We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Olissippo Oriente

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Olissippo Oriente to your Saves list
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. D. Joao II, N0 32 | Parque das Nacoes, Lisbon 1990, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
zug
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there a few nights. Hotel is in excellent conditions, with nice, silent and comfortable rooms. We had asked for our rooms to be next to each other which was the case. It is located 5 min from the airport and the beautiful Oceanarium. The metro is very convenient to go downtown. There is a mall 2 blocks away. We were not impressed by the breakfast, compared to other hotels in Lisbon: limited choice especially fresh fruits, no portuguese products, understaffed. The first evening, we asked for advice for a restaurant in the area and were told they were all good. It turned out they were all closed but one, that was empty... We lost 30 min walking around with starving children and ended up eating junk food at the mall: a real pity.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    226
    40
    9
    1
See reviews for
99
131
27
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka KS
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I spent one night here, before a morning flight from the Lisbon airport. The hotel is across the street from the Oriente train station and the huge, adjoining shopping mall. The property is modern and convenient, and the staff was pleasant.

The beds were good, and the bathroom was quite nice -- although there wasn't one convenient outlet for hair dryers or curling irons, and the built-in hair dryer was underpowered and not very convenient. But that's a minor point.

Check-in was easy, and the location was excellent. After check-in, I dropped a rental car off at Avis's Oriente location, and it was an easy walk back to the hotel. At that point, you're a short taxi ride from the airport. While there is a close Metro stop, the trains don't start running until 6am, so if you have an early departure, plan on a taxi.

Pricing is reasonable, and overall, I'd say this is a very good overnight hotel choice. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have been at this hotel many, many, many times... and I'll continue going to it because of the quality of the hotel and the quality of the of the service.

The people at this hotel is very kind-full so you'll fill at home... The rooms are really ok and after more than one year visiting the hotel every week I could say this!

I use the hotel for leisure and business and it's perfect for both things!!!

It's located in the newest part of Lisbon and you could move with a car or with the underground which is in the near (2 blocks from the hotel). You have a very big shopping center two block away and the Casino of Lisbon 50 meters away!

The worst part of the hotel is:

- It hasn't a swimming pool or a gym and it should considering that we are speaking about a 4 starts hotel.

- The breakfast service is decreasing its quality... It's not the same as it was in the past! Please, improve this part of the service.

In general words don't think too much and book at this hotel!

Room Tip: Personally I'll suggest floor number 8 because of the views... but every floor is the same (grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Nice hotel, near the Oriente Station, museums, attractions, and FIL. Starting to feel a bit dated - as in Party like its 1998... But comfy. Fair rate, good breakfast, good cafe. But this is a business hotel - not a bad thing,but you should know that.

Room Tip: Need 2 rooms? They can close off the hallway on the end rooms to make an easy suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Spent 5 days in this hotel for a business trip last January. It was booked by the company which is probably why they got a really good deal—70 euros per day! Me and my co-workers were expecting the worst upon receiving the booking but we were pleasantly surprised. My room was spacious, the bathroom was well appointed (with a bidet and bath), and the hotel was strategically located in the "expo" area. Hotel staff were very kind and went above and beyond in explaining where I should eat and sight see (thank you, Margarita!).

What I didn't like: the king-sized bed was actually 2 single beds put side-by-side so there is a considerable gap in the middle. I didn't mind except that I have this strange fear of falling in between while asleep. I recommend they place a mattress pillow topper if there is a single occupant to the room or if a couple needs the whole bed to themselves.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed for one night in december

The rooms are very confortable with large beds and all the amenities for a business hotel.

I picked this hotel since it is very close to the airport and main train station.

Staff was friendly and the room service food was also very good.

Very good value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

New hotel in the newest part of Lisbon. Very close to the Oriente mainline station and the Expo development. The Olissippo is clean and comfortable at a very reasonable price and provides a hearty buffet breakfast. Close to the Vasco da Gama shopping centre and lots of eating places on the nearby waterfront. Plenty for everone to do in the area especially children who would love the Sealife Centre and Science Centre, currently showing a great Dinosaur exhibition till July 2013. Very easy access to and from the airport and only around 400 metres from the station to the Olissippo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view . There are no really stunning views but its good to see the waterfro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Olissippo Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olissippo Oriente

Address: Av. D. Joao II, N0 32 | Parque das Nacoes, Lisbon 1990, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#38 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#55 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#57 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olissippo Oriente 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Olissippo Oriente is a modern four-star property located in Lisbon`s former Expo 98 site, which is now known as the Parque das Nações. Accommodation at the hotel comprises 182 rooms, including 14 suites and 1 room specially adapted for handicapped guests. On-site facilities at the Olissippo Oriente include a restaurant, bar, coffee shop with esplanade, wi-fi zones, garage parking and 5 meeting rooms. One major feature is the hotel`s very close proximity to the Lisbon Oceanarium, FIL fairground, Vasco da Gama shopping centre and the city`s new casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Olissippo Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Oriente Hotel
Olissippo Oriente Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Olissippo Oriente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.