We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful small hotel ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Olissippo Castelo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Olissippo Castelo to your Saves list
Hotel Olissippo Castelo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Costa do Castelo 120, Lisbon 1100-179, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A wonderful small hotel ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

An excellent hotel in a very atmospheric area of Lisbon. The hotel and staff They were all professional, helpful and friendly the breakfast was good . Lovely hotel. Terraced rooms have a great view. Staff is friendly and all speak very good English. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    82
    28
    6
    0
See reviews for
22
134
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Perfectly situated within easy walking distance of Alfama with its winding lanes littered with restaurants and photo-opportunities at every turn. We arrived on June 12 which is Lisbon's craziest night as they celebrate the feast of St Anthony. Because of this, our shuttle from the airport could not drive directly to our hotel. However, the driver parked up and took us on a guided tour through the throngs, chatting all the way about the history of this beautiful place. We couldn't have asked for a better welcome. The reception staff are all very friendly. The breakfasts include delicious Portuguese egg tarts together with a spread of various buffet choices including hot food. We didn't feel rushed and we could completely relax to plan our day ahead. The hotel does not have a restaurant but there are so many amazing places to try in the very near vicinity that it really doesn't need one. The breakfast area becomes a bar in the evenings and we used this area to unwind and discuss the many wonderful experiences of our day. The standard room we had does not have a balcony but we really didn't mind as the room is so spacious and comfortable and even has tea and coffee making facilities. I would certainly go back there and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Although the rooms on the 4th floor don't have a balcony, they benefit from a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel was beautiful. It was right beside the Castle and had a view over Lisbon. Our room was beautiful and reasonable for the price. It was a bit difficult to drive to because of the steep and narrow roads but it had an indoor parking garage if you reserve ahead of time. I would recommend this place and stay there again if I return.

Room Tip: My husband had a scooter for travelling which was too difficult due to the steep and narrow cobblest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Full marks on all aspects of this hotel. Staff welcoming, rooms beautiful, comfortable and luxurious, spacious, great view, only location gets less than full marks because some people wouldn't like it being out of the centre and up a hill. But the plus for this is the view and also the quiet, no question of being woken by traffic noise. We would definitely go back again, and recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed at the hotel one night and it was rather far from Lisbon Centre. VERY strange area with a lot of seasonal workers, beggars etc.... Rooms are really great though - mine was with a huge terrace and astonishing view on the red roofs of Lisbon/
The hotel receptionist recommended me one local restaurant that was rather good - but the way there was rather scary... WIFI in the room did not work so I had to go in the Lobby to get connected.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansville, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

great way to start our journey in Portugal! Wonderfully kind and helpful staff, beautiful large room with great view of the Alfama and castle, very clean with great morning breakfast, and located on nice quiet private street!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejby, Frederiksborg, Denmark
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. Really nice experience. Because of a special occasion for Our visit in Lissabon we where opgraded to suites upon arrival. All the staff where very helpfull. We would like to thank the receptionist Rui. Very good breakfast. The view from the room was outstanding.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Olissippo Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olissippo Castelo

Address: Rua Costa do Castelo 120, Lisbon 1100-179, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#55 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#80 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olissippo Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Lisbon and ideally located aside the walls of St. George Castle, the Olissippo Castelo Hotel affords one of the most impressive panoramic views of Lisbon. The hotel is located in the famous Bairro do Castelo, between the well known Mouraria and Alfama quarters; it is also the perfect starting place to discover the Patron Saints Festivities that take place every June. This very special hotel combines the familiar atmosphere with the most modern technology and above all luxurious facilities and exceptional service together with traditional art of Portuguese hospitality.Over 4 floors (served by 2 lifts), the Olissippo Castelo includes 2 Suites, 2 Suites Jr, 10 Standard Rooms and 10 Superior Rooms, fully equipped with individual air-conditioning, direct dial telephone line, mini bar, satellite TV, personal safe, hairdryer, internet connection and ample wardrobes. Our Bar offers a service of light snacks and drinks, and Room Service until 23:00. The hotel also provides laundry service and Garage for 6 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Olissippo Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissipo Castelo Hotel
Olissipo Castelo Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Olissippo Castelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.