We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Avenida Liberdade to your Saves list
Heritage Avenida Liberdade
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1150-145, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tram Bairro Alto 2 min
Ranked #5 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fantastic hotel. This is in a great location, ideally situated near metro, close to shops, tram 28 for old style Lisbon - watch for the local rascals hanging on the sides, tram 15 for Belem Tower, modern art exhibition etc.
Hotel is very stylish, from lift to corridors, to tag for do not disturb, to full length windows, to sound proofing, to brilliant staff, to molten brown toiletries, to great size beds, to free apples,to lighting, to plunge pool, to towels, to great coffee at breakfast. This could be the best hotel you've stayed in!!
Everything is wonderful. Avoid room 21-it's mine!! 3 balconies in one room-never had that before. Largest bathroom I've been in!

Room Tip: Our room was at the front. Sound proofing is fantastic. I'm a light sleeper and was never distur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    171
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
88
547
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in mid-March. Lovely hotel right in the middle of Lisbon. Easy to walk to sites, take the metro or catch a cab. Hotel has a nice lobby and we spent some time relaxing there. Service was friendly and personable, but not flawless - had to ask for amenities to be topped up in our room, tea pots/water to be replaced at tea bar (which was a nice touch), laundry back after 8pm rather than by 6pm etc. Also, as some other guests noted, while the room was much larger than I expected (Heritage room, 51) and I did expect it to be, not luxurious per se, but less stark. Also, I'd step up the snack selection - we ordered the cheese plate and the ham & cheese sandwich - very basic, but could have been much nicer, especially the cheese plate - felt like something someone's grandma would make for an after school snack.

We both thought the gym, while very very small, fit our needs. It's rare to find gym equipment in boutique hotels in city centres, so a definite plus.

Despite not finding it perfect, I'd stay here again. Lisbon is not a big city and it's easy to get around, but I liked being right in the middle of things.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms are very large for two people - especially the corner room that we had (51). We face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Avenida Liberdade, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your invaluable feedback following your recent stay with us.
Whilst we are very pleased to know that you liked our location and our friendly staff, we are very sorry to learn that some aspects of our Hotel were not correct. Please accept our sincere apologies.
It is from the feedback of our guests that we try to continuously improve our service.
Thank you for your confidence on us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back and provide you a with a fully satisfactory stay.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We chose this hotel as part of a trip organised by Kirker Holidays. (They are excellent by the way for short breaks and am happy to answer any questions about them). The receptionist was so warm and welcoming. She knew it was our wedding anniversary and we were given a bottle of sparkling wine to mark the occasion. Our room on the third floor was very light and spacious with 2 floor to ceiling windows complete with juliette balconies which opened. Beautiful hardwood floors and comfortable settee. Even though we looked onto the Avenue Liberdade we were not troubled by any noise. I echo everything which has been said about the position of the hotel regarding ease of transport. The availability of tea at anytime is also a big plus. We spent some time around the pool on one afternoon and the area has been beautifully done with comfortable loungers and soft lighting which changes colour. Even though I can't swim the availability of an area like this to relax in in a city centre hotel is very welcome after a days sightseeing. We did a walking tour of the city with Lisbon Spirit (see separate review) which I can thoroughly recommend. The hotel staff helped us to organise this. The staff were really wonderful at this hotel. Nothing was ever too much trouble.They were happy to book taxis/give directions. I had a problem printing out boarding passes for our return flight and they spent ages trying to help. We hope to return to Lisbon and will stay here again. I can also recommend Largo for dinner. Not cheap but fantastic. Again see separate review.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in March 2013. The best thing about the hotel is it's location. Right by the Restoradores Metro stop, Rossio train station and also the bus stops for Airport etc. Plus, you are literally 2 mins away from more bars, restaurants etc than you could ever wish for as well as the main central square. However don't think this means it's noisy - far from it, It's on a tree lined main street (shops like Prada, Gucci etc just doors away) and it's very quiet.
The hotel itself is small but nicely decorated and the rooms were very spacious and clean. Molton Brown toiletries a bonus!
Breakfast was extremely fresh and there was a nice selection including scrambled eggs and bacon.
Only reason I haven't given it 'excellent' is that bar prices in the hotel were a bit high which is a shame as it'd be nice to have come back and had a coffee or drink in the lounge at the end of the day but it was a bit steep compared to local bars. Also breakfast is served in the lounge area and it's quite cramped when everyone is trying to get breakfast and the chairs are more designed for 'lounging' than eating so everyone is trying to go backwards and forwards past the large chairs to the buffet while also eating at very low tables. However this is definitely not a deal breaker - I'd have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 63 and I liked it but there is a bell tower which chimes on the hour (but this wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is one of the best I have every stayed in Europe. Clean rooms that were very spacious, lovely bathroom with Molton Browne toiletries. All the staff were so friendly and helpful.
Lisbon however was a disappointment where we felt we were being ripped off at every place we went to. Food and drink very expensive and staff always trying to see something more expensive.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Avenida Liberdade, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay in our Hotel, which we were very happy to read.
However, we are most concerned with your experience with the restaurants that you visited in Lisbon. That is not the norm with the majority of the restaurants. Most part of them reflect the welcome character of the Portuguese people and we hope that in the future you will only have good experiences in Lisbon.
Thank you again.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for three nights here.
Nice spacious room with bath and shower. Lovely view of the Liberdade and good noise insulation.I haven't given it an excellent is because the breakfast buffet is essentially the same every day and I thought the mattress was a bit unforgiving for the price - nothing wrong with it but I am used to a more luxurious-feeling mattress when paying this sort of price.
It is worth searching around on different websites - we found a great deal on the Heritage room by going through a Spanish website that was significantly cheaper than others.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a heritage room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Avenida Liberdade, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us and we are happy to know that you appreciated our hotel and location. Thank you also for giving us the opportunity to offer a better service and to clarify some aspects of your stay.
Concerning the breakfast we try to have local products, which vary according to the season but not every day.
Our mattresses are medium firm in order to please most part of our guests, but we have the possibility to turn them softer or firmer during the guest stay. If the guest does not like the way it is, he just has to let us know his preference and we will be glad to adjust the firmness of the mattress according to the guest liking.
Concerning our rates, occasionally we have promotions that you can always find in our website.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future and try to offer you a fully satisfactory stay.
Sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Welcome drinks (port/sherry) available on arrival, breakfast was excellent with a buffet of cereal, cooked breakfast, breads, freshly squeezed orange juice,and a choice of coffees. Room clean and comfortable with good air conditioning. Centrally located. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Avenida Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1150-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Avenida Liberdade 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Avenida Liberdade is a small boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. Located at Lisbon's main avenue - Avenida da Liberdade - this 18th-century townhouse is decorated by the Portuguese architect Miguel Cancio Martins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Avenida Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Avenida Liberdade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.