We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another hidden pearl” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grapes and Bites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grapes and Bites to your Saves list
Grapes and Bites
Rua do Norte, 83 10 Andar, Lisbon 1200-284, Portugal (Encarnação)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another hidden pearl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We found the place by coincidence walking around the town. And what a pleseant surprise! Together with live music we had a selection of portugeese cheeses and great redwine. They are said to have more than 300 different wines - and they seem to know what they are talking about. Don't come too early! The first evening we came round 22.00 and had a couple of great hours. The second time we came about 18.00 and the staff was not completely ready to serve. But we got our wine and ham (quite expensive, but really good). But there were other customers who got their service after too long time and a couple couldn't wait and left.
But really a pleasant place with good food and wine!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We loved this place so much we went twice! We tried two different cheese plates, two meat plates and watched our server light a fire under our sausage at the side table to cook it!! Best selection of wines in the city! We tried about 5 different kinds, and our server Ruben, was very knowledgeable about what we liked and what would go well with each course. Plus, the best ice cream place is just down the hill for dessert!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stumbled upon this great little bar by accident when searching for somewhere to have a drink before eating. We went on a Saturday night around 9.00 and it was packed. Serves exclusively Portuguese products- we discovered this when we were told (with a smile) that gin was not available as Portugal don't produce it!- but the atmosphere was great with a guitarist playing throughout. wine was reasonably priced too, with a good bottle of Alvarinho at €19.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Note - This review is for the restaurant only!

Well, first off it's open on Sunday; there we were idly roaming around to try and find a decent place to eat and we found this treasure ..........

By no means a swanky restaurant, this is a wine lovers paradise with a huge choice of both Portuguese and foreign wines to enjoy with some light nibbles and 'tapas; style food. The staff were absolutely charming; we were looked after by Alex, who appeared to know intimately every wine on the menu and everybody in the restaurant - we were impressed how the wide range of nationalities were made instantly at home as he greeted and worked with them all in their native language (I certainly heard French, Spanish, English and German being spoken with a fair degree of fluency).

The food was good (but not the main event); the wine was excellent (you can then buy those you like to take away) and of course the live music - absolutely superb! I'm sure this would be a fantastic venue any day of the week, but certainly a great, boozy, cheesy, sausagey (they did also have vegetarian dishes I should point out), way to end the weekend.

Go and enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a casual wine bar with food and music. We were recommended further down the road but returned after the woman at the door kindly offered us a restaurant guide of the city. We were shown to the best seat in the house...a couch with full view of the guitarist, people and wine. We were treated to recommendations for both wine and food after the most amazing waiter choose our wine perfectly. We had the plate to share and requested a dessert and port recommendation. He opened the vintage Port in the traditional way, glass heated, cracked, and top removed. It was very spectacular and the pairing with the chocolate was out of this world. What a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Taste Portugal with a great guide (Alex). Olive oil, cheese, meats and a few other surprises were well matched to a fine selection of wines from sparkling and crisp whites, nice full-bodied reds, and an intro to port wines. Great location and atmosphere...a must do in Lisbon!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Grapes & bites is a great hostel, very well designed.
It's located in Bairro Alto bar erea. Something to take under consideration - noise.
Be sure that sleeping there will put you right in the center where the nightlife happens.
Under the hostel you can find grapes & Bites resturant where you get a discount as well as amazing food!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grapes and Bites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grapes and Bites

Address: Rua do Norte, 83 10 Andar, Lisbon 1200-284, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon > Encarnação
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grapes & Bites - Hostel & Wines is a thematic hostel entirelydedicated to the delicious portuguese wine and where our guests may expectcomfort and personalized attention. At The Grapes & Bites - Hostel andWine you will find a wide and very complete wine list, including Ports andSparkling Wines, with seductive prices and a service to match ourreputation! For a full service, we also offer our guests nice trips tovineyards and cellars around Lisbon area.The GB – Hostel & Wines is located in Bairro Alto, a perfect location inthe center of Lisbon.The ideal place for those seeking a low budget accommodation and afabulous wine experience, with local traditions and good facilities.Great atmosphere and really helpful and nice staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grapes and Bites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapes and Bites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.