We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the decks and views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memmo Alfama Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Memmo Alfama Hotel to your Saves list
Memmo Alfama Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa das Merceeiras, 27, Lisbon 1100-348, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved the decks and views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Loved our stay at the Memmo Alfama. Great location. Clean room with nice linens. Loved the layered decks and view of water & neighborhood. Enjoyed breakfast in morning and wine & appetizers at night. Friendly service. All of which = Wonderful little hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    41
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
17
148
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and cannot complain about one thing with this hotel. I loved the location which is a little bit out of the center right behind the Lisbon Cathedral. But super quiet and the view with the harbor is excellent. The are is a bit touristy like everything in Lisbon but it has a great atmosphere and buzzing with life after dark, worth a wonder. The staff were really helpful, top class.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Everything from our morning arrival/bags stowed and complimentary espresso to fortify us for our first day touring; to our arrival back at the hotel early that evening and escorted to our fabulous room with several views out the numerous windows, was perfect!!!

The staff courteous and very helpful and warm; the bed and linens topnotch; the bathroom with rain and handheld shower; the breakfasts out on the terrace (we were blessed with amazingly gorgeous weather), the lounge seating on various terraces; coming back late afternoons to relax outside with that view, a drink if we wanted it, then to walk to dinner nearby in Alfama; the quiet; the birdsong. We loved everything about our stay and would love to return to wonderful Lisbon and this very special hotel.

Room Tip: room 33; it's the best view and situation in the property, we think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Just returned from a weekend stay and can't complain about one thing with this hotel.

Alex on reception was wonderful -simply the most chilled man I've ever met. He made us feel immediately relaxed!

The hotel is near San Jorge and the SE so is a little out of city centre but we were just delighted to be. The city is very busy and noisy and the hotel was a quiet haven to go back to in just a 10 min walk.

The hotel decor is simple and stylish throughout. We loved it. Our room. No 1 was quite small but perfect in design. It didn't have a great view but we had only booked the night before leaving so what can you expect! Very comfortable and shower was great.

The hotels location is up a hill but the whole of lisbon is up and down hills so it makes no difference at all! We walked everywhere! Our feet now kill but was worth it! Don't be put off my hill and location slightly on the outskirts of nightlife as it's all so so accessible by foot or other modes of transport.

We just got cabs to and from the airport which were just 15euro so very cheap.

The terrace as other reviews say is simply wonderful and by far the best view we found for drinking during our whole stay.

Staff were very friendly and helpful and restaurant suggestions were bang on! We went to a restaurant called blend and it was fab! Highly recommend. Great Portuguese fusion food with a DJ.

Big note to lady readers... Don't bother with heels or wedges! It's simply too hilly and completely uneven paths.

Loved lisbon, loved this hotel. Book it!

Take comfy shoes!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I don't normally write reviews but just had to for this gem of a hotel. The staff were so helpful and accommodating. We booked a standard room which was small but very well designed and had an amazing view. The food menu is limited but what they do offer is very good! We spent two of our five days in Lisbon in the hotel relaxing and watching the cruise liners come in and out while drinking cocktails before wandering around Alfama in the evening. The views from the pool area were just stunning as was the overall atmosphere. Though we really enjoyed our break in Lisbon if we come back it will be to stay at this hotel!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Most of the previous reviews are accurate but our arrrival was very disappointing. We were told our room would be ready at 3pm so we left and returned at that time. Alex Rodriguez (the man on reception most of the time, with a beard) was unhelpful almost to the point of rudeness and folk who arrived later than us were given rooms prior to us. We would have understood if an apology/explanation was offered. We noticed during our stay that other guests were similarly treated in a rather superior manner by him. It is a beautiful hotel in an amazing location. Service at breakfast is poor and we had to miss our order on the last day after waiting half an hour. All the other staff apart from Alex were kind, helpful and attentive. The room rate is too expensive for the size of the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

a charming, quiet hotel with a lovely view on the river, very nice interior and service, the only problem we had was the lack of storage room in the wonderful rooms. We would choose Memmmo Alfama again for sure for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Memmo Alfama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Alfama Hotel

Address: Travessa das Merceeiras, 27, Lisbon 1100-348, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Alfama Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the most typical district of Lisbon - Alfama - steps away from the Cathedral and the Sao Jorge Castle, memmo Alfama is already considered as one of the best hotels in Lisbon and is the first boutique hotel in the city's historic area, with it's narrow streets, traditional shops and the famous Fado restaurants. Memmo Alfama redefines the standards of hospitality in Lisbon: the authentic and contemporary style, perfectly integrated in the surroundings, the 42 rooms overlooking the river Tagus and Alfama, the special feeling of being at a Portuguese hom and the attentive staff that will make your visit to Lisbon unforgettable. The memmo Alfama Terrace with a service of wine bar and pool on the first floor offers a perfect combination between the authentic Portuguese gastronomy and wines and a sublime vantage point to take in the sights and sounds of the city and the Tagus River. Just minutes away in downtown Lisbon is the emblematic Avenida da Liberdade and the historic centre to the bohemian Bairro Alto and the trendy Chiado. The famous yellow tram "28", also known as the tourists tram stops nearby the hotel and it's the perfect way to discover the most interesting aspects of Lisbon's historical and architectural heritage. This hidden treasure in the heart of one of Lisbon's most picturesque districts has mastered the art of local integration, offering a truly authentic Lisbon experience with unmatched views of Alfama and Tagus River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Memmo Alfama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memmo Alfama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.