We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice spot for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caso Serio

Caso Serio
Rua Cruzes da Se 5 | Travessa do Almargem 3, Lisbon 1100-192, Portugal
+351 21 888 1050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #238 of 2,358 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cafe/Winebar, com vinhos e petiscos tipicamente portugueses
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My partner and i had lunch here today & it was very nice. The food was enjoyable and fresh, not spectacular but well priced & tasty. The tabouleh salad was lovely! We sat outside which is a nice spot for people watching.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    59
    19
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We enjoyed this place a lot, the location is just perfect, it's great to enjoy some wine and get something small to eat. We only tried the baked goat cheese with a bottle od vinho verde, and both were awesome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“seriously overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is one of the most expensive places in Alfama. A grilled sandwich is over 5euros: thin bread, almost nothing inside (especially if the girl makes it). Place is nice but full of hippies and hipsters (like Pois Cafe without the families). They have only 2 types of tea (how hard is to have a small selection: not everybody likes to drink wine at 3 in the afternoon). Service is a bit off: the young guys are always working but the girl/girls (still haven't figured out how many they are) workin there are quite annoying. I think they would rather sit around doing nothing all day because when you try to get their attention, they seem very annoyed and without even looking at you they tell one of the male waiters to attend you. Definitely don't like that attitude: maybe they don't need to work for a living.
Anyways. A pretty tourist trap.Wi-fi signal is terrible, btw (the place is basically in a cave).
Nice thing is that is opened until 2 in the morning. I was told the muffins are very good and the selection of wine is good. I cannot stand the people working there and the very expensive sandwich with 3 pieces of mozzarella inside (yes, I counted them), tho-sorry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarfalla, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth a visit or two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice ambiance, friendly personel and great food. Loved the goat cheese and the alheira with pears in wine. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to a friend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

from everything that you expect in atraditional rstaurant. The food was below the experince. Nice place witha good service with a smile. touristic place in a touristic area. I will repeat but not because the food

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caso Serio also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Caso Serio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caso Serio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.