We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, very convenient for the airport, but not the old city centre of Lisbon.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Olissippo Oriente

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Olissippo Oriente to your Saves list
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. D. Joao II, N0 32 | Parque das Nacoes, Lisbon 1990, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great hotel, very convenient for the airport, but not the old city centre of Lisbon.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

An ideal hotel for proximity to the airport, only 10mins taxi drive (9euros), or 3 stops on the metro (1.90euros each way) and a 5 mins walk to from the hotel. Good value, we paid £72.94 B&B. Rooms are excellent, quiet, spaceous, everything you would expect in a modern hotel, and everything worked. Breakfast was good overall but totally automated so that, for example, the coffee was from a large urn, not very hot, very murky, not very nice. If the policy is for no waiters and total automation, something as important as coffee at breakfast must be from a modern machine using freshly ground coffee. It was the same with the orange juice, some diluted concentrate, not the real thing so disappointing. A pity as the breads, pasties, etc .... were all very fresh even on the Sunday morning when we were experiencing the breakfast.
Location is 5/10 mins walk to the waterfront and a great view of the Vasco Da Gama bridge and the Burj Al Arab 'lookalike' hotel. It is a pleasant walk along the promenade with numerous restaurants, cafes, themed garden areas and a large indoor, air conditioned shopping centre.
It is NOT a hotel if you want to wander into the old historical quarter of Lisbon which is many miles away, hence the lower pricing. However the wonderful metro system so close to the hotel makes that part of the city very accessible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    196
    32
    8
    1
See reviews for
81
117
24
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We arrived at Lisbon Oriente rail station late at night, tired, with no onward travel plans and hungry. Luckily for us, a very friendly off duty receptionist from this hotel saw us on the street looking rather bedraggled and asked if we needed any help. On telling her we required accommodation she said that her hotel did have rooms a while ago. She pointed it out and wished us good luck. We were very lucky that the hotel did have rooms and at a very reasonable rate. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. I did hear a couple in a room nearby in the morning but I think they were shouting!
On checking out, the lovely helpful girl from the night before was on duty and we thanked her for her concern the previous night. A good hotel to stay at if travelling to/from Lisbon Oriente train station with very good bus/Metro links too and the airport is only 3 stops away on the Metro.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very large and confortable rooms, nice hotel.
Good location and stay especially for work, and quite near to the airport.
Lots of places to eat nearby (especially good fish restaurants), offices and a shopping center as well.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I´ve stayed for 2 days with my wife on this hotel and i was very happy for my choice.
We had room 730, with a double bed and a nice view to the river. Rooms are large and very clean, such as all the decor on the hotel very nice.
I booked the hotel directly and also due to the hotel´s nice position on Parque das Naçoes (EXPO98).
Everything is near by such as the huge shopping center Vasco da Gama, train/bus stations/metro and taxi ride of 7 euros to airport.
I would like to recommed the sushi restaurant near by,called Nagoya, delicious!!
A little tribute to the all reception desk in special (Catarina Tito) for their kindness and attention, the breakfast in the hotel is also very good and good quality. On my departure we left the hotel at 05:45 and they have arranged us some breakfast boxes to take with us, a very nice detail.
Next time to Lisbon, will book the same hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

When we return to Lisbon we would certainly stay in this hotel again. It is handy to the airport, and the train and metro stations. The room was comfortable and the staff very helpful.

The adjacent shopping centre is a great place for a casual meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This new hotel is situated in the Parque das Nações area, very special futuristic zone of Lisbon with buildings not only modern, but I can say projection into the future. There are a lot of attractions nearby: extraordinary designed train station Oriente, fantastic Oceanarium, Casino, shopping center Vasco da Gama, "telecabine", etc. But this area is quite far away from the center of Lisbon, so we had to use public transport or taxi to get there from the hotel. Taxi is not expensive in Lisbon, so it is a good and convenient option to get to the town center and most attractions. Hotel located very close to the airport (ca. 3 km). Just opposite the hotel is the tourist bus (hop-on/hop-off style) station, so it is convenient to start exploring the town.
Hotel is really very good with all features usually needed (air conditioner, Wi-Fi, mini-bar, safe deposit box, flat TV screen, etc.). Great rooms, tasty breakfast. Staff were very nice, too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is located in a nice location close to Vasco de Gamma station and in front of wonderful Oceanarium. It is very clean, quiet place with very friendly staff. They are helpful any moment you need them. We had a small room which I would not recommend for accommodation of a family of 3 people. It was too small. But other than them we enjoyed the stay. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Olissippo Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olissippo Oriente

Address: Av. D. Joao II, N0 32 | Parque das Nacoes, Lisbon 1990, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#39 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#47 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#48 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olissippo Oriente 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Olissippo Oriente is a modern four-star property located in Lisbon`s former Expo 98 site, which is now known as the Parque das Nações. Accommodation at the hotel comprises 182 rooms, including 14 suites and 1 room specially adapted for handicapped guests. On-site facilities at the Olissippo Oriente include a restaurant, bar, coffee shop with esplanade, wi-fi zones, garage parking and 5 meeting rooms. One major feature is the hotel`s very close proximity to the Lisbon Oceanarium, FIL fairground, Vasco da Gama shopping centre and the city`s new casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Olissippo Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Oriente Hotel
Olissippo Oriente Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Olissippo Oriente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.