We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Igreja de Sao Domingos ( Santa Justa e Rufina )

Igreja de Sao Domingos ( Santa Justa e Rufina )
Largo Sao Domingos, Lisbon 1150-320, Portugal
+351 21 342 8275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 184 Attractions in Lisbon
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The highlights of Lisbon was certainly some of their lovely churches. We visited about 6 including the St Anthony church and museum.
They were all free except for Belem where the fee is included in the museum entry fee; again use the Lisbon Card, good value at E39.00 each; sounds a lot but it is worth every cent when most entry fees are not cheap plus you can use it to ride the trams and metro but not the harbour boats.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    57
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at a hotel near this church and decided to stop by for Sunday mass. What an incredible place! I looks like it has been around for a thousand years. Tall ceilings, huge column, bright windows. It was the most impressive church that we visited in our entire trip to Portugal (and trust me, Portugal has some impressive churches). Definitely worth a visit!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Witness Renovation in Progress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The best part of a visit to this "not on the tourist list" church is the opportunity to see first-hand just what goes into full restoration of an ancient cathedral. The ceiling and some of the walls have the foundation paint in place while much of the interior is still badly deteriorated. You can see the striking difference and only imagine the beauty of the finished product many years from now.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Stark contrast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a surprise when we walked into this church. It looked like it had been through a war. The walls and columns were dark, dirty and disintegrating. It was fascinating to see the stark contrast of the old and new. They are starting to restore the church starting with the ceiling. Many of the alcoves which probably hosted a statue or painting are empty. It is like someone came in and pillaged everything that had any value. Interesting alter which is dark and crumbling with a newly gold ormolu alter table and pulpit. It was sad to see the destruction of probably once a beautiful church.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queluz portugal
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“a burnt church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

this historic church suffered a lot, being reconstructed after the earthquake of 1755 it suffered a horrible fire in the early sixties. It remains as it was since that time, you see see what the flames did to such a beutiful church. I suggest you to see pictures as it was before and compare it to as it is now. I saw it before, I do there very often to see it again. For me its thrilling and vey emotionate. Remain in silence... and hear the voice of God.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Igreja de Sao Domingos ( Santa Justa e Rufina ) also viewed

 

Been to Igreja de Sao Domingos ( Santa Justa e Rufina )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Igreja de Sao Domingos ( Santa Justa e Rufina ), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.