We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bairro Alto Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bairro Alto Hotel to your Saves list
Bairro Alto Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca Luis de Camoes 2, Lisbon 1200-243, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #20 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Location is perfect to explore the city. Decoration is modern and tasteful. Comfort is perfect. Service is incredibly friendly. This is the very rare city hotel in which a 3-day stay feels too short and where we can't recall a single thing that might have been better. (On second thoughts: free wifi would be a plus...)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    121
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
50
289
32
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely 5star hotel that sits in the centre of Lisbon by the shopping areas, restaurants, bars and of easy access of the castle. The rooms are in the smaller side but service is really 5star. Rooftop bar is very cool but can be crowded. Top tip - Book online through broker rather than directly with the hotel to get a better rate.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Having stayed at the Heritage Avenida Liberade last month, I kept comparing this hotel to my stay at the Heritage, which I absolutely loved (and reviewed).

Positives about the Bairro Alto Hotel:
1. Location is fantastic -- Right at the crossroads of Chiado, Bairro Alto and Baixa. You can walk to every place -- even Principe Real, which I highly recommend (though that walk is all uphill).

2. Rooftop terrace has a fantastic view and the drinks/wines are excellent -- though you pay a higher price for being there. It also gets very busy, and hotel guests don't get any preference.

3. Breakfast is included and excellent -- juices, coffee, baked goods, yogurt, cheese, cereals, meats, eggs -- really fantastic!

4. Amenities in the room are great -- from I-Pod docking station to bathroom products.

5. Decor and ambience have a really glam and luxury feel.

6. Staff are very friendly.

Two things that I was particularly disappointed about with this property were:

1. The bed was not comfortable. For the price one pays, they need to have better beds. AND a queen bed is not two single beds joined together!

2. While the staff are really friendly and helpful, as a third-time visitor to Lisbon, I was quite surprised at the limited knowledge about restaurants, independent boutique shops, timings for popular venues and so forth that they had. I found myself often telling them about places I felt they should have known about...some right around the corner from the hotel.

In terms of the type of room I had, it was a Mansard Room, which was perfect as I was by myself. It might be on the small side for two people, unless you don't mind "cosy."

Final word, stay here if you can get an advance booking special or a promotional rate. Otherwise, I don't think it is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is the diamond of the city! In the heart of Lisbon this 5* hotel is close to perfection!
Great atmosphere, one of the world's most beautiful terrace, a bar I wish I could have!
The rooms are small but extremely pretty and there is a great sense attached to details.
Despite being in the heart of the vibrant city the rooms are VERY quiet.

I also HIGHLY recommend the restaurant Flores and particularly the Sardines for starter!

Just go for it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed at the Bairro Alto for 3 nights on a girls trip to Lisbon. The location can't be beat! Right in the heart of shopping and restaurants/bars. And an easy train ride/walking distance to almost everything else. The hotel staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and quick to offer suggestions.

The bar at top is a must. The view is to die for. We sat up there for hours drinking wine and enjoying some light apps. The place is very tiny and open to people not staying at the hotel so you need to get up there before 5ish in order to not have to wait for a table. The first night we were there we couldn't get a table so we ended up walking to a great little wine/tapas bar around the corner called Fabulas, which I would recommend if you find yourself in the same situation.

The breakfast in the morning was great. They had a nice variety and would make you something else if you wanted.

The only issue we had was our shower didn't drain properly so there was a mini bathroom flood on our first night there. They were able to fix it the next day, but it would have been nice had they caught it prior to us arriving as we had to forgo showers that night and the next morning. Also I believe it is a little overpriced for what it is.... but I suppose you are paying for the location more than anything else.

Overall, I would stay here again (if I was feeling rich) and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Kristin C,

The Staff of the Bairro Alto Hotel thanks you for your review. We hope you and your friends will visit us again in a near future.

Thank you for your preference.
Have a great Summer.

Jorge Cosme
General Manager
The Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We thought nothing could exceed our wonderful experiences in Portugal - until we stayed at this hotel. The staff was phenomenal, the room truly a 5 star, the location perfect. We ended our three weeks at this hotel and it was a perfect closing that was memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear NYC - Chicago,

We are all truly happy we have contributed quite positively to those memorable times you passed in your 3 week trip to Portugal!

"Memorable" is indeed a great word we like to see often used by our guests/friends. Thank you.

Jorge Cosme
General Manager
The Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel, but the Terrace bar is superb. Great views over the rooftops and river, very attentive service and good food and cocktails. We went for a salad and a glass of wine and stayed for 4 hours! It's not huge so book if you can (we didn't), or be prepared to wait for one of the tables along the edge. I imagine it's lovely in the evening as well.

My girlfriend said, "this is perfect. Don't tell everyone", so consider this a public service...

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Nick21Brussels,

Greetings from Lisboa!

Thank you so much for your "public service". On behalf of the Bairro Alto Hotel team and specially the Terrace team, I thank you for your very positive remarks. I'm going to make sure they all read your review.

Next time I'm sure you will stay for more than 4 hours and eventually watch the sundown which even for me, being a "local", it is still a great joy and peace of mind to experience.

For other tripadvisor readers: we actually do not accept reservations for that outlet. First come, first served basis.

Have a great summer.
Jorge Cosme
General Manager
The Bairro Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bairro Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bairro Alto Hotel

Address: Praca Luis de Camoes 2, Lisbon 1200-243, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#30 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#36 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bairro Alto Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bairro Alto district, the traditional heartland of intellectuals, artists and revolutionaries, Bairro Alto Hotel is Lisbon's first contemporary boutique hotel.Capturing the indomitable spirit of exploration that pervades Lisbon, a city long associated with explorers, traders and settlers, Bairro Alto Hotel both embraces the Portuguese architectural tradition, while respectively turning it on its head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Bairro Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bairro Alto Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.