We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belem Tower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torre de Belem

Torre de Belem
Avenida Brasilia, 1400-038, Lisbon 1400-038, Portugal
+351 21 362 0034
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #20 of 223 Attractions in Lisbon
Type: Neighborhoods, Historic Walking Areas, Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A 16th-century tower which serves as a monument to Portugal's Age of Discovery on both land and sea.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Belem Tower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great area to walk around in. The Tower itself is very picturesque right on the water front and the area is altogether a nice place to spend a morning. We couldn't go in the Tower as it was being renovated. Don't forget to sample the famous custard tarts from the bakery just across from the Tower. Good way to visit is on the Red or Yellow Bus tours. If you time this right, (we waited until our last day), the 24 hour bus ticket also enables you to ride on the local trams and entitles you to a free ride to the Airport on the Airport Bus all for about 15 Euros.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,482
    2,753
    629
    96
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Go on a Sunday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

On a lovely Sunday in October we went to Belem. It is a great place, vibrant, and full of history. We walked along the promenade to Torre de Belem. On a Sunday many attractions are free including the Torre de Belem. There was a queue but it didn't take long to get inside. The structure is very photogenic both inside and out and it is great way to spend an hour. Traffic lights inside mean only a certain amount of people are in any one area at a given time, so it is never overpacked.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Out of a fairytale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Short stop here to see this wonderful old tower - not to be missed! We didn't go inside as we didn't have time, but the tower itself is so magical, that was enough.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice building, nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We decided to climb all the stairs in the tower, hoping we would enjoy the view. It paid off, climbing the stairs was very exciting for my children (we pretended we were knights:)), we had lots of fun with "traffic lights" - there are traffic light on the stairs, making the traffic one way in order to avoid jams (the staircase is very narrow). The surrounding area is nice as well. There is a little bar near by (where I had the most expensive coffee in Lisbon - but still cheap compared to my home country). Overall I recommend the visit, provided that you have time for it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Fantastic building in great setting, though we decided not to pay to go inside. Nice walks along riverside to and from village centre

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torre de Belem also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Torre de Belem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre de Belem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.