We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet boutique hotel with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bairro Alto Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bairro Alto Hotel to your Saves list
Bairro Alto Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca Luis de Camoes 2, Lisbon 1200-243, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #20 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quiet boutique hotel with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed two nights. Staff was wonderful! Breakfast buffet was lovely. The rooftop terrace was the perfect place to relax with a nice glass of wine. Be sure to take the Lisbon Bike tour! So much fun!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Janice M,

Thank you for your tip on the Lisbon Bike Tour...I've done it myself...but after that, on the city of the 7 hills, we all need one nice steak at our Flores Restaurant.

Kind Regards,
Jorge Cosme

General Manager - Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    122
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
50
290
32
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

An excellent choice, could not fault it.
Great location overlooking a small square with metro and #28 tram stops close by.
Staff so very friendly: genuinely helpful and cheery, concerned about your wellbeing and a source of good advice.
Well stocked breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have a small balcony. All have a pillow menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The highlight of the Bairro Alto is the staff. I have never been in a hotel with such wonderful, caring people at the front desk and throughout - bellhops, doorpeople, etc. Reception, which also serves as concierge, was extremely helpful with dinner arrangements, touring recommendations, directions and anything we asked.
Our room was spacious by European standards, small but adequate. It was very well kept up and serviced. The main reception area is quite small. The bar on the top floor has great views of the city and, as a result, is quite busy. Be sure to visit it at least once.
The room includes breakfast. The breakfast room staff are friendly, efficient and hard working. We were very impressed with them and with the quality of the breakfast.
The area around the hotel is full of shops of various kinds, including some very nice ones with great values.
This was our first trip to Lisbon and I would heartily recommend the Bairro Alto.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spend 2 nights in this hotel and really enjoyed it a lot. Very nicely decorated, beautiful and very comfortable rooms. Staff was extremely friendly.
We also really enjoyed the rooftop terrace which is a great place to relax and watch the sun set over Lisbon while enjoying some wine.
Only negative is the small breakfast room, which gets a bit crowded in the morning so that you sometimes have to wait a bit. Staff is however so friendly that in end you don't mind.
Recommended !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Bairro Alto Hotel in August and had a wonderful experience. The staff was very happy to help us find our way to the correct trains and trams to explore the city and walking most places was easy though there are some very steep streets to negotiate! We dined in 3 different restaurants recommended by the front desk, all in walking distance, and thought all 3 were excellent. And most amazing was our quiet room, right across from the plaza, and the scene of a lot of nightlife on weekends. Our only disappointment was the rooftop bar -- we would have enjoyed having cocktails there in the early evening but were never able to find a place to sit. It seemed filled with locals and none of the staff seemed willing to help us as hotel guests.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

In late August, we stayed for four days at the Bairro Alto Hotel. The location was ideal, between Bairro Alto, with its hip food and nightlife, and Chiado, home to high end boutiques, quaint squares and streets ending in beautiful views of the river.
We booked a suite (306) which was spacious, well-designed and featured tall corner windows overlooking Camoes Square. It had a separate sitting room which could be closed off. The bathrooms were well-proportioned, with good water pressure and nice amenities. Aside from the generous dimensions of the suite and its comforts, we were really surprised at how quiet it was: from the bedroom, my wife couldn't hear me taking a shower! A nice touch was a Nespresso machine in the room for our use, with coffee pods replenished daily. Summing up: this was one of the nicest accommodations we have stayed in and we would definitely return and request the same room.
Breakfast featured a very good selection of breads and pastries, hot dishes and real fresh juices and the service was also very good. Caterina, Sara, Ines and their colleagues were attentive and low key. At night the breakfast area becomes their restaurant, Flores, where we dined on our last night. It was one of the best food we had in Lisbon. Service was friendly and professional. Our waiter, Bruno, urged us to try a glass of port with chocolate pralines to end our meal. What a great recommendation.
What really set the Bairro Alto Hotel apart was the staff. Maria Machado, the Guest Relations Mgr, was fantastic. Not only did she give us great recommendations for restaurants and make the reservations, but she didn't think twice about walking with us across the plaza to a kiosk to help us buy the daily pass for the Lisbon tram system. Her colleagues Hugo, Paulo and Carolina were also pleasant and very helpful during our 4 day stay.

Room Tip: The suites are great. High ceilings, 4 big windows, very quiet, corner view. Downside? Only one per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I just spent three days in Lisbon and stayed at the Bairro Alto Hotel. The location is absolutely perfect - you can walk almost anywhere in Lisbon and are in the heart of the Bairro Alto for lively nights out. The rooms were small-ish but well appointed, the breakfast was delicious and plentiful, the staff was very welcoming and helpful (directions, reservations, adapters, generally pleasant and friendly) and the rooftop view is out of this world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bairro Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bairro Alto Hotel

Address: Praca Luis de Camoes 2, Lisbon 1200-243, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#30 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#36 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bairro Alto Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bairro Alto district, the traditional heartland of intellectuals, artists and revolutionaries, Bairro Alto Hotel is Lisbon's first contemporary boutique hotel.Capturing the indomitable spirit of exploration that pervades Lisbon, a city long associated with explorers, traders and settlers, Bairro Alto Hotel both embraces the Portuguese architectural tradition, while respectively turning it on its head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bairro Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bairro Alto Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.