We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An epic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel to your Saves list
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Engenheiro Duarte Pacheco 15, Lisbon 1070-100, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EPIC ROMANCE
Ranked #8 of 225 Hotels in Lisbon
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An epic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed five nights with my partner in this brand-new five star hotel with a very cool design both in rooms and in public spaces. Breakfast was splendid and the staff very attentive and friendly. The rooftop pool area with a bar is excellent. The gym is way above average hotel gyms and the spa area with indoor pool and saunas is also very nice, calm and stylish.

Room had very nice interior design with attention paid for lightning and other details, and a great amount of storing space for clothes and other things - it was even possible to get empty suitcases out of sight in the wardrobes. The only thing (so popular nowadays in hotel room design) I disagreed with was the half-transparent toilet door.

Hotel was located in a business district and I disagree with some other reviews concerning the location. I found the location pretty good. The closest metro station was hardly further than 5-7 minutes away and we also walked to the center and back several times. At least this location was good for two sporty guys who like to walk, maybe not for the elderly. Taxis are very cheap and reliable in Portugal though so even then I think it would be ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    126
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
73
311
18
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat HaSharon, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Excellent 5* hotel, large elegant rooms, view to the river or city, delicious breakfast, attentive staff, best gim & spa, indoor, outdoor pools. Modern architecture, large public areas, comfortable lobby and excellent service in all hotel areas, including breakfast restaurant. Overall - Best city hotel to stay while in Lisbon

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Overall everything fine

+ brand new hotel
+ nice room
+ nice service people
+ after "escalation" got quickly a new room because of noise (see below)
+ Spa
+ Gym
+ Rooftop Pool and Bar
+ small mall next to the hotel

- window defective
- no reaction to our call that the window is very noisy (very windy outside)
- second call 10 minutes later, still no reaction, but again "We immediately will have a look"
- only after I got back into clothes and went to the counter someone came with me
- expensive breakfast (better book without and take the continental breakfast)
- craftsman worked on our floor in the morning and we woke up because of this (after telling this to the counter person they stopped te morning work)
- metro station means a 10-15 minutes walk

Room Tip: Take a room at the backside (direction lake) and NOT to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 5 night stay. Hard to find fault.. friendly staff. located at top of hill.. we had a small baby that we had to push up and down the hill... However not something that would put me off choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very fresh, just a few months old, hotel with great breakfast buffet. The rooms are not large but has just what you need and the shower is wonderful (when you have accepted that it has a glass wall to the bed). You are greated with a treat of chocolates, and get a new praline each night :-) The Spa is quiet and staff very helpful. We also tried the roomservice and food was good enough and staff very serviceminded. Only negative is that they lack irons and that check out took a long time, probably due to the malfunctioning cardreaders.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This a brand new 5* hotel in Lisbon which has opened to compete with the Four Seasons which is literally just over the road.

Having stayed there it was hard to see why they built these hotels in such a quiet area of Lisbon. I guess their analogy was that rich people don't like to walk!

We originally booked in at another Sana hotel just down the road but when we arrived we were told they had let our rooms go to someone else and upgraded us...we had mixed feelings about this. But they did kindly pay for a taxi to get us to the new hotel which was just around the corner - the Epic Sana Lisboa.

Everything about this hotel was 'epic', including the hill which you must get up before you arrive, thank god they paid for our taxi. Then your arrive in reception and it has all the hallmarks of American hotels - spacious & marble floors, but this one had a chic styling which I guess was true to their Epic brand.

The hotel's rooms were truly incredible; stylish, chic and luxurious. Room decor is modern, minimal and very inoffensive. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in in my life although my partner was about 1/2 a km away from me on the other side! Slight exaggeration.

The hotel put a welcome message on the screen which is behind mirrored glass so completely disappears and turns into a mirror when the TV is off...it was very cool.

The shower had different heads and modes like a spa.

The only thing that the room lacked was a decent view....which comes back to location.

We ate in the hotel's restaurant and this proved to be an expensive affair. However the food is 1* Michelin standard and truly amazing. The restaurant lacked atmosphere due to the fact we were the only people in their bar 2 other parties. The staff were very friendly and despite paying through the nose it was a lovely experience.

We also checked out the hotel's spa which was in the basement. It is beautiful, again no expense spared on look, clean, spacious and fully equipped. The gym had a fair amount of kit in too.

I would defiantly recommend this hotel for a luxury business stop over and despite having a rooftop pool / bar it is not somewhere I would go on holiday by any stretch. You can't really walk anywhere and the hill you would have to climb to get back would give you a heart attack if you weren't fit enough...

Overall, a pleasant & appeasing stay which I will not forget.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We'd had a fantastic time travelling up and down the west coast and I wanted to treat my fiancée to a special last night. After much research I came up with this place as it reminded me of a place we stayed in opposite the Guggenheim in Bilbao.

Another fantastic experience in terms of being looked after as if you're the only guest, exactly as it should always be.

Despite arriving early, the concierge was able to acknowledge my request for a "special" room by finding one with a river view and allowing us to check in early. The only real negative is that the views aren't great as there's an odd housing estate building bang opposite the rear. We didn't spend much time looking out of the windows though so it wasn't an issue!

It was a very comfortable room, huge bed with very good pillows, all the gadgets your could ask for and a bath big enough for two to lie side-by-side.

The roof-top pool was fantastic and the day beds were extremely comfortable. The breakfast was also fantastic and generous with every taste catered for.

They really surpassed themselves when I asked for a late checkout (our flight was at 8pm) and they allowed us to keep the room until 5pm! Now that is super service and extremely kind of the concierge on duty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors for a more commanding view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel

Address: Av. Engenheiro Duarte Pacheco 15, Lisbon 1070-100, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 225 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a prime strategic location in Lisbon, in Amoreiras, a short distance from Marquês de Pombal and Avenida da Liberdade, the EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel offers 311 bedrooms of various types. The comfort of its rooms and a service which is personalised down to the last detail make this Hotel the ideal place to stay when visiting the capital, whether on business or on holiday. The hotel facilities include 2 restaurants with different concepts: the Scale Lobby Bar and, on top of the Hotel, the Up Scale Bar with its infinity pool crown the EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel. For meetings and events the EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel has 1760 m2 divided into 13 meeting rooms that are able to host events of up to 1300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Prestigia, Hotel.de, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.