We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of a fairytale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torre de Belem

Torre de Belem
Avenida Brasilia, 1400-038, Lisbon 1400-038, Portugal
+351 21 362 0034
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #19 of 223 attractions in Lisbon
Type: Neighborhoods, Historic Walking Areas, Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A 16th-century tower which serves as a monument to Portugal's Age of Discovery on both land and sea.
Wales
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Out of a fairytale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Short stop here to see this wonderful old tower - not to be missed! We didn't go inside as we didn't have time, but the tower itself is so magical, that was enough.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,286
    2,602
    576
    88
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice building, nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We decided to climb all the stairs in the tower, hoping we would enjoy the view. It paid off, climbing the stairs was very exciting for my children (we pretended we were knights:)), we had lots of fun with "traffic lights" - there are traffic light on the stairs, making the traffic one way in order to avoid jams (the staircase is very narrow). The surrounding area is nice as well. There is a little bar near by (where I had the most expensive coffee in Lisbon - but still cheap compared to my home country). Overall I recommend the visit, provided that you have time for it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Fantastic building in great setting, though we decided not to pay to go inside. Nice walks along riverside to and from village centre

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Torre is found in the Belem neighbourhood (west Lisbon) and can be reached on the tram, by train or by bus. The tram is the most expensive - so check out the bus. Although the guide books indicated that you could not climb up to the top level - this was not the case - and the view was incredible. The circular staircase is very steep and narrow - so consider this before going to the top. Check out the gargoyles - they are great. There is a fee to go into the bottom level but they did not check for tickets to go up to the top. You can save about 3 Euro a person if you buy a ticket for the monastery in Belem at the same time as the Torre.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
112 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Surrond by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Built in 1515 as a fortress to guard the entrance to Lisbon's harbor,
You can by torre de belem + Mosterio dos jeronimos for 10,00 (best value).
Be prepared for so many steps to see the view upstairs.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torre de Belem also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Torre de Belem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre de Belem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.