdade
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1150-145, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tram Bairro Alto 2 min
Ranked #5 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations. We loved the atmosphere and the service was very friendly. Perfect location and good food, both in room service and breakfasts. The only slight negative was that, like other reviewers, we found that the room amenities were not always automatically replenished.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Av Liberdade, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, following your recent stay with us. It is from the feedback of our clients that we try to continuously improve our service.
We are very happy to note that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel and our friendly staff which we are very proud of.
On the other hand we are very sorry to read that the room amenities were not always automatic replenished. We will look in more detail at the present method we are using. Our aim is to avoid that this problem happens again in the future. Please accept our apologies and we thank you once more for your time and help.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back and offering you a totally satisfactory stay.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    166
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
85
524
26
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingør, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this great hotel for a week, and we enjoyed it tremendously. The staff was pleasant and helpful, the rooms extremely clean, with big windows facing the Avenida, yet it was very quiet. The bathroom was lovely - it even had a balcony! Breakfast was really nice with fresh fruit, eggs and freshly baked bread. Best of all was the location, situated close to everything and next to a metrostation. We can only recommend this lovely place, and we would gladly stay again, if our way should come through Lisbon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Highly recommendable hotel in central Lisbon! We really liked the welcoming and modern interior design, the central location (a mere 5 min. walk to the centre), the friendliness of the staff, the rich and tasty breakfast buffet (great orange juice!) and the cleanliness of the room. A really nice touch is the free coffee and tea, port and moscatel in the lobby. The only (minor) downside was that the room was a little warm at night with the AC switched off (with 10°C outside in early March!), but throughout the night the Avenida is too noisy to sleep with an open window. Still, a really nice place to stay, whether for just a night or much longer. And what really makes the difference is that the staff seems to care.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fantastic hotel. This is in a great location, ideally situated near metro, close to shops, tram 28 for old style Lisbon - watch for the local rascals hanging on the sides, tram 15 for Belem Tower, modern art exhibition etc.
Hotel is very stylish, from lift to corridors, to tag for do not disturb, to full length windows, to sound proofing, to brilliant staff, to molten brown toiletries, to great size beds, to free apples,to lighting, to plunge pool, to towels, to great coffee at breakfast. This could be the best hotel you've stayed in!!
Everything is wonderful. Avoid room 21-it's mine!! 3 balconies in one room-never had that before. Largest bathroom I've been in!

Room Tip: Our room was at the front. Sound proofing is fantastic. I'm a light sleeper and was never distur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in mid-March. Lovely hotel right in the middle of Lisbon. Easy to walk to sites, take the metro or catch a cab. Hotel has a nice lobby and we spent some time relaxing there. Service was friendly and personable, but not flawless - had to ask for amenities to be topped up in our room, tea pots/water to be replaced at tea bar (which was a nice touch), laundry back after 8pm rather than by 6pm etc. Also, as some other guests noted, while the room was much larger than I expected (Heritage room, 51) and I did expect it to be, not luxurious per se, but less stark. Also, I'd step up the snack selection - we ordered the cheese plate and the ham & cheese sandwich - very basic, but could have been much nicer, especially the cheese plate - felt like something someone's grandma would make for an after school snack.

We both thought the gym, while very very small, fit our needs. It's rare to find gym equipment in boutique hotels in city centres, so a definite plus.

Despite not finding it perfect, I'd stay here again. Lisbon is not a big city and it's easy to get around, but I liked being right in the middle of things.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms are very large for two people - especially the corner room that we had (51). We face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Av Liberdade, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your invaluable feedback following your recent stay with us.
Whilst we are very pleased to know that you liked our location and our friendly staff, we are very sorry to learn that some aspects of our Hotel were not correct. Please accept our sincere apologies.
It is from the feedback of our guests that we try to continuously improve our service.
Thank you for your confidence on us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back and provide you a with a fully satisfactory stay.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We chose this hotel as part of a trip organised by Kirker Holidays. (They are excellent by the way for short breaks and am happy to answer any questions about them). The receptionist was so warm and welcoming. She knew it was our wedding anniversary and we were given a bottle of sparkling wine to mark the occasion. Our room on the third floor was very light and spacious with 2 floor to ceiling windows complete with juliette balconies which opened. Beautiful hardwood floors and comfortable settee. Even though we looked onto the Avenue Liberdade we were not troubled by any noise. I echo everything which has been said about the position of the hotel regarding ease of transport. The availability of tea at anytime is also a big plus. We spent some time around the pool on one afternoon and the area has been beautifully done with comfortable loungers and soft lighting which changes colour. Even though I can't swim the availability of an area like this to relax in in a city centre hotel is very welcome after a days sightseeing. We did a walking tour of the city with Lisbon Spirit (see separate review) which I can thoroughly recommend. The hotel staff helped us to organise this. The staff were really wonderful at this hotel. Nothing was ever too much trouble.They were happy to book taxis/give directions. I had a problem printing out boarding passes for our return flight and they spent ages trying to help. We hope to return to Lisbon and will stay here again. I can also recommend Largo for dinner. Not cheap but fantastic. Again see separate review.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in March 2013. The best thing about the hotel is it's location. Right by the Restoradores Metro stop, Rossio train station and also the bus stops for Airport etc. Plus, you are literally 2 mins away from more bars, restaurants etc than you could ever wish for as well as the main central square. However don't think this means it's noisy - far from it, It's on a tree lined main street (shops like Prada, Gucci etc just doors away) and it's very quiet.
The hotel itself is small but nicely decorated and the rooms were very spacious and clean. Molton Brown toiletries a bonus!
Breakfast was extremely fresh and there was a nice selection including scrambled eggs and bacon.
Only reason I haven't given it 'excellent' is that bar prices in the hotel were a bit high which is a shame as it'd be nice to have come back and had a coffee or drink in the lounge at the end of the day but it was a bit steep compared to local bars. Also breakfast is served in the lounge area and it's quite cramped when everyone is trying to get breakfast and the chairs are more designed for 'lounging' than eating so everyone is trying to go backwards and forwards past the large chairs to the buffet while also eating at very low tables. However this is definitely not a deal breaker - I'd have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 63 and I liked it but there is a bell tower which chimes on the hour (but this wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Av Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Av Liberdade

Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1150-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#19 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Av Liberdade 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Av Liberdade is a small luxury boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. Located at Lisbon's main avenue - Avenida da Liberdade - this 18th-century townhouse is decorated by the Portuguese architect Miguel Cancio Martins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Av Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Av Liberdade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.