We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What do the stars stand for?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Avenida Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Avenida Park Hotel to your Saves list
Avenida Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Sidonio Pais 6, Lisbon 1050-214, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What do the stars stand for?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Arrived early evening to be greeted by an Ygor-like character who immediately thrust some tour brochures at us. Staff, in general, were reasonable but will never win any customer service awards. There had been a problem with the water and we were all greeted to a dirty brown fluid in the sink and bath (the last time I experienced this was in Majorca in 1965) I agree entirely with the earlier comments regarding breakfast...extremely poor! We endured five nights in this place as it was part of a lastminute.com package but would have loved to have been elsewhere. Location for us was fine, Metro and bus routes easily accessible but it was a good 25 - 30 minutes walk into town. However the hotel looked out on to the grottier part of the park.The rooms (we had two, #107 and #108) were very basic but rather smelly especially the bathroom which had the aroma of rotting cabbage. There was the constant sound of running, flushing water throughout the night which frequently disturbed our sleep. In conclusion, avoid at all costs...you can do much better than this!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    59
    52
    18
    7
See reviews for
26
82
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

The hotel is not worth the price at all. We arrived at the hotel around midnight. The reception (one old man) is not very kind. Our quilt is very dirty but the old man insisted that there's no more quilt in the hotel...
Breakfast is rather basic. Search more for a better stay

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fr
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

The bed was comfortable, but the room was a little humid.
Breakfast it's included, the place where you eat it's nice, colorful. But the breakfast itself wasn't great (it's just bread, mermelade, chemical juice).
It's not that close to downtown, you have to walk about 25 minutes to reach downtown.
The personal was nice, except for one man, who was really unkind, specially with women (I don't know why).
I think you can find better places for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

This place was recommended to us and we think we must have screwed up the name in looking for it or something. It was small (which is ok) but dirty. My baby crawls on the floor and his knees were black in no time. I just wasn't impressed at all.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

An absolute disaster. Avoid this residencia.
I have never seen so big difference between the photos and reality and I have never been so disappointed. I booked a double room in this residencia and when I tried to enter the room, I had to stop and think where I should put my luggage. The "double room" measured about 2 x 3 m with a double bed in the middle, with about 35 cm free space around the bed and me and my wife barely entered the room. "Lucky" for us we succeed to close the door after we put first the luggage on the bed. Poor behavior of the personnel, poor breakfast, poor hotel, but high rates. I don't recommend this place in any circumstances.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the bathroo and the breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan,Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

I stayed here for 3 days everything was ok, but I didn't suggest this hotel for a long period because the breakfast is very poor!! Just milk, coffe, cheese, bread (no fuits, yogurt, jam, cakes) But for a short period this hotel is OK

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2008

Located direclty opposite the central park in Lisbon and just 10 minutes walk from the city centre this is a great hotel for tourists and business people a like.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the small breakfast room so guests felt squashed in on-top of each other
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenida Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenida Park Hotel

Address: Avenida Sidonio Pais 6, Lisbon 1050-214, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenida Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avenida Park features air-conditioned rooms and buffet breakfast including coffee, juices and jams in a sunny breakfast room. The hotel is 170 yards from Parque Metro Station. All rooms are simply furnished and feature large windows, some of which feature panoramic views of Parque Eduardo VII. Each soundproof room has air conditioning and satellite TV. Avenida Park's multilingual staff can arrange car rentals and tours to nearby attractions. In-room dining can also be organized. Avenida is a 10 minute walk from Marques de Pombal Square and its trendy shops. Lisbon Airport is a 15 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Avenida Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Avenida Park Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenida Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.