We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, food not as good as...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Engenheiro Duarte Pacheco 15, Lisbon 1070-100, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EPIC ROMANCE
Ranked #8 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, food not as good as...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was therefor 4 dd, business trip.
1) excellent English speaking staff
2) gorgeous room and entertainment
3) nice sall swimming pool and gym (clean!!!)
4) just 20 min by taxi to the airport
5) the food is not as good, try somwhere else (room service and buffet was not at 5 * level)
6) conference facilities are excellent, but the staff is not very knowledgeable about them!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea - view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    130
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
74
323
18
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed at the Epic Sana for a work conference at the beginning of November. The conference was held in the large meeting rooms in one of the subterranean levels. The room was very good for our purposes but due to temporary partition wall sometimes noise from the other conference going on next door would seep through.

The food & drinks provided during the conference breaks and lunch were very good and of a high standard. Also the service staff were attentive to providing alternatives to tea and coffee.

The room I stayed in on the 9th floor was well appointed and had electronic everything. It would have benefitted from a small user guide as to which buttons did what as it did take a little while to work out how to shut the bathroom blinds and lights, curtains etc. Also noting that the room had bluetooth audio to listen to stream music from my phone was a nice touch. Sadly mine would drop out every now and again but that is fine.
It was a shame that the rooftop pool and bar was not open during my stay even though the weather was suitable but the basement gym, spa and pool was well equipped. I only used the pool each morning but was undisturbed in the morning. Not sure what it will be like later in the day.
I ate at the restaurant one of the evenings I stayed there and the fish dish I had was excellent if a little pricey.
Others have commented on the bar staff and I can concur that this was the only part of the overall experience that wasn't 5 star. Generally this was due to the abrupt native in how one was treated. I am not sure that the bar design is ideally suited for the area and perhaps is better in the summer when the three outside bars are running in the outside courtyard or on the roof.

Overall a very good hotel and one I would use again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a lovely stay in Epic Sana Lisboa. The hotel opend early in 2013 and everything is new and very modern.
We stayed for 2 nights on our honeymoon and had a lovely surpised, bottle of sparkling & yummy chocolate strawberries!
Breakfast is awesome, loved the choice and quality of the food. We also had dinner at hotel restaurant and again, we can only highly recommend it!
The swimming pool and spa is spotless and so relaxing after a day wondering around Lisbon.
We would go back without a doubt!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel three times in the last three weeks, and it was outstanding. It is very new - so the team there are obviously working through a few rough edges. In my first visit, I had a couple of fairly serious problems on my first night, and I expressed my dissatisfaction the management the next morning. Within a couple of hours, they'd phoned me to apologise, and upgraded me to a new room. Sometimes things go wrong - what matters is what you do to fix them. Prefect service.

The next two visits were very good, and I ate at the Flor-de-lis restaurant for dinner. It wasn't busy, which is a shame because there is a really fabulous chef there, cooking great food, and top notch service. I really recommend it.

The only warning I'd give, and recommendation to the hotel, is that they need to up their service game at breakfast. The service can't cope at busy times, and it is way below the level it should be. This is the only thing that loses the hotel a 5/5 rating.

But overall this is an exceptional hotel if you're staying for business or pleasure in Lisbon, and you want something modern and up to the minute.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont-de-pertuis, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were in a lot of 5 stars hotels, but this was the best ever ! The personel is so friendly and helpfull, very well organised. Rooms lovely, everything was there and working ! The television was in the mirror, nespresso machine with the cafe for free. Lovely spa and big swimmingpool also everthing included in the price. We defenitely go back !

Room Tip: All rooms are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The standard of service during our stay at the Epic Sana was excellent. The staff are, without exception, extremely helpful, professional and pleasant, somehow managing to be friendly and polite at the same time.

Our room was stylish, modern and nicely designed. The bed was firm to hard. Anybody used to beds in US hotels might find these beds a bit too hard. On the other hand this wasn't particularly hard compared to other hotels we stayed at in Portugal.

We ate in the bar twice. The food was the best bar food I've had, but it was also the most expensive. The bar was almost deserted. I'd have to say that the background music wasn't particularly appropriate, and didn't do anything for the atmosphere. The breakfast was excellent.

The room rate was 130 euros including breakfast which seems to me very reasonable for a hotel of this standard.

I'm not sure what's missing. I'd have liked a slightly softer bed. I'd also have liked a less formal atmosphere in the bar, and slightly more affordable food and drink. Having said that, I'd certainly be happy to go back.

Room Tip: Didn't try the North side, but there are certainly no problems with traffic noise on the South s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Recently stayed here for three weeks (yes 3 weeks!) on business and got a really good insight into the hotel.

A clean, modern and bright hotel with lot's going for it... but it's very new and as such there's a lot going wrong too!

Breakfast is OK... good selection, but on busy mornings, things run out fast and are replenished slowly. The knives and forks are style over utility... impossible to cut anything with!!

Rooms are modern and have some really techie things in them... moving blinds and shutters, surround sound.. but in the three rooms I stayed in.. something went wrong... blinds wouldn't close... sound on the TV wouldn't work...etc... and it's only been open a few months!

Very well staffed at the front desk, and all seem friendly and competent... There were some minor problems with receiving mail and missing items from my room (over zealous housemaid?!) and the final bill was paid to the wrong credit card (even though I told them exactly which one to use!), and charging us for parking when it was included (which is bloody expensive!). Bar staff however are a little rude.. and seem annoyed to be working there! Maybe it's the OVERPRICED drinks and food that they're embarrassed to be serving?! Way too pricey for what the bar is.

The rooftop bar and pool is lovely.. but closed from September on wards - so don't expect to be able to access it through Autumn and winter (Sep to April?!!!). I thought this was really crazy... one day, it was 25 degrees outside (Celsius) and the pool and bar were closed... CRAZY!

Again, the Restaurant, Flor De Lis was good, but overpriced and nothing to write home about. Service was OK.

So all in all, it was a good hotel, definitely needs refining and maybe some consideration about the costing in the bars and opening of the roof area on sunny days? Get rid of those awful knives and forks, and retrain the bar staff.... So really I guess what I'm saying is that the hotel is overpriced for what it is and compared to others in Lisbon, needs work.

The elevators are great though... whoooosh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel

Address: Av. Engenheiro Duarte Pacheco 15, Lisbon 1070-100, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a prime strategic location in Lisbon, in Amoreiras, a short distance from Marquês de Pombal and Avenida da Liberdade, the EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel offers 311 bedrooms of various types. The comfort of its rooms and a service which is personalised down to the last detail make this Hotel the ideal place to stay when visiting the capital, whether on business or on holiday. The hotel facilities include 2 restaurants with different concepts: the Scale Lobby Bar and, on top of the Hotel, the Up Scale Bar with its infinity pool crown the EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel. For meetings and events the EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel has 1760 m2 divided into 13 meeting rooms that are able to host events of up to 1300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Escapio, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.