We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Male the trip to Belem - it's worth it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Descobre

Descobre
Rua Bartolomeu Dias 65/69, Lisbon, Portugal
+351 218 056 461
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 2,193 restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Drogheda, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Male the trip to Belem - it's worth it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a really innovative and special restaurant. If you love seafood, this is a great experience. Someone in the kitchen clearly wants to pair seafood with wonderful sauces and flavours but let the fish / shellfish speak for itself. We have the Descobre prawns, mussels escabeche, scallops in a crab sauce and a fantastic beef dish.
The service is perfect. We were told on arrival that the restaurant was celebrating one year in business and offered complimentary wine, not cheap house wine but a really nice 2004 Alentejano.
If you make the trip from Lisbon, it's so easy. Just take Tram 15 to Mosterio Jeronimus at Belem and walk straight on for 5 mins. Descobre is on the right. Best food we have had in Portugal and we'll certainly be back

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    49
    27
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This restaurant alone is worth a trip to Portugal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I cannot say how much we enjoyed this place. We were staying in downtown Lisbon, and based on trip advisor comments decided to trek out to Belem (just a 15 minute tram ride, but it seemed far since we were in lisbon for only one day). It was well worth the trip.

Standing outside the restaurant, we wondered/hoped we would be pleased, the store sits on a quiet street away from the downtown crowds. The restaurant is a fine food products/wine shop with tables in an adjoining room. The quality of food and service was so much more than what we expected, it reminded us of why people who open shops in the food services should do it, for the love of food and sharing quality products with the public.

We were greeted by a truly charming Fatima, one of the business partners of the woman that founded the restaurant/store. The owners had all the charm of Portugal, friendly, playful, warm, joking, and very proud of their food and country.

We let them choose menu items for us, as they suggested we eat some things that were fresh and good that day, and avoid other things that were not at their best from the markets that week. Some of the best squid I've ever had, delicious mussels covered in caramelized onions, fantastic grouper and cod, portuguese cheesecake with fresh marmelade. They suggested '"the perfect" bottle of wine to go with our foods, and it was among the cheapest in their stock, to highlight how these people are more about the perfect meal than the biggest bill.

Thanks to the owners and their commitment to good, uncomplicated food, we reluctantly left Portugal the next day with the cherished impression of having eaten in a local's home.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“locally sourced food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

You can tell there is a lot of passion and care that goes into sourcing the food and wine that ends up at your table.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Good, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

There were lots of things I liked about this place, but also things I didn't like. First of all, as soon as you enter they put oil, butter, bread and tapenade on the table. Now I understand that sometimes they charge you for the bread, but when we got the menu and saw the prices it turned out that everything they'd just put on the table costed about €6. They even charge you more than one euro for the oil. We didn't touch it and politely asked her to take everything away again.
Then they didn't have sardinas, telling us it 'wasn't the season', while we've seen nothing but people eating them all over Lisbon! I had tagliatelle with squid which was tasty, and my husband said the salmon was also good. Be aware that the side dish of french fries is actually crisps!

My guess is that the waitresses were mother and daughter. We had to ask the daughter for the bill twice before she brought it. I don't think I would come back here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good meal perfect wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

It's a good place, the owner knows a lot about wines, history and the meal it's awesome... A special place for a good trip. It's cheaper than the other restaurants of the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Descobre also viewed

Belem, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Belem, Lisbon District
 

Been to Descobre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Descobre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.