We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Americano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Americano to your Saves list
Hotel Americano
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rua 1 de Dezembro, 73 | Rua 1º De Dezembro, 73, Lisbon 1200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 149 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Jarfalla, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Me and my girlfriend were supposed to stay in Hotel Americano 23-27th may. When we finally arrived to the hotel, the girl in the reception said we can't stay there! Because of an water problem, i think! Cause it was not easy to understand her..she was very very unfriendly.
And then she sent us to another hotel 5 minutes from the hotel. So me and my girlfriend took our bags and stuff and walked to the other hotel. When we arrived we could not stay there either.. Worst start ever!
We then walked around to find another hotel. At last we find one.
Hotel Americano, the worst hotel on the planet!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    71
    78
    34
    41
See reviews for
29
97
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Check in was fine although first room we were given still had other people's things in! With that quickly resolved we went to our room. It wasn't the smartest room I've ever been in & the bathroom was quite small but adequate for what we wanted.

Location wise, this place is tremendous, literally 20 seconds from the square, fantastic amenities as in supermarket directly next door & a lovely bakery within spitting distance. The only problem with the supermarket was noise from the delivery in the morning from about 6am onwards although I confess I didn't hear it the first morning due to rather large alcohol intake the night before.

Lisbon is a beautiful place to look around, lovely architecture & quaint little eateries. I'd definitely go back to Lisbon, although we did get offered a variety of drugs on a regular basis but they didn't hassle us once we said no.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijk bij Duurstede, Utrecht, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

After reading numerous bad reviews on Americano Residence, we decided to give it a try anyway because of it's central location in the city. Am happy we did! The location is the hotel's real benefit; lots of interesting places in the centre of Lisbon are on walking distance. If one doesn't feel like strolling around, all means of public transport are to be found close to the hotel. The room we stayed in was a small and simple, but very clean room. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was tiny (not built for heavy weights ;), but also very clean; towels were changed daily. Our room (218) was overlooking a small, at night extremely noisy street screaming people returning from their night out, garbage trucks etc). Unlike what I read in other reviews, "our" windows didn't have double glass, so for light sleepers this may cause some discomfort. The hotel offers a simple (but for us sufficient breakfast); nice, fresh bread, croissants (packaged kind), cakes, butter, slices of cheese, 3 kinds of jam, pineapple & orange juice, coffee & tea. We didn't find it bad, but if one has higher standards: a supermarket is located right below the hotel. I read reviews in which hotel guests are complaining about the presence of beggars and drug addicts near the hotel. There are, but I think that in most cities one will find those in the area around stations (the hotel is located about 3 footsteps from Rossio Railway Station), however I would like to bring up the fact that they aren't standing in front of the hotel, neither have I seen any of them harassing people. Last but not least the hotel staff; the receptionists were friendly and helpful. Staff in breakfast room is not friendly, looking like they just drank a bottle of vinegar and not greeting hotel guests. Anyway, found this a minor issue which could definitely not spoil our stay in the hotel. In short: Lisbon is more than worth a visit and if you're travelling with a tight budget or just don't want to spend a lot on a hotel since you won't be spending much time there, don't expect to get a ****hotel for a **price, Residence Americano is a good choice. We would definitely come back to this hotel on our next visit to Lisbon.

Tip:
- If you let the hotel arrange a taxi for you, make sure you ask for a regular taxi and not a minibus/van! We were travelling with 2 persons and to our suprise, instead of a normal taxi an empty minibus stopped in front of the hotel. We assumed that more passengers would be picked up, but that didn't happen. The taxidriver happily let us pay 21 EUR for a distance of approximately 7 km's, which we found quite a waste of money and left us with an unpleasant feeling of having been fooled.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Firstfull the cab driver could not find the hotel so we took like 20 minutes with the cab driver to look for the hotel as it is not that visible, he asked other cabs and they also did not know. Then we finally arrived at the hotel. Looked very small, lobby tiny. The room that we booked with a double size bed was tiny and i mean "TINY" no space to move around at all and we had twho big luggage bags which could barely fit and we could not open, we hd to just take what we need and close it right away thats how tiny the room was. The washroom even worse...only one person can be in the wahsroom at a time as there is simply not enough room. So we looked at the room furniture is old, my husband lifted the mattress and we found an old slice of pizza under it which was really gross, we told the lady at the desk and she came up to see it and all she did was say sorry. Breaksfast was very cheap all there is is crossants which were not fresh and some bagels. So we just looked and left, didnt even have breakfast went to a cafe instead. After about two nights we couldnt take it anymore and asked to upgrade to a bigger room which was only 10 Euros more a night. They told us its all sold out but when I went on the internet it said theres room available so I had to book it online and then show them its booked and then they finally gave me a room which meant it was available! So we went to the bigger room and what a difference for 10 Euros more! It was 3 times as big as the other one and a big washroom. So better book the bigger room as it is way better and way more comfortable. The best about this hotel was location as it was walking distance for everything, shops, estaurants entertainemnt, tours. I would go back to this hotel but would definetly book the bigger room next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

On first impressions hotel was very worn and shabby looking, the shower looked like it was built for a dwarf and the towels were like sandpaper. But apart from that and the small fee for wifi, I have no other complaints, it was cheap in a very good location minutes from Rossio Square, stafff were very friendly and the bed was very very comfortable. If you're looking for somewhere cheap and you don't spend much time in your hotel room except for sleeping then this is ideal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel 20/11/12 for the Benfica V Celtic CL match...ideal location for the metro or buses..very basic but extremely clean & staff very friendly & accomodating.
Located next to Rossio sq where there are cheap bars n cafes...most shops were closed when we were there due to time of season but still a lot to discover...if you are looking for quality & value then this is yer hotel;-)...also sits on top of a supermarket ( cheap crates of beer )...;-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in November. The hotel is very centrally located, just a short walk to the metro and rail station. There is a supermarket right next door which we used to purchase drinks and snacks, very handy. The room was of average size and clean. As others have commented, the breakfast provided is very basic, coffee, tea, juice, bread, pastry, cereal, cheese and a fruit. Front desk staff all spoke English and were helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Americano

Address: Rua 1 de Dezembro, 73 | Rua 1º De Dezembro, 73, Lisbon 1200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Americano 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 3-minute walk from Rossio Square, the Hotel Americano has soundproof rooms with satellite TV and a private balcony. Most rooms offer panoramic views of the famed Sao Jorge Castle. All rooms have hardwood floors and simple furnishings which include a full-size closet or chest of drawers. Each air-conditioned room has a TV and an armchair in the sitting area. The Hotel Americano's staff can help organize car rentals and arrange tours to nearby locations. Currency exchange and guest laundry services are also available. The Americano Hotel is a 50 seconds walk from Rossio Metro station. Sao Jorge Castle is just under 1 mile away and the Santa Justa Lift is just under half a mile away. The historic Chiado area is less than half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Residence Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Americano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.