We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just eaten here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Japones Dao

Restaurante Japones Dao
Rua Da Palma 245 | Lisboa, Lisbon 110-391, Portugal
967626808
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,574 of 2,360 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just eaten here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here twice now during our week in Lisbon. First time was great. Service was great, food was great. Tonight was also great except for the slightly poor service and the waiter who on the first visit was super friendly, on this occasion aappeared to be in a bit of a mood and told us that he 'thinks we are done now' after we ordered our last plate. We didn't eat that much but I think they don't want people hanging around too much despite us buying two bottles of wine and two soft drinks between the 2 of us. I would definitely recommend this restaurant as the food was very good despite a couple of dishes (the hot dishes) being a little salty. Very cheap with good wine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
southern
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quick lunch and very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We popped in for a quick lunch here as we both liked Japanese food. We were a bit apprehensive when we seen the buffet was €6.90 each. We were surprised how good the sashimi and sushi was. I would recommend the combination served on a boat and also the tonkatsu. Staff are also friendly and attentive

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“All you can eat sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just wandered in here because it was near our hotel. It's ok, and very cheap - order anything/everything for €9.95! But it's only average sushi and not that exciting. There are other similar set price sushi restaurants that do it much better.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheap and badly prepared”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We entered the restaurant hoping for a good meal at a reasonable price. We found the cheap price but the meal was really badly prepared. Especially the japanese dishes. Rice is overloaded of rice vinegar, nigiris are irregularily shaped and fish is very little compared to rice. Sashimi pieces smelled old (we sent it back) and makis had almost no fish. All the fish was badly cutted and not soft as it should have been. Dishes looked like they were prepared from quite a while. Chinese springrolls were the frozen ones you can easily find in a supermarket. My partner felt sick after this meal

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rare in Lisbon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Despite the location, it is a nice sushi restaurant and the staff is really friendly. For those who search for low cost sushi this one worth the price. Drinks are pretty cheap comparing with other places.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Japones Dao also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Restaurante Japones Dao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Japones Dao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.