We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but slow service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meson Andaluz

Meson Andaluz
Travessa do Alecrim 4, Lisbon 1200-019, Portugal
21 4600659
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 2,193 restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food but slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We found this place by accident looking for somewhere to have a meal off the tourist trail. It was a beautiful evening and we sat outside on the the terrace.
We had a selection of tapas and a bottle of house wine. The food was excellent as was the wine. The waiter was very helpful but the service altogether was slow. We were waiting for a long time to order. We then waited for the wine and water to arrive for another 20 minutes. But the food and wine made up for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    124
    40
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Different cuisine with a price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

They do have a very nice terrace and the interior is very cosy and comfortable. The service is somehow a bit cold and at the limit of being quite unfriendly (waitress). The food itself is original, different and of very good quality and taste. If it would just be for the served food itself I would recommend the place, but the all-around is completely overpriced, such as for service, wine and specially for the special coffee they offer and which is one of worth one I had so far in Lisbon. Of course this may be a matter of taste! It is a shame, but we will not return as it is definitely a tourist place having lost the view of quality-price-service relation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, West Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were on a short stopover in Lisbon and stumbled across this place near our hotel - we're glad we did. We ate inside early in the evening as we had an early start the next day. The staff were really friendly and helpful. My wife had the scallops and I had wild partridge soup as starters, both were very good indeed. We followed with hake with saffron risotto and roast suckling pig, again both were really enjoyable. The whole meal with drinks came to €71 and was great value. Other tables were having the tapas and that looked very good too. We cannot fault this restaurant and will certainly return when next in Lisbon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Try this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice place and splendid tapas. 1st class service. We decided to let the waiter choisir the tapas menu and hr did it very well

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tough to beat this tapas place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Went for our last meal in Lisbon and really glad we hunted this little gem of a tapas joint out. Started with the gazpacho soup which was the tastiest I've ever had and followed with most of the other tapas treats on the menu. Each was displayed with care and attention; they were morish little morsels! Would recommend to anyone visiting lisbon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Andaluz also viewed

 
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Meson Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meson Andaluz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.