We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madalena Hermitage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Madalena Hermitage to your Saves list
Madalena Hermitage
Rua da Madalena, 29, Lisbon 1100-318, Portugal (Baixa)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
London, Großbritannien
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed in Madalena Hermitage last week while on a road trip in Portugal and we loved our appartment, its amenities and its location. Everything was perfect: The appartment was furnished with a lot of attention to detail and especially the kitchen was stunning with its stone elements. In terms of location, Lisbon`s main square (at the bottom of the pedestrian street) is only a few minutes walk away, which obviously is really convenient for sightseeing too.
Most of all Salome, who showed us our room, was extremely friendly and gave us some tips for nice bars/places to go in Lisbon!
All in all we would highly recomment Madalena Hermitage!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington,UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This is the fourth year we have come to Lisbon. My only regret is we didn't find this place earlier. Everything about these apartments oozes class. Clean, modern and central for most things I have to confirm everything said about Madalena Hermitage is both accurate and true. We have still another 9 days here and I am well pleased.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Every thing which has been said by other writers is true!
Beautifully decorated, great location, Fernando the gentleman who met us was charming and helpful. Coffee, oils , salt pepper, butter, were all in the room which was a bonus as we did not have to race out to buy supplies. The flat // studio was well equipped washing machine etc, clean great beds, nothing negative to say!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This accommodation is fantastic, from the time you arrive until you depart I challenge anyone to find better. When I was researching for our trip and saw all the comments I thought it was too good to be true for the price but the Madalena Hermitage lived up to all the great comments. We stayed there for 8 days and could not have been happier.

Room Tip: It is easy to walk past so keep an eye out for the address 29 above the front door. You will be glad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vihti, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this top floor apartment with a great view. Highly recommend. The location was good near the city center, two metro stations nearby (especially Baixa Chiado - which we used - and Terreiro do Paco) and a good grocery. The apartment in the completely renovated building was very comfortable, clean and quiet, decorated with style and personality and very well equipped. Weather was hot during our stay and we really appreciated the airconditioning. There was also free wifi, which worked without problems. If only we could have stayed there longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The experience of staying at Madalena Hermitage was very good. The apartment is completely equipped, even with cloth washer. For familys with kids, it's perfect! There's some options of mini markets nearby.
It's also very close to Praça do Comércio, excellent place to eat and stop of many buses and tram.
And Salomé is a lovely person!

Room Tip: In the last floor, the window has a beautiful view to Catedral da Sé
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The location of the apartment is great, close by the old town Alfama and city center as well as all kinds of restaurants. Traffic connections are good, close to metro station, tram and bus stops. The kitchen is very well equipped and some coffee, sugar, spices, biscuits etc. are also available. We stayed at the top floor with a skylight window on the roof and a nice view over the old town. The apartment is spacious, very nicely designed with light colors. The apartment is also safe an quite. There is no reception, but the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, always available by phone. We enjoyed our stay at the apartment very much.

Room Tip: The apartment at the top floor with a skylight window and a nice view over the old town was nice, sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madalena Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madalena Hermitage

Address: Rua da Madalena, 29, Lisbon 1100-318, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon > Baixa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Madalena Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madalena Hermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.