We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, shambolic service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Carmo

Restaurante Carmo
Largo do Carmo, 11, Lisbon 1200-092, Portugal
213460088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 2,363 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Um espaco novo e unico no Largo do Carmo onde pode saborear os petiscos da nossa culinaria num ambiente unico e requintado.The new restaurant in Largo do Carmo, beautifully decorated, where you can sample and taste the of the Portuguese traditional cuisine.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, shambolic service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A disappointingly long wait for us (and the couple on the table behind) and not all our tapas order was delivered. The food was very good. Delicious croquetas and rice, good gambas and chorizo. Cannot comment on the cod as it never arrived. A pleasant atmosphere and good food let down by a disorganised staff (probably because the proprietor appears to think that he should only delegate rather than actually do anything.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    99
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant In Lisbon. Hands Down.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I stumbled into Carmo quite by accident and it was a lucky break indeed. The food was so delicious that I wanted to do a celebratory dance!

Technically, the menu is tapas, but the portions are large enough to be a meal. For four people, we ordered 5 plates and could not finish it all. Highlights were the bacalao and the steak dish (pico payo?) and the desserts! OMG, that chocolate cake. And let me not forget the vino!

Excellent pricing, about $25€ per person and this is wine, meal, and dessert. Such an elegant dining room, yet comfortable. In other words PERFECT.

If you can, request Pedro, the head waiter. He will take good care of you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We saw this place when heading to Restaurant Sacramento (put that one on your list) and we came back a couple of days later. Great place with really good food. There were four of us and we started with four dishes, which seemed to be on the small side but when we ordered 3 more we struggled to finish. Really nice ambiente and great quality food. Good cocktails to start with and good advice on wines which were all available by glass or bottle, which is a huge advantage if you want to try out some nice Portugese wines. All of the food was good and don't miss the wonderful ham which is cut off from the trolley.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, perfect food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a very nice lunch in this restaurant after visiting Convento do Carmo on the same square. The restaurant looks quite "fancy" and we usually prefer places that are more simple, but the menu sounded so interesting and not too expensive at all. I had traditional cod fish balls with rice, absolutely super! The house wine was much better than average. My daughter liked her vegetarian lasagne very much. We paid 58 euros for a great lunch for four people.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My friend and I were so pleased to come accross this restaurant after having struggled to find a restaurant spending ages walking through Alfama, then Baixo districts until we finally got to the lovely Praca do Carmo. The food here is exquisite - a real feast for the senses; the food is unforgettable; a real taste of traditional Portuguese food that you "petiscar" (share, like tapas). The ambience was so enjoyable, and the waiters/waitresses were so friendly and generally enhanced our overall experience in Lisbon! DO have at least one dessert from the extremely tempting desserts trolley. We went here three nights in a row for fear we'd have a disappointing experience going anywhere else!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Carmo also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Carmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.