We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Belem Tower - "Good Bye" Tower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torre de Belem

Torre de Belem
Avenida Brasilia - Belem, Lisbon 1400-038, Portugal
+351 21 362 0034
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$102*
and up
Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and...
Ranked #22 of 184 Attractions in Lisbon
Type: Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas, Monuments/ Statues, Neighborhoods, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A 16th-century tower which serves as a monument to Portugal's Age of Discovery on both land and sea.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
236 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
“The Belem Tower - "Good Bye" Tower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Belem Tower is the place from where most of the well-known expeditions in quest of far-away lands were launched. And, as such it can be called the "Good Bye" Tower and/or the Tower of Tears. The location is right near the confluence of the river and Atlantic ocean.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,762
    3,032
    698
    105
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Belem Tower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great area to walk around in. The Tower itself is very picturesque right on the water front and the area is altogether a nice place to spend a morning. We couldn't go in the Tower as it was being renovated. Don't forget to sample the famous custard tarts from the bakery just across from the Tower. Good way to visit is on the Red or Yellow Bus tours. If you time this right, (we waited until our last day), the 24 hour bus ticket also enables you to ride on the local trams and entitles you to a free ride to the Airport on the Airport Bus all for about 15 Euros.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Go on a Sunday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

On a lovely Sunday in October we went to Belem. It is a great place, vibrant, and full of history. We walked along the promenade to Torre de Belem. On a Sunday many attractions are free including the Torre de Belem. There was a queue but it didn't take long to get inside. The structure is very photogenic both inside and out and it is great way to spend an hour. Traffic lights inside mean only a certain amount of people are in any one area at a given time, so it is never overpacked.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Out of a fairytale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Short stop here to see this wonderful old tower - not to be missed! We didn't go inside as we didn't have time, but the tower itself is so magical, that was enough.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice building, nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We decided to climb all the stairs in the tower, hoping we would enjoy the view. It paid off, climbing the stairs was very exciting for my children (we pretended we were knights:)), we had lots of fun with "traffic lights" - there are traffic light on the stairs, making the traffic one way in order to avoid jams (the staircase is very narrow). The surrounding area is nice as well. There is a little bar near by (where I had the most expensive coffee in Lisbon - but still cheap compared to my home country). Overall I recommend the visit, provided that you have time for it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torre de Belem also viewed

 

Been to Torre de Belem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre de Belem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.