We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant standard of accommodation and location was superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine to your Saves list
Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine
Rua Sao Juliao 23, Lisbon 1100-524, Portugal (Baixa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant standard of accommodation and location was superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at Casas da Baixa in the November for a city weekend trip to Lisbon. Of all the hotels and apartment's I have stayed in Europe I ranked this apartment as one of the best. The location was superb, just a stones throw from the waters edge and the old town where the best shops and restaurants are located. Also just down the road from one of Tram 28's route. The standard of accommodation was superb, lovely bright and clean spacious rooms, wifi in the rooms, just a very well kitted out apartment. We had a Nespresso machine in our kitchen.
Easy access to the apartment with out needing a key!
The host Mariana went beyond our expectations for a friendly service and was so helpful during our stay. Thank you again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

There was no frustration in principal except there was no drawer in the room. Staff was friendly and kind, the room was clean and the access to the historical places is very good. There are a lot of the restaurants and also the shops (including supermarket) around the apartment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at a comfortable, clean and modern apartment. The location also is very convenient to discover Lisbon. Finally, communication with the Customer Service Manager was really easy and practical.
We recommend this accomodation. Prices are good for the flat quality and the services offered by the Customer Service Manager, always available, even on Christmas Day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent à Three days stay in this casas baixa ressort That is located in center of lisboa,close to shopping and central train stations. . Nicely décored. with modern facilities . Équipes with wifi (for kitds )We were advised by a very Nice hostess. Merci. X.m. L

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doral, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We pulled into Lisbon for a port call a few months ago and as the title states you can probably expect that we were a bit over the top. Hands down one of the best "home away from home" I've ever been to. The concierge was very courteous and accommodating. My party and i shared a 2 bedroom ( with futon in the living room) apartment with a stunning view of the inner city. Location was top notch. This off the wall little tavern was right next door which made for a great time! Upon checking in we were a bit lost since there was no front desk, but that's nothing to knock off points for. If anything it made us feel more at home. I love love LOVE the room locks. High tech and nifty. Honestly we were in the center of everything so there was no need for transportation. To add to the true nature of how dutiful our attendant was, she helped us out with our sick friend so A++++ in my book. A total sweet heart, really. The rooms were gorgeous. I had the master bedroom with the personal bath. and a HUGE closet. >.> A woman can never have enough closet space, even if it is for a day! Now when i say that bed was comfortable..... *shakes head* after sleepin in a rack for umteen months you really learn how to appreciate the simpler (and finer) things in life. All in all wonderful place to stay. I'll recommend this lovely abode to anyone who asks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at this place, apt 2D. It was one of the best accommodation this trip. The check in was easy, the manager is very friendly and helpful. Apartment is spacious, equipped with pretty much anything you need. The service is off a hotel service, the housekeeper comes in everyday to clean. It is also conveniently located, walking distance to the metro and tram stations. Very close to Chiado, the shopping district. I will definitely come back here when I come back to Lisbon. I would recommend this apartment to anyone with no hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We loved our one week stay at Casas da Baixa! The superior one bedroom apartment was very nice and clean. Just around the corner there is a good bakery/coffee house.The central location is great! Also the light is amazing in this city. If we had questions we were just one e-mail or phone call away from the owners. They were really friendly, always answered our questions and did make our vacation pleasant. You must taste the fresh fish in the Portuguese restaurants and listen to the Fado music in the typical bars. We recommend you also a 1 or 2 day visit of Sintra (30km away by train).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine

Address: Rua Sao Juliao 23, Lisbon 1100-524, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a renovated 18th-century building set in the historic centre of Lisbon downtown, Casas da Baixa offers self-catering apartments between Comércio and Rossio Square. All feature free WiFi.Decorated with pastel shades mixed with decorative pieces is bold colours, the apartments at Jules & Madeleine are elegant. All apartments include a living room with a double sofa-bed and a flat-screen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casas da Baixa - Jules & Madeleine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.