We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern side of Lisbon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parque Das Nacoes

Parque Das Nacoes
Av. D Joao II, Lisbon, Portugal (Santa Maria dos Olivais)
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #21 of 217 attractions in Lisbon
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Modern side of Lisbon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Do not miss a visit to this part of town. Hundreds of modern buildings using steel and glass and with a magnificent view over the river Tejo. Easy access by subway. You can walk; make jogging, visiting wonderful thematic gardens, always along the river. There are dozens of restaurants with a great variety of traditional dishes and international cuisine. There is a large shopping center (Vasco da Gama) and a casino. You must visit the railway station near the shopping Centre with a futuristic architecture.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    464
    130
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great daytrip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a real must-see for anyone interested in architecture. It starts with the train station. A fantastic example of Calatrava's work! The park is great for a stroll and makes for great photo opportunities. Don't miss the Pavilhao Portugal. The visual tension in the concrete sheet roof is amazing!
And if you are saturated with architectural splendour or simply overheated you can head for the mega mall.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Only if you have the time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A different perspective after soaking up the history of Lisbon. Built for the ’98 expo I imagine this place was full of people and events. Now, very quiet, some of the restaurants and bars have closed and some of those that were open either had no-one in or very few. Although very nice to wander round the place seemed a bit sad, past its hey-day. If you like shopping then the mall is worth a visit and the cable car is cheap enough to justify a one-way ride.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
132 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Ended up here on the last day of our trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was relatively peaceful here but a dreary weather day. We found out the hard way everyone was using that dreary day to see the Oceanarium. We rode the cable cars round trip and I think we were the only ones we saw on it the whole time. Everything seems like it used to be nice, but a little run down now. The cable cars and oceanarium are here and a lot of places to eat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A place to Relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

if you decide to see the old Expo site i would recommend coming in the afternoon (unless you're coming to see the Oceanarium or to splurge money in the casino). There are two areas: the south one, with the Oceanarium, coffee and ice cream shops, parks and bike renting, great for a afternoon walk to enjoy the sun. And the north one, with the pubs and bars which i recommend for the night.
A great place overall to relax but not a the best one for museum, cathedral and historic sites hunters

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Das Nacoes also viewed

 

Been to Parque Das Nacoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parque Das Nacoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Parque Das Nacoes to your Saves list