We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel, fair price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Princesa Hotel & Tea

Save Saved
You added Princesa Hotel & Tea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Princesa Hotel & Tea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Gomes Freire 130, Lisbon 1150-180, Portugal (Formerly Pensao Residencial Princesa) (Baixa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    82
    63
    29
    12
See reviews for
39
76
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Booked at the 11th hour through lastminute as part of a package and did not expect super luxury. As a crash pad for sightseeing, this place is great. You can walk from airport bus 1, stop marques pombal, although it is a bit of a higgledy piggledy walk through cobled lanes. This hotel is in a pretty but untouristy older part of the city, quiet, unpretentious, and fairly conveniently located. It is a 20 minute downhill walk to the river, but the 19 bus stops right outside and does the trip in five minutes. The 73, which terminates right outside the hotel, takes you to the western terminus of that scenic tram line, no.28.

The welcome at the hotel is very friendly. Okay, rooms are small but perfectly adequate to sleep and rest in. We had two comfortable twin beds, windows that shut properly, heating that worked, clean cotton sheets, a nice clean bathroom - all we needed. Even the breakfast was pretty good for a two star.

It is just one of these cheap hotels from before every place not belonging to a chain pretended to be "boutique". This place does exactly what it says, and i would stay there again any time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This small hotel is only a short bus ride from everything you want to see and do in Lisbon. It is also on the way from the airport to the city center and the xaxi ride was only ablout ten minutes. The rooms are small but functional, the service is friendly. We had to leave early for the airport and the night porter opened up the breakfast room one hour early just for us. Since we only stayed one night there is not so much more to be said.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The room is small, ac does not work, old stained carpet and beaten up chair in the room. and the list goes on and on. I tried to talk to the concierge/front desk about the condition of the room but i was displeased by her response. "We know all of this but the manager does not care why I will care. You tourist will not come back again so why bother?" Service is very poor. Location is very good near to almost everything small compensation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Cramped en stuffy public rooms en hotelrooms. No bar or restaurant. Hotelroom dirty with lots of broken and deteriorated things. Floor hadn't probably seen vacuumcleaner foor ages. Fungus in bathroom. Hot, stuffy. noisy. We asked and got after one night other room, which was the same in shape but a little bit better maintained. Breakfastroom too small but service adequate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

This hotel needs a revamp. It is very run down and dowdy. Having said that the rooms were adequate for what we paid and breakfast was excellent and always fresh. Location was good. You could walk to town in 10- 15 mins as all downhill but had to cab back. Good and regular bus service right outside though.our original rooms were a joke but they were swiftly changed to bigger balcony rooms with a view on complaint. Staff pleasant but communication a bit of a problem with some of them.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed in the Residencial Princesa for 2 nights, in mid February. The accomodation was basic, but we knew this before we went. The room was clean and we were provided with a safe, free of charge. The staff were very helpful in pointing us in the right directions of which bus to get to the areas we wanted to go to and there is also a taxi rank just a few minutes walk away. On the note of taxis I would avoid getting a taxi from the arrivals end of the airport as they charged double what it cost to take us back to the airport when we left.

Overall it is exactly what we paid for. We wanted a good, clean hotel where we could get to the heart of Lisbon with ease and the staff were very helpful in making us welcome.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Princesa Hotel & Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Hotel & Tea

Address: Rua Gomes Freire 130, Lisbon 1150-180, Portugal (Formerly Pensao Residencial Princesa)
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon > Baixa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Princesa Hotel & Tea 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Princesa Hotel & Tea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Princesa Lisbon
Pensao Residencial Princesa Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princesa Hotel & Tea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.