We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Americano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Americano to your Saves list
Hotel Americano
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rua 1 de Dezembro, 73 | Rua 1º De Dezembro, 73, Lisbon 1200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 160 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Location is great...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The hotel is located just behind Rossio Square and is very easy to get to just about anywhere.
The airport bus will stop at the square, and the hotel is only one min walk from there.
Terreiro do Paço is a 5 min walk down Rua Augusta and all tourist sight seeing buses run through Rossio.
Some sights in Lisbon may look close on maps, but the hilly landscape makes it hard to walk to some locations. So, this hotel was really conveniently located.
The reception is 24 hours, and the lady gave us our rooms really quickly and she was very friendly.
The corridors and the building itself looked quite grand with it's staircase, however the rooms were somewhat average.
We stayed on the 3rd floor, and the room was small, and the ceiling was slanting to one side. It seemed that the room was part of the attic. It's hard to describe, but basically, we could only stand up in only half the room, as the other half the room was somewhat consumed by the slanting ceiling.
Anyway, our room did not have a toilet/bathroom and we used the shared facilities. The bathroom was very spacious and clean. The shower worked really well. We never had to wait for anyone else, and found the bathroom empty at all times. The toilets were old, but were clean and functional. Again, we did not have to line up to use, and the amenities were always empty.
The cost of the internet is 15 min - 50 cents, 1 hour 2 Euro, or 24 hours for 5 Euro.
I had a morning flight, so I got the hotel to organise a taxi to the airport. the cost to the airport from the hotel was 10 Euro.
The breakfast is very simple and limited. There were bread rolls, croissants, jams, cereal and coffee/tea.
There is a supermarket right next door to the hotel.
I got a great deal for the hotel, and have no complaints. I mean, The hotel is not brilliant, but the location is awesome. Would not hesitate to stay here again, purely on location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    80
    85
    36
    42
See reviews for
32
107
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This hotel seems to have garnered a number of negative reviews, mostly from those looking to pay little but enjoy the benefits of an expensive hotel - that's not real life is it? You get what you pay for...

I visited the Hotel Americano with two friends for a boys city break. We booked a triple room (smoking) with breakfast, for three nights. I wasn't put off by the bad reviews, because:

a) I'm English and expect poor service
b) I'm realistic and don't expect the world when I've paid very little
c) The hotel is well located to experience all parts of Lisbon

I was surprised at how adequate the room was. I expected it to be dirty and horrible, but it was clean, well maintained and actually pleasant. The room was of a decent size, the beds were comfortable enough and the staff, although reserved, helped when asked. Breakfast was meagre and of low quality, but then, you should be out in the city at sunrise enjoying the cafes shouldn't you? I tried breakfast once and decided I was better off elsewhere. The noise outside of our room was moderately loud. It doesn't bother me because I live in a big city and I didn't spend a great deal of time in my room. If noise does bother you, you may be better off staying somewhere rural and travelling in to Lisbon - cities are noisy by nature aren't they? Does the poor breakfast and noise mean I'll review the hotel poorly? NO. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!

The real benefit of this hotel is its location. Right on the Rossio Square, close to the Praça do Comércio, next to metro stations. You couldn't ask for it to be anywhere better really. It's also next to a mini supermarket which I liked, I was able to buy picnic food etc at the start of the day. If you want to explore the city, this is a good starting point.

In summary I would offer some advice:
Stay here if you spend more time on the street than in your bed. Stay here if you're travelling on a tight budget. Stay here if you don't expect five star service from every hotel you visit (Americans - I'm taking to you). Stay here if you like being in the noisy, passionate beating heart of one of Europe's most fantastic cities.

Don't stay here if you want a romantic city break. Don't stay here if you value hotel food highly. Don't stay here if you want luxury. Don't stay here if you don't want to be in the middle of the city.

I'd definitely stay here again, in fact, I may do next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

take it if you are in transit for a night, maybe 2, in lisbon and want to be in the very city center.
hotel is very old. rooms would need some refurbisments.
breakfast is very poor: bad coffee, tea, white bread, croissants, butter and gem. enough one might say, but trust me: bad one !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Location is very good - in the city centre just next to the Rossio square. Subway is close as well as other public transportation. Staff was very helpful, we had no problems. We had a room with common facilities. Both the room and facilities were clean. The only problem was a noise from the street. Even though the window was closed we couldnt sometimes sleep. But it is not a problem of the hotel, but about portugeese people, because they are sometimes very noisy. There is a shop and restaurant next door. There was a breakfast included (nothing special but good). There was WIFI, but you had to pay (5 Euro per day).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My boyfriend and I booked to stay here for three days last week. On arrival we were told that a problem with the bathroom in our room meant there was no room available for us to stay in the hotel- conveniently though, they had a room available in their sister hotel, outside of the city centre. On protesting, we were told if we didn't like it we could stay somewhere else. With only three days in the city we weren't keen to trek about looking for another reasonably priced hotel, so felt like we had little choice but to accept.

On arrival at the other hotel we were told they'd moved us not because of a dodgy bathroom, but because they'd made too many reservations. We were also unable to obtain any kind of discount for the inconvenience as we were always told "the manager will be here in a couple of hours", and discounts could only be given by him.

On day two we were moved back to the hotel we booked, but other than the location it was pretty terrible. The room stank of stale smoke no matter how long we kept the windows open, the shower was dirty and woodlice ridden, the receptionist was rude and the free breakfast was orange squash and long-life croissants.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

My partner and I stayed in the Americano Residence for 10 days in July/August 2011. It is definitely a good choice and value for money regarding the very central but also quiet location in Lisbon within walking distance to most of the city's sights and nightlife spots (except the marina). The hotel is clean and offers basic double rooms (tip: if you're a bit bigger, go for the twin room option since the double beds are not designed for above-average sized people!) which have TV, aircon, safe and en-suite bathroom with shower (again, quite small). Towels are changed daily. Unfortunately, the room didn't have a mini bar/fridge and the hotel doesn't offer a bar however there's a supermarket in the same building and several (cheap) cafés and bars within 1 minute walking distance.
Disappointing was the breakfast - a choice of corn flakes, bread with jam (first strawberry, then apple) and one choice of cheese. Very bad coffee and juice. Breakfast is included in the price but we tended to skip it and go next doors to a local café with a much wider and better choice for c. € 4 per head.
If you are travelling to Lisbon and need a value for money hotel in a very central but quiet location without any fuss, the Americano is certainly a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights, on a break with girlfriends this was not the hotel we booked
they had some issues with the plumbing so we were sent to the Americano instead,
slightly seedy area around the hotel lots of noise at night, crashing of bins and
awful singing from nearby bar until 3.30 am !! very basic room but was clean, breakfast
they may as well not have bothered orange squash, dry bread roll jam or cheese, we ate elsewhere. Location is good as very close to sights, Lisbon is a wonderful city and we had a really great time but do yourselves a favour
spend a bit more money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Americano

Address: Rua 1 de Dezembro, 73 | Rua 1º De Dezembro, 73, Lisbon 1200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Americano 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 3-minute walk from Rossio Square, the Hotel Americano has soundproof rooms with satellite TV and a private balcony. Most rooms offer panoramic views of the famed Sao Jorge Castle. All rooms have hardwood floors and simple furnishings which include a full-size closet or chest of drawers. Each air-conditioned room has a TV and an armchair in the sitting area. The Hotel Americano's staff can help organize car rentals and arrange tours to nearby locations. Currency exchange and guest laundry services are also available. The Americano Hotel is a 50 seconds walk from Rossio Metro station. Sao Jorge Castle is just under 1 mile away and the Santa Justa Lift is just under half a mile away. The historic Chiado area is less than half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Residence Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Americano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.