We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great birthday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bar Restaurante Duetos da Se

Cafe Bar Restaurante Duetos da Se
Travessa do Almargem, 1 B | Alfama, Lisbon 1100-019 Lisboa, Portugal
218850041
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 2,360 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $6 - $43
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Um espaco onde a arte e gastronomia se encontram. Visite-nos e venha descobrir este novo conceito numa zona tradicionalmente Lisboeta.Fecha as Quartas-Feiras/ Close Wednesday
London, United Kingdom
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a great birthday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We went to Duetos Da Se with my husband for my birthday dinner..Probably it was the best birthday dinner I had..The staff was very friendly and helpful;the food was excellent and the best part -the live music was amazing-. We had no idea that it was a concert night. By chance it was a Bossa Nova night, my favourite music..So imagine the joy I had.
If I go to Lisbon again, I would definitely have a dinner in Duetos Da Se.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    36
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garrett Park, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fado in Lisbon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Duetos da Se is a great place to see live Fado close up - very intimiate and the food is great. Located near the old Cathedral (the "Se" in the name) and on a narrow back street - very cool, very Lisbon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place with fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We loved our meal here. The atmosphere was friendly, welcoming and relaxed. we enjoyed the fantastic service with a good sense of humour.
The food was amazing. I had delicious monkfish and then a really unusual dessert - a fruit stick with crime brûlée on top. Yummy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The dessert that will rock you off your socks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hidden gem of a place. In a dark alleyway behind the Jose Saramago Foundation, in the heart of Alfama, Lisbon's old Moorish districts. Boasting a respectful coach house architecture that has become a staple of so many restaurants in the historic districts of the city, you nonetheless feel like the stones still share the life being lived around them. The team is warm and friendly, the musical programming is eccletic and the food is simply divine - take your pick, anything off the menu will be worth your time. And if (like me) you're not into dessert, let them convince you otherwise and accept the deconstructed pastel de nata (the famous Portuguese cream custards). By then you have probably had the real thing in the West End, but nothing prepares you for the amazing taste of custard and cinammon icecream that morph into the pastel right inside your mouth. Probably the best dessert I have ever tasted in my life. Ever.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Best bar/restaurant in Alfama. Cheap too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is one of the best bars/restaurants in Lisbon, definitely the best in Alfama. First of all: is very clean (which is a miracle in Alfama-great toilettes too). Second: the owner (who speaks English and Spanish) is adorable and the service is top notch. The place looks awfully chic and bohemian/jazz but the atmosphere is very relaxed (no dresscode at all). Music is old jazz :) Food is delicious. The hot bread and the cheese sauce are great, steak is fantastic (those chips...for 10euros!), sandwiches are nice, hamburger very good, cocktails are REALLY good, Mulled wine is the best outside Czech republic. Dessert: try the tarte de nata (custard cream tart) with cinnamon ice cream: divine. best dessert in Lisbon after the chocolate cake at cruzes (right behind the corner). They also have live music (good music, jazz); wi-fi that works well; brunch on sundays (under 10euros). All ingredients are of high quality. love that place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bar Restaurante Duetos da Se also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Cafe Bar Restaurante Duetos da Se? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bar Restaurante Duetos da Se, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.