We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aviz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aviz to your Saves list
Hotel Aviz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Duque de Palmela, 32, Lisbon 1250-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A lovely little hotel with fantastic staff and great customer service. We are usually disappointed when arriving at a new hotel for us and without fail need to change rooms for some reason; however this time there was no need - it was clean and quiet. Breakfast was good and the staff quietly efficient. The staff at reception were always smiling and we could find no fault with them or the hotel. Yes it is a walk to get to places and whilst we did not use it the metro is close by. The airport bus drops you off at the main square nr Burger King and it is only a short walk to the hotel. We will stay here again. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmmoita, General Manager at Hotel Aviz, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us, for your great feedback and kind words. It really means a lot for our team and is much appreciated.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in Lisbon and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

During your next trip to Lisbon we strongly suggest a visit to our Restaurant Aviz, proudly considered as one of the top gourmet restaurants in Portugal.

From the heart of Lisbon and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards,


Filipe de Meirelles Moita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    220
    60
    9
    7
See reviews for
89
303
30
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We have just recently returned from our break in Lisbon where we stayed at this hotel and we would just like say how the staff at this place made it a trip to remember.

We were upgraded to a suite as all the twin rooms were occupied - which made it a great start to the week; but irrespective of that it was definitely the atmosphere and the staff which made this such an excellent hoilday.

Every single member of staff, receptionists, restaurant waiters, cleaners, was exemplary in their behaviour towards us. We were made welcome from the moment we checked in; the reception staff in particular were warm, friendly and full of helpful advice and contributed enormously in making this such an excellent holiday break.
Nick & Barbara

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmmoita, General Manager at Hotel Aviz, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at Hotel Aviz.

We endeavour to provide the best possible customer service and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, our restaurant and breakfast buffet and so important, the friendliness of our staff. It fills the staff and myself with great satisfaction and pride.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

From our sunny Lisbon and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards,


Filipe de Meirelles Moita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane ab
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. It is at a great location, very close to the metro. We stayed in a suite , it was a good room by European standards. If you like a firm mattress, this place is for you. It's probably time to loose the tube tv's though.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmmoita, General Manager at Hotel Aviz, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for such your great comment and for staying at Hotel Aviz.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Our location is definately central and ideal for wondering and shopping around.

Almost all rooms are equiped with lcd/led tv, but one day we'll miss our tube tv's :)

From the heart of Lisbon and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards,


Filipe de Meirelles Moita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutaisi, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Positive: Nice, very helpful and friendly staff. Good location and quiet place in the city-center. Although hotel is a little away from the main tourist area (Rossio is 15-20 minutes of walk), metro station is very close. Easy to reach from/to airport. Clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast is good and adequate. Generally positive atmosphere.

Negative: Wi-Fi was not available all time, sometimes you should wait 1 hour before log in. There are not enough tables in the breakfast room and sometimes you need to wait 10-12 minutes

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmmoita, General Manager at Hotel Aviz, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest

First of all thank you very much for staying with us.

I was most pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel, our staff and location. Hotel Aviz is definitely central and ideal for wondering and shopping around.

We provide premium wi-fi access in all the hotel and this situation is not supposed to happen. We have informed the concerned department to verify the situation. Thanks for the comment.

I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Aviz in the very near future.

From the heart of Lisbon and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.


Filipe de Meirelles Moita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have just returned from a 4-day stay in Lisbon in Hotel Aviz. Lovely old world hotel with very helpful staff and very nice breakfast. However, the one criticism we have is the street noise. Our room (503) while being a beautiful room was quite noisy especially in the morning. If I return to Lisbon again I would stay in this hotel but would request either a room at the back of the hotel or else a room on a higher floor. It is very well located close to the main street, bus stop, metro station and about 15 mins by taxi from the airport. Hotel is not cheap - paid 27 euro for two french coffees on our last night!

Room Tip: Either at the back of the hotel or on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is not in the city centre but next to the bus stop and metro station. Twenty minutes walking distance to the city centre.

Reasonable seized room. Tv and dvd. Wifi is working well. Light in the bathroom poor.

Extremely helpfull staff. Breakfast buffet with a wide range of food. Staff very busy to keep everything under controle. Seldomly seen such dedicated staff at breakfast time.

Restaurant for dinner seems to be famous but we did not try it since the place was empty every evening. Luckily there are some reasonable (and reasonable priced) restaurants in the neighbourhood.

Value for money! Lisbon is worth a vist!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This historic hotel has been completely renovated. It is located one block away from Praça Marquês de Pombal, probably one of the most beautiful squares in Lisbon, not very central but close to all amenities. The buffet breakfast is excellent and the staff are extremely kind and thoughtful. We have spent a week in this hotel and definitely it will be our point of call in future visits

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aviz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aviz

Address: Rua Duque de Palmela, 32, Lisbon 1250-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#39 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#41 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#45 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aviz 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aviz is an elegant 4 star hotel, located in a quiet street in the center of Lisbon, next to Avenida da Liberdade and Marques de Pombal, five minutes from Chiado and Baixa. A charming hotel with 70 rooms and suites decorated in a classic and comfortable style, offering a quiet and reserved ambience. The suites have been named in honor of some of the celebrities who visited the Aviz in the past such as Frank Sinatra, Ava Gardner, Maria Callas , Marcello Mastroianni, Charles Boyer, Josephine Baker, Calouste Gulbenkian (who lived 13 years in Aviz), Amalia Rodrigues, the Queen Amelia, Eva Peron, the Duke of Windsor, the Count of Barcelona, ​​King Carol of Romania, among others. Hotel Aviz is 10 Km from Lisbon International Airport and close to the subway station, and also containing excellent public transport links, fast and comfortable. All our guests can make the most of free internet access in all hotel areas. Tradition and prestige to welcome and serve well in the center of Lisbon, now recreated in the modernity of an exclusive environment of class and timeless elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aviz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviz Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aviz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.